JWR Wandering Jews

Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 18, 2003 / 18 Tamuz, 5763

Sermon On The Light Rail

By Phil Jacobs

http://www.jewishworldreview.com | BALTIMORE Sometimes to get a lesson on spirituality, all you have to do is listen, and you'll find that "message" we're all looking for. Or, sometimes it will find you.


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

Monday, for example. I had finished a late lunch with my daughter. She dropped me off at about 2 at the light rail stop. There aren't many people on the train at this time, because it's not rush hour. It's a hot, sunny day, and the train's air conditioning feels good. There are four other people in the train car.


I sat down, kippah and all, and started reading my Jewish Observer magazine. It's a back issue, so I'm reading about counting the Omer and the religious festival of Shavuos. By the time I settle into the article, I hear a very loud voice.


A lady, several rows behind me, was talking about G-d. The lady she was talking to was talking about G-d back to her. It was loud, it was full of purpose and full of passion. There was no pretending you didn't hear what they were talking about.


Donate to JWR

Now, I've been on the light rail many times. I've heard people holding personal conversations on their cell phones with just a little too much information than the rest of us need to hear. I've watched parents verbally discipline their kids. And I even watched as a grandfather did nothing while his two young grandsons stood in the middle of the aisle enjoying the tumble they took when the train braked. I ended up warning the kids that they could get hurt.


Be that as it may, the two women in the corner of the train were talking G-d. It was a ferocious conversation. Here are some of their words:


"A person's mood during the day is determined by the mood he has when he leaves his house. If he's in a good mood, he'll have a great day. If he's in a bad mood, forget about his day."


And that was just for starters. "We can't be judging everyone. That's G-d's job. He puts us on this Earth with love, and all that He wants in return is to behave and help one another. We're in His image."


Before more discussions came from the women, a man seated about four rows in front of me turned around, stretched out his arm and pointed his finger at them while shaking his head in affirmation at the ladies. There was only one other person on the train, who bolted out of the door when we reached Woodberry, looking at me with an expression that said, "You're on your own, kid."


There are now four of us in this car. And the man now yells to the women, "People think of all kinds of ways not to go hear the word in church. They'll blame their grandchild for something so they won't go." The women shouted back: "Amen." The man shouts back, "Amen."


This is happening on a light rail train. I bury my head deeper in my magazine, but I'm not reading a word. The woman with the loudest voice is wearing what looks like a Wal-Mart smock. She's now giving a sermon about Adam and Eve and the serpent. She talked about evil, she talked about darkness.


The man in front of me said, "How can a man say he is a giver when he keeps his fist clenched so tightly. You've got to give back to the people from your riches. That's what G-d taught."


I was caught in a crossfire of amens and G-d-talk. When we reached Mount Royal, the man in front of me got off. He said to the ladies, "Thank you. You started this. Now let's live it." One of the women thanked him back, calling him "my brother."


At my stop I had to pass the ladies to exit. I wanted to say something. But I didn't know what it was. I heard the words coming from my mouth, "Thank you, I agreed with just about everything you said. You made my day."


One of the ladies answered, "G-d bless you. Thank you. Live a wonderful day." The other woman said, "See you again."


I wonder if they'll be on the train when I go home.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Phil Jacobs is the editor of the Baltimore Jewish Times. Comment by clicking here.

© 2003, Baltimore Jewish Times