Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 27, 2007 / 12 Menachem-Av, 5767

Making sport of celebrities

By Barry Koltnow


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | David Beckham faces a bigger challenge than he could ever imagine.

The husband of Posh Spice wants to make soccer the most popular sport in America, but he must first overcome the popularity of football, basketball, baseball, hockey, tennis, golf, auto racing and, of course, the most popular sport of all - criticizing celebrities.

I know that some will argue that criticizing celebrities is more of an art form than a sport, and I suppose that debate will continue regardless of what is written here today.

But I believe that it is not only a sport, but the fastest-growing sport in this country.

And the reason for its popularity is pretty simple. It is a sport that is fun to watch and is also the easiest in which to participate. In addition, nobody gets hurt, except the celebrities. There are no sore muscles the next day, no physical rehabilitation on your knees and no bandages. There is no safer sport than celebrity criticizing. When was the last time you heard of a celebrity critic being placed on the injured reserve list?

The sport has become so popular that it is difficult to find someone who isn't involved in some way. And who can blame them? It is almost impossible to get through a day without criticizing a celebrity. Who would want to get through a day without criticizing a celebrity?

Celebrities drink too much, hang out in trendy nightclubs until dawn and hop from bed to bed like it's the end of days. They are narcissistic, shallow and selfish. They make too much money, obsess over their appearance and dress like a bunch of weirdos. They don't appreciate the privileged lives they lead, take the public's appreciation for granted and have no concept of what it means for someone to pay $10 or more for a ticket to see a lousy film that they agreed to be in just for a big payday.

See? Criticizing celebrities is a lot of fun. And it's a good cardio workout.

But allow me to play devil's advocate for a moment. Don't worry; I'm not going to shed any tears for celebrities. They're too attractive and too rich for me to care.

However, I was wondering what kind of criticism I would be subject to if I were a celebrity. I guess what I'm really curious about is what kind of a celebrity I would be if I had the talent and good fortune to become a celebrity.

And I wonder, what kind of a celebrity would you be?

Let's assume for a moment that your chosen area of celebrity is the cinema. That's right: With the wave of a magic wand, I am anointing you a movie actor. Now, what kind of a movie actor will you be?

Will you choose to be a respected thespian who gets nominated for Oscars and appears in low-budget, critically acclaimed independent features; or will you prefer to be an overpaid, glamorous hack who stars in big-budget summer blockbusters?

Half of you who chose the former are lying. Only a select few actors choose the highbrow road, and there usually is an underlying reason, such as a background in the theater or a belief born out of insecurity that they are not pretty enough to be a movie star.

So I am going to assume that a majority of you chose the latter option, and I don't really blame you. That's where the money is. That's where the fun is. You may not get to dress up on Oscar night, but life is a blast for movie stars.

OK, now we know what kind of a celebrity you are. How are you going to live that life, and what criticism will you have to endure from those who engage in the sport of criticizing celebrities?

Limo or exotic car? Either way, you open yourself to criticism, but you have a better chance to avoid legal problems in a limousine. And nothing begets criticism like a moving violation in a fancy car.

New York or Las Vegas nightclubs? The paparazzi are waiting outside every club in every major city so there is no way to avoid them. But there seem to be more snitches in Vegas clubs who are only too eager to sell photos of you to the tabloids.

Faithful or an affair with your co-star? This could take you to the next level of stardom. It might be tough to look at yourself in the mirror each morning, but ordinary folks don't expect a moral center from you anyway.

Public apology or seclusion? After you've been caught at some wrongdoing, you must not disappear from view. You must embrace your misdeed and shame, and approach your mea culpa as just another opportunity to perform. Think of it as chicken soup for the ego.

And now, let the games begin.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2007, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles