Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 8, 2010 / 27 Tamuz 5770

Extortionist Government

By Arnold Ahlert




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I used to think extortion was a crime. Now I realize it's government policy. Nowhere is this more evident than the Obama administration's take on two issues that are dominating the news: the ongoing oil leak, and the lawsuit against Arizona's immigration law. There is absolutely no question both issues could be handled quite differently--were it not for the fact that both issues are related to far larger agendas than those which immediately present themselves. And in both cases, the Obama administration has made it crystal clear that they will hold the country hostage to those agendas, unless Americans "come around" to the administration's point of view.

Spare me the idea that government has done, is doing, or will do all it can regarding the oil leak. The reports of inefficiency, ineptitude, bureaucratic foot-dragging, and radical environmental stupidity are now so numerous that it is no longer possible to consider them unrelated. The big red flags here are the president's adamant refusal to suspend the Jones Act, and his refusal to eliminate the massive amounts of bureaucratic red tape hindering the clean-up effort. Both would literally take minutes to implement, since they require nothing more than executive orders to do so. So why won't Mr. Obama do so?

Because this president is more than willing to have America endure a far greater ecological disaster than is necessary as a springboard for invigorating cap-and-trade legislation in Congress.

Cynical? Again, there's another tip-off that speaks volumes: as the result of one accident, the administration has sought to suspend deep-water oil drilling in its entirety. That would cost America another twenty to thirty thousand jobs, and makes as much sense as completely suspending air travel as the result of a single plane crash.

Add this tactic to the above mish-mash and it become impossible to believe anything other than my original premise: we have a president willing to take an extortionist approach to governance as a means of implementing his agenda.

As bad as this approach is with regard to the oil leak, it is despicable with regard to the federal lawsuit against Arizona's immigration policy. That saga can be reduced to a simple idea: the federal government refuses to enforce its own immigration laws--but won't let anyone else enforce them without being subjected to litigation. This is something like a homeowner being sued for putting out a fire at his house, despite the fact that the local fire department refuses to do it.

Yes, it is that absurd.

Once again, a big red flag reveals this administration's true intentions: why hasn't a lawsuit been filed against any number of "sanctuary cities" whose violation of federal immigration statues is beyond dispute? In what universe is aiding and abetting illegal immigrants more acceptable than trying to prevent them from running roughshod in numerous communities across the country?

And does anyone seriously believe that the federal government is incapable of sealing the border? America could stop illegal immigration dead in its tracks at any time. It isn't even debatable. Put two hundred thousand troops on our two thousand mile-long southern border and that's a hundred soldiers defending every mile. Think that would solve the problem?

You betcha. But if the administration did that, it couldn't hold Americans hostage to "comprehensive immigration reform." It wouldn't be able to repeat the scam embodied in the Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986, which was one hundred percent "reform" and virtually zero "control." Who, besides the open-borders crowd, honestly believes that the enforcement component of any reform bill would be taken more seriously now than it has been all along?

So what do you call an administration that sues a state for trying to protect itself from an illegal onslaught, even as it refuses to enforce the laws already on the book--even as it demands comprehensive reform in exchange for policing the border?

Extortionists.

In all my years, I don't think I've ever seen Americans more frustrated, afraid and disgusted than they are right now. We are witnessing the full flower of a political ideology whose adherents consider so important, that any means necessary to implement it becomes perfectly acceptable.

What is the phrase, "never let a crisis go to waste" other than extortion by another name?

Don't tell me that an oil leak which began fifty miles offshore could threaten the entire Gulf coast and possibly the Eastern Seaboard, without a coordinated effort to expand the scope of this tragedy. It is simply no longer believable that mere incompetence is the culprit here.

Nor is it remotely believable that illegal immigration is beyond our control, and that it is "impossible" to seal our borders. Only an ideologically-contaminated administration would be actively working to undermine the interests of its own citizens in that regard. The Obama administration is telling the citizens of Arizona they don't give a damn that their state is being over-run by illegal aliens--and with this lawsuit, they're telling Arizonans they're not allowed to give a damn, either.

When did government of, by, and for the people become government against the people?

When the progressive movement felt secure enough to drop its facade and reveal its true face to the American people.

It's an ugly face. It is the face of an ideological movement whose core is a complete disdain for our traditions, customs, culture--and Constitution. It is the face of those for whom the average American is an unpolished rube "clinging to guns and religion" and incapable of running his own life. It is a movement which uses political correctness as a sledgehammer to stifle dissent, even as its adherents laughingly profess tolerance. It is a movement which will accept nothing less than total control of every aspect of American life into which it can insinuate itself--even as it divides us by race, gender, and class in order to do so.

It is embodied in an Obama administration which threatens to allow the Environmental Protection Agency to bypass the legislative process if Congress refuses to pass cap-and-trade, and uses a Justice Department to force Arizona into allowing illegal immigrants to ruin that state if that same Congress doesn't pass comprehensive immigration reform.

And note the common thread here: the use of the courts to enforce the progressive agenda. It doesn't matter that a moratorium on drilling would destroy certain segments of the Gulf coast economy, or that Arizona is the primary gateway for the illegal entry the federal government refuses to prevent. It doesn't matter that if either issue were put to a popular vote, a majority of Americans would vote to keep oil flowing and illegals out of the country. Progressives know beyond a shadow of a doubt that the overwhelming majority of their agenda is completely unacceptable to an overwhelming majority of Americans.

So they turn to the courts--but even then, only if those courts reach the "proper" conclusion. When U.S. Justice Martin Feldman overturned the administration's moratorium on deep-water drilling, and refused to stay his ruling pending an appeal by the federal government, Interior Secretary Ken Salazar announced he would attempt re-impose the moratorium anyway.

That is thuggery, plain and simple.

Unfortunately, thuggery is entirely in keeping with the Obama administration's "Chicago-style" approach to governance. It remains to be seen if there is an ultimate "enough is enough" moment where the entire progressive house of cards comes crashing down on itself.

I have to believe we're close. I have to believe near-ten percent unemployment with no relief in sight, the unconscionable escalation of our national debt, the government take-over of major industries, and the continuing defiance of the American majority on a host of important issues is unsustainable. Unlike my progressive brethren, I believe in the innate wisdom of the American people. It is a wisdom that tolerates many things in the effort to make this a better nation.

Thankfully, extortion isn't one of them.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Arnold Ahlert's column, by clicking here.



Previously:


07/06/10:
‘Commerce Clause’ Totalitarians
07/01/10: Another Public School Travesty in MA
06/30/10: Calling YOUR Bluff, Mr. President
06/28/10: A Trifecta of Progressive Corruption
06/23/10: Plug the Darn Hole --- In Our Border
06/21/10: Our Empty-Suit-in-Chief
06/16/10: Betraying Our Children
06/14/10: Who Gets the Benefit of the Doubt?
06/07/10: Politically Correct Warfare
06/01/10: Bill Maher's ‘Black’ President
05/25/10: A Mosque At Ground Zero
05/23/10: Libs Stand Tall --- For Mexico
05/19/10: The 'Unintended Consequences' of Liberalism
05/17/10: 'Los' Suns: Stuck on Stupido
05/12/10: Union Audacity: Yes We Will!
05/10/10: Greeks, Leaks and and Double-Speak
05/05/10: Twelve Million Illegals --- or Thirty?
05/02/10: Republicans: Playing Not to Lose Doesn't Cut It
04/28/10: Arizona: Progressivism's Waterloo?
04/26/10: Son of Amnesty
04/22/10: Mortgages and Moral Meltdowns
04/20/10: Bashing Christians — Or Gays?
04/15/10: Personal Integri-‘tea’
04/12/10: Fools, Tools and Ghouls
04/08/10: (Tea) Party On
04/05/10: The Triumph of Mediocrity
04/02/10: Two For the Road
03/29/10: The Innate Immorality of Liberalism
03/24/10: The Art of War
03/22/10: I Want My Country Back
03/18/10: A Perpetual Process
03/17/10: American Exhibitionists
03/15/10: A Light Bulb Moment of Clarity
03/10/10: Little Things Mean A Lot
02/03/10: Budgetary Fork in the Road
02/01/10: Liberal Economic Illiteracy
01/27/10: ‘Roe-ing and Wade-ing’ Back to Reason
01/25/10: Arrogance When Up, Denial When Down
01/20/10: Connecting the Educational Dots
01/19/10: The Next Tea Party?
01/15/10: The Myth That Keeps on Giving
01/13/10: Airport Security Begins Away From the Airport
01/11/10: Secrets and Lies
01/08/10: Embracing Bigotry — or Rejecting Bullying?
01/06/10: Hanging by an Ideological Thread
01/04/10: Our ‘Wonderama’ Bureaucracy
12/30/09: A Day Off
12/28/09: Dangerous Myths
12/25/09: I, Me, Mine
12/23/09: A Very Harry Christmas
12/21/09: My Opinon
12/18/09: The Party of Repeal
12/15/09: Privileged Exemption
11/30/09: ‘Settled’ Science and Unsettled Children
11/30/09: American Sharia Law
11/23/09:The Trial (Travesty) of the Century
11/04/09: American Vampires and Their Political Enablers
11/01/09: ‘Opting Out’ of Insanity?
10/28/09: Cell Phones Cause Brain Cancer. Brain Required
10/26/09: Communism: Nazism With Better PR
10/21/09: Just Asking
10/16/09: Cost Projections vs. Actual Costs, or Hope and Change vs. Reality
10/14/09: News you can use …
10/07/09: Incremental Insidiousness
10/05/09: MIA: Common Sense and Common Decency
09/30/09: Iran: Bad Options and Unpreparedness
09/21/09: Crying Racism: the Last Refuge of Scoundrels
09/11/09: 9/11 Cannot Be Sanitized
09/08/09: ‘Truthers’ and Consequences
09/01/09: A ‘Paper Trail’ Challenge for the Mainstream Media
08/31/09: Drowning in Amorality
08/26/09: The Republican Recovery Program

© 2010, Arnold Ahlert

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles