Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 20, 2009 / 28 Tamuz 5769

We're Too Self-Absorbed Today to Dream of the Moon

By Mitch Albom






http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The counselors woke us from our bunks and led us down the hill to the mess hall. It wasn't that late, maybe 10 at night, but we were kids and they sacked you in pretty early back in 1969.


We yawned as we took our places around the dining tables. Someone handed out Popsicles. Then, as we licked the icy treats, our tongues turning purple or raspberry, we watched a big black-and-white TV set. The reception wasn't great in the woods of summer camp. And since the picture was coming from the moon, it was particularly fuzzy.


Still, we heard a tinny voice say "…one giant leap for mankind" and when the shadowy spaceman seemed settled on ground, we all clapped, because it felt like that's what we should do, clap for something great.


And it was something great.


I have been trying to figure out why that moment, July 20, 1969, still resonates with me, still gives me goose bumps 40 years later, and why, on the anniversary of that event Monday, it seems as if I'll never feel that way again.


I think there are a few big reasons:

THE WONDER YEARS
Back then, there was still a sense of wonder at what man could accomplish. The first human heart transplant had taken place two years earlier. Olympian Bob Beamon had leapt an astounding 29 feet 261/27 inches in Mexico City. We were still in the same decade that a man first orbited the Earth in a spacecraft and now this — the moon!


Today, man's limits seem to be broken every day. We send probes to the farthest reaches of space. We clone sheep. We restore eyesight. We smash sports records with every new stud — or we find drugs that let us cheat our way to it.


Wonder? How can we have a sense of wonder? We're too busy dazzling ourselves every nanosecond with biotech, high tech or each new release of the iPhone.


Also, remember, in 1969, we all watched that moonwalk together. There was no CNN, MSNBC or FOX News competing for a silly "exclusive" tag. There was just Walter Cronkite, wearing horned-rim glasses, behind a desk that he called "CBS News Space Headquarters". And when Neil Armstrong planted his shoe on the lunar surface, Cronkite was so excited he actually exclaimed, "Wow! Oh, boy! Hot-diggity dog! Yes, sir!"


Can you imagine today's TV anchors being that unabashedly joyous? They would more likely be reminding you what network you saw it on, who sponsored it, and what reality show was coming up in just a few minutes.

A TIME TO EXPLORE
And then there's this: We were simply more interested in exploring those days. Americans who rarely traveled dreamed of a once-in-a-lifetime trip to New York. Those who made New York dreamed of seeing London or Paris. An airplane was a big deal.


Today, an airplane is like a Greyhound bus — complete with bring your own sandwich. It's a hassle to travel, not to mention scary, thanks to a word our kids didn't know back in 1969, "terrorism."


Instead, we seem much more interested in exploring ourselves. We use technology to spread the word about OUR Facebooks, OUR accomplishments, OUR blogs. We look in more than we look out. To be fascinated by the moon is to be fascinated with something larger than us. Many today would rather focus on how smaller things — singing, dancing, losing weight or eating bugs — can get you famous.


I remember leaving the mess hall and looking up at the moon, thinking if I squinted hard enough, I might see Armstrong or Buzz Aldrin. When I got home from camp that summer, my mother had saved all the newspapers, and I meticulously cut them and pasted the big stories into a big blue scrapbook. My father bought me a plastic model kit of Apollo 11 and I put it together, fitting the lunar module inside the top rocket.


There was, on that table of decals and model glue, a sense of history, and although I probably was too young to define it, I knew it was bigger than me. I basked in its glow. I was hopelessly wonderfully, childishly impressed. I guess it's just not as easy to impress us anymore, which is a shame, because if you go outside tonight and look at the moon, it's still pretty far away, and going there is a hell of a thing.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"For One More Day"  

"For One More Day" is the story of a mother and a son, and a relationship that covers a lifetime and beyond. It explores the question: What would you do if you could spend one more day with a lost loved one? Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2009, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles