Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 1, 2010 / 19 Tamuz 5770

Another Public School Travesty in MA

By Arnold Ahlert




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Just when you think a state where a school board voted to give condoms to elementary school kids (unbeknownst to their parents) had scraped the bottom of the ideological barrel, Massachusetts has stooped even further: the town of Arlington school committee has rejected a request to allow students to voluntarily recite the Pledge of Allegiance. The reason given? According to the arlintonpatch.com, educators there "are concerned that it would be hard to find teachers willing to recite it."

"Patriotism is a very personal thing for all of us, but I do not think it is in the school committee's best interest to mandate that any of our employees recite the pledge," said committee member Leba Heigham, one of the board members who voted to reject the pledge.

Ms. Heigham is either a dim bulb or a liar. No one was "mandating" anything. The vote was the result of 17-year-old student Sean Harrington's request--along with a petition signed by 700 people, including two United States Senators, John Kerry and Joe Lieberman--to allow students to say the pledge, not force them to do it.

Yet even a voluntarily recited oath of allegiance to America was a bridge too far. Despite a 3-3 vote, the request was rejected. Apparently a tie equals a win--for ideological bankruptcy.

One has to wonder: is there a tipping point where a majority of Americans begin to wake up and fight back against the hijacking of the public school system by leftist jackboots intent on brain-washing our children?

It is hard to overstate the magnitude of the problem here. We now have an American school board on the record with the idea that, among the entire faculty of an American high school, it would be "hard to find" teachers willing to pledge their allegiance to their own country.

I've said it before and I'll keep saying it until enough people listen: the public school system is Ground Zero in the fight for the nation's soul. It is a fight currently being won hands down by the American left, whose political ideologues will stoop to anything to maintain their grip on power.

Make no mistake: the last thing these people want is your child expressing allegiance to a country they consider beneath contempt. For the American left, all the plusses and minuses of the American experience come down on the minus side of the ledger. For example, better to tell school children this country was built by slave labor, than to tell them America was the second country in the history of the world to abolish it. Better to tell them that corporations are inherently evil than tell them many of those same corporations have given us the highest standard of living in the world. Better to make them believe that patriotism is "suspect," not something to be proud of.

And just so people can have a clearer picture, here is what the Arlington school board believes teachers are "unwilling" to recite:

"I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands. One nation, under G0d, indivisible, with Liberty and Justice for All."

With the possible exception of "under G0d," what in the world do liberals find problematic here? Allegiance? Indivisibility? Liberty? Justice for All?

Americans are rightly concerned with the dismal state of our government. But for some unfathomable reason many of them can't--or can be bothered--connecting the dots between the quality of our representatives, the quality of our voting and the total lack of quality in a thoroughly compromised public school system. Too many Americans don't realize our public schools have literally become laboratories of liberal/socialist propaganda.

As I write this, there's been an update: the school's principal, Charles Skidmore, has offered a "compromise: "students who want to can recite the pledge, but only before school begins--and only in the school's foyer, not the classrooms.

Do you get the underlying sense of contempt here? The Pledge of Allegiance isn't "good enough" to merit school time or a classroom setting. Take it in the hall, and don't cut into the time we spend "educating" school kids.

Why the hallway?

Kathleen Bodie, Arlington superintendent of schools: "The principal wanted to be very respectful about the pledge and be sensitive to the Supreme Court ruling that students are not forced to say the pledge. He wanted to be sensitive to the diverse group of students we have."

In other words, "diversity" equals accommodation, not to mainstream Americans and their values, but to those who might find those values objectionable. If this sort of thinking sounds familiar that's because it's the same sort of "celebrate our differences" nonsense that has completely contaminated our immigration philosophy. America is now expected to accommodate the values of those who come here instead of expecting them to assimilate our culture and our customs.

In this setting that means one thing: if a single student or teacher decides their sensibilities are offended by the Pledge, everyone else must submit to those sensibilities. There's another term for that sort of thinking as well:

Tyranny of the minority.

It is no secret that the overwhelming majority of Americans are either conservative or independent. So why do we continue to allow a tyranny of liberal philosophy to dominate our school system? Why do Americans continue to put up with a school system so contaminated by liberal bias that students wishing to express their belief in liberty, freedom and justice for all are sent to the foyer as a "compromise." How is it possible that an American public school is so ideologically compromised that the faculty isn't expressing outrage over this calculated slight?

17-year-old Sean Harrington has the answer: "If we can't find one teacher who is willing to say the pledge, then the system we have is cracked. It tells me that we've basically cast aside what our country is founded on. It's saying that we don't really care, and it's sad."

One more time: public schools are the primary battleground for the nation's soul. Either we're going to turn out future Americans who truly understand the greatness of American exceptionalism, or we're going to keep turning out kids for whom America is "just another country," no better or worse than any other, where allegiance is "optional," and patriotism is relegated to off-hours in hallways so it doesn't "offend" anyone.

Have you had enough yet?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Arnold Ahlert's column, by clicking here.



Previously:


06/30/10:
Calling YOUR Bluff, Mr. President
06/28/10: A Trifecta of Progressive Corruption
06/23/10: Plug the Darn Hole --- In Our Border
06/21/10: Our Empty-Suit-in-Chief
06/16/10: Betraying Our Children
06/14/10: Who Gets the Benefit of the Doubt?
06/07/10: Politically Correct Warfare
06/01/10: Bill Maher's ‘Black’ President
05/25/10: A Mosque At Ground Zero
05/23/10: Libs Stand Tall --- For Mexico
05/19/10: The 'Unintended Consequences' of Liberalism
05/17/10: 'Los' Suns: Stuck on Stupido
05/12/10: Union Audacity: Yes We Will!
05/10/10: Greeks, Leaks and and Double-Speak
05/05/10: Twelve Million Illegals --- or Thirty?
05/02/10: Republicans: Playing Not to Lose Doesn't Cut It
04/28/10: Arizona: Progressivism's Waterloo?
04/26/10: Son of Amnesty
04/22/10: Mortgages and Moral Meltdowns
04/20/10: Bashing Christians — Or Gays?
04/15/10: Personal Integri-‘tea’
04/12/10: Fools, Tools and Ghouls
04/08/10: (Tea) Party On
04/05/10: The Triumph of Mediocrity
04/02/10: Two For the Road
03/29/10: The Innate Immorality of Liberalism
03/24/10: The Art of War
03/22/10: I Want My Country Back
03/18/10: A Perpetual Process
03/17/10: American Exhibitionists
03/15/10: A Light Bulb Moment of Clarity
03/10/10: Little Things Mean A Lot
02/03/10: Budgetary Fork in the Road
02/01/10: Liberal Economic Illiteracy
01/27/10: ‘Roe-ing and Wade-ing’ Back to Reason
01/25/10: Arrogance When Up, Denial When Down
01/20/10: Connecting the Educational Dots
01/19/10: The Next Tea Party?
01/15/10: The Myth That Keeps on Giving
01/13/10: Airport Security Begins Away From the Airport
01/11/10: Secrets and Lies
01/08/10: Embracing Bigotry — or Rejecting Bullying?
01/06/10: Hanging by an Ideological Thread
01/04/10: Our ‘Wonderama’ Bureaucracy
12/30/09: A Day Off
12/28/09: Dangerous Myths
12/25/09: I, Me, Mine
12/23/09: A Very Harry Christmas
12/21/09: My Opinon
12/18/09: The Party of Repeal
12/15/09: Privileged Exemption
11/30/09: ‘Settled’ Science and Unsettled Children
11/30/09: American Sharia Law
11/23/09:The Trial (Travesty) of the Century
11/04/09: American Vampires and Their Political Enablers
11/01/09: ‘Opting Out’ of Insanity?
10/28/09: Cell Phones Cause Brain Cancer. Brain Required
10/26/09: Communism: Nazism With Better PR
10/21/09: Just Asking
10/16/09: Cost Projections vs. Actual Costs, or Hope and Change vs. Reality
10/14/09: News you can use …
10/07/09: Incremental Insidiousness
10/05/09: MIA: Common Sense and Common Decency
09/30/09: Iran: Bad Options and Unpreparedness
09/21/09: Crying Racism: the Last Refuge of Scoundrels
09/11/09: 9/11 Cannot Be Sanitized
09/08/09: ‘Truthers’ and Consequences
09/01/09: A ‘Paper Trail’ Challenge for the Mainstream Media
08/31/09: Drowning in Amorality
08/26/09: The Republican Recovery Program

© 2010, Arnold Ahlert

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles