Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 10, 2006 / 14 Tamuz, 5766

A connected man

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | A connected man By Tom Purcell Sunday, July 9, 2006 After I read the article in The New York Times, I realized I was one of the most connected fellows in America.


According to The Times, Americans are more socially isolated now than we were just a few decades ago. A study conducted by Duke University and the University of Arizona found that where Americans used to have three confidants, we now average two. A quarter of us have nobody to confide in.


What's the point of enjoying a good sin if you've got nobody to reveal it to?

ISOLATION
The reasons we are more isolated today are fairly obvious. The Internet and technology mean less face-to-face contact. We spend long hours sitting in traffic and longer hours at the office. Then, late in the evening, we drive to our cookie-cutter homes deep in the thick of sprawl and watch television the rest of the night.


For a spell, I lived such an existence in the suburbs of Washington, D.C. But then I got smart. I used technology to improve my life. I moved back to a quieter, more connected existence in Pittsburgh.


I'm a writer, after all. All I need is a cell phone and a portable computer with a broadband modem and I can work from anywhere. As I write this column, in fact, I'm sitting in a coffee shop in the heart of a beautiful old town just six miles from downtown Pittsburgh.

MY KIND OF TOWN
The town — Mt. Lebanon — was built, mostly, during the boom years of the 1920s. Its main street is lined with pubs and shops and restaurants. The surrounding neighborhoods are filled with beautiful old homes built with colorful brick and accented with stained-glass windows.


I live two blocks away from the coffee shop and commute to it on foot most mornings. It's a privately owned coffee shop, not one of the trendy chains that you find in every strip mall in America. And it's there that people come to congregate every day.


On a typical day, I'll bump into a handful of people I know: my insurance guy, the owner of a pub where I write at night, a friend who has a documentary production company up the street. We'll chat and laugh as we swap a story or a joke.


People are connected here. Neighbors watch out for each other. If you are ill, somebody will bring you soup or run out to the store to pick something up for you.


This is how we're supposed to live.


Three or four winters ago in Washington, I was driving along the beltway during rush hour. Two cars were blocking a lane after a minor accident and traffic was backing up. I saw an elderly couple standing on the side of the road in the freezing cold, not sure what to do.


Because I'm a Pittsburgher — because I'm concerned for my fellow man — I pulled to the side of the road and got out to help. Another fellow stopped to help, too. As the two of us pushed the cars off the road, the rest of the rush-hour crowd glared at us through their windshields. They were angry at us, as though we were purposely trying to intrude on their schedules.


This would never happen in Pittsburgh.

INCIVILITY
Most of the growth in America is taking place in the major metro areas. Americans, seeking career advancement, are going where the jobs are. And as we get farther away from our roots and our hometowns — as we spend more time isolated — we're becoming less friendly and less civil.


Well, nuts to that.


We need to heed the words of the greatest Pittsburgher of all time, a fellow named Fred Rogers. For 33 years, he began every one of his television shows with a simple song that we ought to start singing again:


It's a beautiful day in this neighborhood,
A beautiful day for a neighbor,
Would you be mine?
Could you be mine?

Thankfully, I live in a beautiful neighborhood now. That's why I'm one of the most connected fellows in America.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2006, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles