Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 14, 2005 / 7 Taamuz, 5765

The terror next time

By Dick Morris


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The day the terror bombs struck London I was with my 30-something British friend Tim. Born near Belfast, he now lives in London. "We can take it," he said. "We're more used to this sort of thing, you know," he added. We've had the Troubles [that is, the IRA terror bombings] and, of course, we managed through the Blitz." Fifty thousand Brits died in the Blitz 17 times our 9/11 losses. Hundreds died in the IRA terror attacks. And now more have been killed by al Qaeda.

But London can take it. There was no evidence of panic in the British capital in the aftermath of the attacks and even tube ridership seems to be recovering. There is little that this city, more than 1,000 years old, hasn't seen and can't handle.

But how about the United States in general and New York in particular? If al Qaeda switches from its obsession with high-profile large attacks and goes after soft targets here, can we handle it?

At one extreme, of course, is the 9/11 apocalypse, which triggered a two-year recession, a permanent global drop in American tourism and massive changes in our outlook and body politic. These reactions were perfectly normal given the size of the conflagration and its implications for our daily lives.

But at the other extreme was the sniper who took a dozen lives in the D.C. area and traumatized the capital for a month. People were afraid to go to convenience stores or to buy gas. Everybody was looking over his shoulder. All this thanks to two deranged people a man and a boy with a rifle and a telescopic sight.

If terrorists go after soft American targets, it will be almost impossible to stop them. They need only to get lucky once, while those who defend against them can afford no mistakes.

The terrorists would obviously have rather attacked big targets like the Tower of London, offices in the city, Westminster or London Bridge. But they couldn't because security was too tight, so they hit soft targets.

How should we react if al Qaeda adopts the same strategy here?

Donate to JWR


The American reaction to hostages provides a good case in point. When militants seized a few dozen hostages at the U.S. embassy in Tehran in 1979, it dominated our media, paralyzed the country and brought down a president. Concern for a few hostages in 1986 led to the Iran-Contra affair, which ruined President Reagan's second term.

But today, we take hostage crises in stride. We refuse to negotiate with the terrorists. We are concerned, even outraged, but we put the matter in the same kind of perspective Londoners have been able to put terror attacks they adjust, they work hard to stop them, but, in the last analysis, they move on.

If the American people led by New Yorkers handle terror attacks against soft targets with the same kind of wisdom that the British people led by Londoners have, we will go a long, long way toward defeating terrorism.

Terrorism only works if it can terrorize. Ultimately, then, the ability to stop them from achieving this goal rests with each of us. It is our reaction, not our deaths, that the terrorists really seek. If hostage taking fails to send us into a national tizzy, it tends to abate. If terror bombings outrage us and rekindle our determination but do not send us into haunting, personal fear, they will fail and, ultimately likely peter out.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



JWR contributor Dick Morris is author, most recently, of "Because He Could". (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) Comment by clicking here.



Dick Morris Archives


© 2005, Dick Morris

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles