Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 8, 2005 / 1 Taamuz, 5765

Meet the Checkers

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I am married to a Checker.

Checkers are people genetically predisposed to checking things like door locks, storm fronts on the Weather Channel and departure and arrival times for all manners of travel. These are not, I repeat not — the type people you want freewheeling with a cell phone.

Brrrrring. ‘Hello,’ I say, knowing full well it is The Checker.

‘Where are you?’ he asks.

‘At home in the kitchen on my cell’, I say.

‘Oh, well I'm leaving work, ’ he says. ‘ I should be home before long. ’

‘Good. See you soon. ’ I hang up.

Ten minutes later, the kitchen phone rings. The Checker strikes again. ‘ I'm getting on the interstate. ’

‘You called to tell me you're getting on the interstate? ’

‘Yes, and to let you know the northbound traffic is clear. What's new? ’

‘You can find out what's new when you get home. We can talk for free at the table. ’

Ten minutes later, brrrrring. ‘It's me again, ’ he says.

‘Why does that not surprise me? ’ I ask. ‘Where are you now? ’

‘I'm at the south end of the subdivision. I just went over the speed bump and am approaching the stop sign. What are the kids doing tonight? ’

‘Come home and find out!‘ Click.

It's enough to make you want to reach out and touch someone. But not in a nice way. This tool that was to bring safety and security to the family, increase vital communications and aid in times of emergency, has turned into a weapon of harassment.

If you think my Checker is scary, consider this: There are millions out there just like him. We recently attended a get together on his side of the house that included 8 families, 9 pagers, 15 laptops and 64 cell phones.

Meet my sister-in-law, a Checkerette. Two of the fellows go for ice and she becomes concerned because they do not return according to her timetable. Even as a non-checker I, too, am concerned. My Diet Coke is lukewarm and we desperately need ice.

Donate to JWR


The Checkerette grabs a cell phone. ‘Where are you two? ’ she frantically asks. ‘Oh, yes, uh-hu. I see. ’ They are in the parking lot, getting out of the car and about to walk in the door. Score another one for a Checker armed with a cell phone.

The party is barely over when five young adults and five cell phones commence the two-hour drive home because they have assorted work, school and social commitments calling. In truth, they are worried Uncle Bob is going to get out the Scrabble board again.

One hour after they are gone we get a brrrrrrring. ‘There's trouble on the interstate. We've been sitting here for an hour. Thought you'd want to know before you and Dad start out. ’

Finally. The much-criticized and cell phone has been vindicated by a third-generation Checker. It is indeed a worthwhile tool of technology. Fifteen minutes later, another brrrrrrrrring. It's the youngest member of the wagon train, offspring of myself and my Checker. ‘Mom? Mom? Can you hear me? ’

‘Yes! What is it? ’

‘I brought home my four-cheese manicotti from the restaurant last night and left it in Grandpa's refrigerator. Would you and Dad bring it with you? ’

‘Tell you what, sweetie. You head on home and we'll follow. When we get there, Dad will call you from the driveway and let you know if we remembered. ’

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Pass the Faith, Please" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2005, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles