Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 14, 2006 / 18 Tamuz, 5766

Food snobs or food slobs?

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | First, a publishing house dishes up the best seller, "French Women Don't Get Fat." Then comes a second course titled, "Japanese Women Don't Get Old or Fat." (Touche! Take that you thin but aging French women.)


Now comes another entree, "Mediterranean Women Stay Slim, Too."


All right, already. They've thrown down the gauntlet, and it's not a box of Krispy Kreme doughnuts.


So now we know that French, Japanese and Mediterranean women all stay slim. We're happy for you. Really. And that leaves those who aren't French, Japanese and Mediterranean where?


You say you come from a German line? Sorry to hear that my stout friend. Have some more sauerbraten.


Third generation Italian? Help yourself to some more manicotti.


While the authors of these "we're slim and you're not" books revel in their heritage, they say it is not about a call to ethnicity as much as it is a call to moderation. Smaller portions at slower paces.


One suggestion is to linger over the dining experience by putting your cutlery down between bites. I have been trying this with mixed success.


I take a bite, then place my eating utensils back on the table and put my hands in my lap.


"Were you going to say something?" asks the husband.


"No," I respond.


"Then are you getting up from the table? Because if you are, would you bring back the butter?"


"I'm not going anywhere," I say.


"Then what are you doing?"


"I am simply savoring my food, taking time to engage all of my senses. I am experiencing the aroma, the texture, the taste and the visual appeal."


"You are eating a bowl of Cheerios," he says, thereby zapping all traces of Frenchness from my morning bowl of fiber.


Apparently the key to slim is not just about stretching out each bite, but stretching out the entire meal. The French typically take two hours for lunch. Yes, lunch. This must be one of the perks of socialism, because for most of us lunch is five minutes standing at a counter, a sandwich in the car, or wolfing down something at the computer with one hand and keyboarding with the other.


The French also frequently finish a meal with wine. I don't drink enough wine to clear that hurdle where a half glass doesn't put me to sleep, but perhaps this is the way to get to the two-hour mark: 10 minutes eating, an hour and 50 minutes napping with my face in my plate.


The author touting a Mediterranean way of eating suggests utilizing the "three-bite rule" when indulging in something rich and fattening. Why bother cooking something, dirtying dishes and cleaning up for three little bites. I'd rather skip the entire process. (We may be getting somewhere.)


The author of Japanese descent promotes "hara hache bunmi," which means, "Eat until you are 80 percent full." She also stocks her pantry with staples like fish flakes and radishes. Not being a fan of either, that 80 percent cutoff would be well within reach.


A survey by the French government found 75 percent of the French eat meals prepared at home at the family table. A hefty number of Americans grab takeout, eat in front of the television or under the glow of the golden arches. Our differences are both stark and measurable.


On the other hand, Mireille Guilano, the author of French Women Don't Get Fat, says in her bio that her favorite pastimes are breakfast, lunch and dinner. Maybe we have a little something in common after all.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Pass the Faith, Please" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2006, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles