CONTROVERSY!

Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 10, 2003 / 10 Tamuz, 5763

BEWARE PALESTINIAN ROPE-A-DUPE TACTICS

By David D. Perlmutter


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

http://www.jewishworldreview.com | A while back I received an email from a person who identified himself as a member of the U.S. military. He was upset, he said, at one of my pro-Israel articles. Specifically, he told me that he believed that the Palestinians were in the moral right, their suicide-homicide tactics were justified, and generally that my contrary opinion "stinks."


Well, this is the United States. We are not yet slaves under the Islamo-Fascist caliphate. So, for now, we have the right to say anything and anybody stinks. So be it. But another part of his missive intrigued me. He mentioned that he was prompted to write because "a Palestinian friend" showed him the article.


Hmm, methinks something funny is afoot.


I keep all correspondence about my writings and subdivide it by category. I now have about 1200 emails in my outlook file (and over 100 paper letters) of people who have written to me in response to some article I wrote on the Middle East. It struck me as an interesting fact about that population that, to date, I have gotten NO messages from self-described Palestinians.


Donate to JWR

I flattered myself that they don't write because they have no facts on their side to contradict the ones I offer: The Palestinian cause is founded on lies, hate, and hysteria.


Indeed, only a handful of Muslims have ever written me--half of them to tell me how right I am that their leaders are duping them into blaming the Jews, Christians, Hindus and America for all their problems. The latter are now friends of mine. They are patriotic Muslim-Americans: they blame Muslim leaders for the problems of the Muslim world; they know that the Palestinian refugee problem was created by Arab leaders seeking to distract their own oppressed people; they love America; and they don't subscribe to ethnic hatreds and conspiracy theories.


For some reason, however, the hardcore Palestinians, don't write to me themselves and debate me one-on-one. Shyness or conspiracy?


Instead I get emails from some Irish-American or such who tells me "A Palestinian friend showed me your recent piece and. . . "


Also, I notice there are so many "front" men and women for the Palestinian cause nowadays--blue-eyed American academics, Episcopalian priests, UN High Commissioners and so on. All so hot and bothered for Palestine.


What's behind all these dupes? Well, certainly money is one lubricant. As Steve Emerson, Steven Schwartz and Robert Bear have documented, the Oil Caliphs have spread around so much cash in the power centers of academia and politics that they have bought or bought-off a legion of U.S. "Statesmen" and "intellectuals."


And, of course, hatred of Jews, is always popular. Attack Israel and get a free shot on pesky Hebrews who refuse to play their traditional role of passive victim.


But not all the Pale-Puppets are motivated by hatred or bribes. Some are genuine. They believe they are doing good and furthering the cause of "peace." Somebody has convinced them that the fantasy-inspired, cooky cause of Arafat and Hammas is a great humanitarian ideal.


Could there be a link between this general phenomenon and the empty folders of my correspondence file? Why has no actual self-described Palestinian ever attempted to debate me?


Then one of my sensible non-radical Muslim friends told me about his earlier days when he was radical. The group he was a member of instructed other radical Muslims in America to "rope-a-dope." Kiss up to gullible white and black Christian Americans and make friends with them, ply them with sob stories about the plight of the Palestinian people, downplay any radical agenda (like, say, their plan to destroy America), and generally use the dupes as a sort of rhetorical human shield. Most Christians will read their bible or use their common sense and not fall for this chicanery: some, unfortunately, do.


In other words, something that looks like a pattern of ducks pooping may indeed be a pattern of ducks pooping.


Well, that's my opinion, anyway. No doubt some American Christian will now write to me in disagreement--but he'll note as an aside "a Palestinian friend showed me your article..." Well, after they read this, they'll probably drop that line!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor David Perlmutter is an associate professor of mass communication at Louisiana State University and a senior fellow at the Reilly Center for Media & Public Affairs. He is the author of, among others, Visions of War : Picturing Warfare from the Stone Age to the Cyber Age. Comment by clicking here.

04/01/03: 'Palestinians' are to blame for Fedayeen Saddam
03/27/03: Time for Muslim world to prove the West wrong
02/13/03: Don't warn me, again
01/23/03: 'Palestine' for Dummies
11/05/02: Decision '02 may well be finalized on Dec. 7
08/29/02: Should Israel go Nazi?
07/29/02: Thou shalt judge our Jewish leaders
07/11/02: The Lie of the Land
05/30/02: What did you do while Israel was destroyed?
05/21/02: George Lucas has gotta go!
04/18/02: To jump-starting the market, the animals need to be re-trained

© 2003, David Perlmutter