Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 18, 2014 / 20 Sivan, 5774

Can Hillary Be Herself and Still Win?

By Roger Simon



JewishWorldReview.com | At some point in a political campaign, a candidate is always advised, "Just be yourself."

It is almost always terrible advice — though the candidate usually finds it appealing. No more phoniness! No more artifice! No more pretending to be something he or she is not!

Campaigns are about artifice, however, about presenting appealing images, about submerging the personal quirks of the candidate with what is needed for election.

Still, one faction of the campaign — and campaigns nearly always break down into factions — always ends up urging people to "let the candidate be the candidate," largely because nothing else has worked.

No doubt Mitt Romney was told to be Mitt Romney, and no doubt the warm and personal side of Mitt was warm and personal. But that doesn't mean it played that way on the national stage. Ask people what they remember of him today and they will say putting the dog on the car roof, getting zoning permission for a car elevator in his La Jolla mansion and his 47 percent statement.

All of those were Mitt without artifice. All were Mitt being Mitt. And all were disasters.

Hillary Clinton is currently running vigorously for president under the guise of selling a 656-page doorstop of a book that Michiko Kakutani of The New York Times said presents "little news." And that was one of the positive reviews.

No matter. The book itself is mere window dressing so that Hillary can go out among the people at a variety of locations — including a Costco in suburban Virginia this weekend — to reveal the "new, improved" Hillary Clinton, not the Hillary Clinton who hired inexperienced, often quarrelsome staff members in 2008 who spent more time fighting one another than they did fighting Barack Obama.

But now Clinton gets a mulligan, a do-over, a second chance to make a first impression. Six long years have passed since that presidential run, and she is a totally different person. She is more relaxed, warmer, more human, more connected to the American people.

Except she's not.

Her current rollout has gotten steamrollered by the media. She has been eviscerated for saying she was "dead broke" when she left the White House and portrayed as testy and irritated when a reporter dared to ask follow-up questions.

"Clinton seems to be repeating the central mistake of her 2008 presidential campaign," wrote Ron Fournier of the National Journal, "burying her personality and passion beneath redundant layers of caution, calculation and defensiveness."

I respect Fournier, but I think the opposite may be true. Clinton's personality and passion may be her problem, and her layers of caution, calculation and defensiveness may be her best way of disguising that.

Take her exchange with NPR's Terry Gross. Gross tried to bore in deeply with questions about whether Clinton's views on gay marriage had shifted with the shifting politics of the times.

"I have to say, I think you are being very persistent, but you are playing with my words and playing with what is such an important issue," Clinton said.

"I'm just trying to clarify so I can understand," Gross said.

"No, I don't think you are trying to clarify," Clinton snapped back. "I think you're trying to say that, you know, I used to be opposed and now I'm in favor and I did it for political reasons, and that's just flat wrong. So let me just state what I feel like you are implying and repudiate it."

Which is Hillary being Hillary. You can say it shows admirable toughness, but when she ran last time, her campaign found out she had toughness to spare. "Ironically, our early research found the Hillary attributes that tested the highest were 'tough, ready, strong,'" a top Hillary staffer told me in 2008. The highest attributes for Obama, Hillary's campaign found, were "empathetic, sympathetic, cares about me."

And which set of attributes won?

Last Friday, at George Washington University, Hillary faced a much kinder interview from a close friend and former employee, Lissa Muscatine. Muscatine came to the startling conclusion that the gaffes and heated exchanges during Hillary's book tour meant one thing: "You seem like you're having a really good time," Muscatine said.

"Well, Lissa, I am having a good time," Hillary responded.

"You're really free to speak your mind these days," Muscatine said.

"Maybe it's because I am truly done with, you know, being really careful about what to say because somebody might think this instead of that," Hillary said. "Whether you agree with it or not, you know exactly where I come from, what I think, what I feel. It feels a little bit liberating, to be honest."

"And it's great to watch," Muscatine said.

Good drama is always great to watch. But I think Hillary Clinton feels about as free and easygoing as a tightly wound watch.

She claims she no longer has to be "really careful" about what she says.

I have difficulty believing that.

And, if it is true, I have difficulty believing that it will get her to the presidency.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.

Roger Simon Archives

© 2013, Creators Syndicate.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast