Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 28, 2006 / 3 Menachem-Av, 5766

Out-houses for modern living

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Outdoor rooms are all the rage right now. To create one, you basically move the contents of your family room - your couch, chairs, cushions, end tables, maybe even a rug - along with the bulk of your kitchen - your table, chairs, dishes and the like - all outside to a porch or patio.


Now you will be able to do the same things out of doors that you once did indoors, only without benefit of a roof, walls, lights, running water or protection from the elements.


Those minor hindrances aside, I like the concept of an outdoor room.


I recently gave it a shot and kept an activity log so you could determine whether you would like to create one of your own:


I have brought a laptop with me to my outdoor room (formerly known as the patio). If I hunch my shoulders tight against my neck, my body casts enough shade on the monitor that I can do a little work. Aside from the throbbing muscle spasm in my neck, the outdoor room is quite comfortable.


After scribbling some notes on a yellow legal pad, I rip the page from the tablet and am about to lob it into the trash can, when I discover there is no trash can.


Oh well. Sometimes you have to live a situation to know all of your needs.


I return from the house with a large brown grocery bag that will make do as wastebasket.


With a soft breeze blowing, now is a perfect time to read my book. Just as soon as I run inside and find my reading glasses.


My book, chair, pad and pen, and laptop are in position when I sense it is growing rather warm in the outdoor room. What would really fit the bill is a tall glass of iced tea.


I dash to the kitchen and retrieve iced tea, cheese and crackers and fruit.


I'm not hungry, but it's a long hike to the 'fridge from the outdoor room, so I might as well be prepared.


I settle back into the outdoor room with my nose in my book when the phone rings. I should have brought it out when I went in for the trash can. And the reading glasses. And the iced tea. And the cheese and crackers.


Gabbing away on the phone, surrounded by lush foliage, I am keenly aware of birds singing, squirrels chattering and the backs of my legs webbing themselves to the mesh pattern of the wrought iron chair.


Naturally, the cushions are in the garage.


Back in the chair (with a cushion), the phone, the pen and pad, the trash can, iced tea and reading glasses, I pick up my book and am attacked by a squadron of blood-sucking mosquitoes. I smack the varmints with the yellow legal pad and send the cheese and crackers flying.


I've never seen a magazine picture of an outdoor room with cheese and crackers strewn across the floor. Not in the room titled Pacific Rim, the room christened Hawaiian Delight or even the one labeled Casual Modern.


I retrieve the broom. The broom, dirty from cleaning gutters, leaves big black streaks on the outdoor room floor.


I retrieve the hose to clean the mess left by the broom.


I have now broken into a light perspiration. Oh, light perspiration nothing, great beads of sweat are running down my face, my chest and my back like a weightlifter who just dropped a barbell with 500 pounds.


I knew an outdoor room would be relaxing. I just didn't know relaxing would be such hard work.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Pass the Faith, Please" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2006, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles