Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 27, 2005 / 20 Tammuz, 5765

The Magic of 30

By Marty Nemko

Nemko
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | We're all taught to honor perseverance: in looking for a job, in trying to get your idea adopted, whatever. But how do you know when you've persisted long enough that further effort is likely to be a waste of time?

An answer lies back in that Statistics 101 course you may have taken. If so, you may recall doing an experiment in which everyone in the class was asked to flip pennies a large number of times and keep track of the results. During the first few coin flips, because of luck, a number of students probably got a large percentage of either heads or tails. To get most students to average 50 percent heads and 50 percent tails usually requires about 30 flips. By 30 flips, most of the luck factor gives way to the reality that the true probability of getting a head or a tail is 50/50.

The magic of 30 has broad applicability.

In the job seeker workshop I did last night, I must have recommended it five times to individual attendees.

Donate to JWR


For example, a woman had created some designs for children's furniture. She asked, "I'd like to manufacture and sell them. How do I do that?" But after a bit of probing, it was clear she lacked the expertise and financial resources to start a manufacturing company. I encouraged her, instead, to send a couple of her designs to the 30 children's furniture companies most likely to want to buy them. If she sent her designs only to a few companies, they could easily be rejected for "luck" reasons: the decision maker's taste was different from hers, a company could have an oversupply of similar designs, it's going broke, etc. But if 30 companies said no, that probably indicates that additional inquiries are likely to be fruitless and that she'd be wiser to try doing something else.

Another workshop attendee was a Hewlett Packard engineer whose job was offshored to India. I suggested that she pitch herself to the senior person in charge of engineering at 30 small companies— small firms are less likely to offshore. If she got no encouragement from any of the 30, it's probably time to upgrade her skills, move to a part of the country with a stronger job market, or change careers: perhaps most jobs in her field are getting offshored. If, however, in applying for the 30 jobs, she had been the #2 applicant a few times, it's probably worth her pitching 10 or 20 additional employers.

A client of mine has been a print broker for 22 years but sees the industry declining rapidly. He said that his favorite part of the job is closing deals. He also mentioned that he loves gourmet foods. I suggested that he pitch himself to the sales manager at 30 gourmet food manufacturers and, especially, food brokers, since he is a broker.

Another client is wondering how long she should keep trying to be a successful artist. I suggested that, in the next year, she set up 30 opportunities for her work to be widely seen: galleries, art shows, open studio, showing her work in restaurants and banks. If that doesn't yield a clear indication that her artwork will offer at least enough income to pay her rent, she should consider relegating her art to hobby status.

I too use the magic of 30. When I write a book or article, I typically send it to 30 prospective publishers. If I don't get at least one yes, I am confident that the rejections aren't the result of bad luck. I can move on to the next project feeling good that I had given it a fair shot yet hadn't persisted too long, wasting my time and that of publishers.


Advice I'd give my child

Don't apply the Rule of 30 rigidly. For example, sometimes, it becomes apparent before 30 rejections, you should give your idea up. On the other hand, if you deeply believe in something and promulgating it doesn't require much effort, keep pitching.

Calvin Coolidge said, "Persistence is omnipotent," but I believe that needs to be tempered by Ralph Waldo Emerson's advice: "A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

400+ of Dr. Nemko's published writings are on www.martynemko.com. Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2005, Dr. Marty Nemko

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles