Yiddishe Kups

Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

3 things you can't force your children to do

By Amy Peterson




If you want to take some of the stress out of parenting, learn to let go of these 3 things. They're simple and life changing


JewishWorldReview.com | Most parents, but especially first-time parents, are eager to do their best to help their children learn, grow and be happy. Sometimes this responsibility is overwhelming.

As a young mother, I was lucky enough to receive a piece of advice that has made parenting much easier. There are 3 things you can't force your children to do: eat, sleep and use the bathroom. Since you can't physically make them do these things, it's not worth it to battle continually over these 3 things. The concept is simple, but can be hard to implement. Let me elaborate on each area to help you see how you can parent more effectively.


1. Sleeping

Oh, how parents wish they could magically force their children to fall asleep. When I've forgotten this rule, it's been miserable for me. I'm sure most parents can commiserate. We've all spent a few nights up and down with toddlers who need extra hugs and preschoolers who mysteriously have to use the bathroom 50 times.

Since you can't force a child to sleep, what can you do? You can provide an environment conducive to sleeping, with a comfortable bed, proper temperature and dim lighting. You can prepare your child for bed with appropriate rituals, including stories, songs and kisses. You can make time in your schedule to allow your child to sleep when he or she is tired.

If you have a restless child, consider what might be causing the problem. Is your child tired at bedtime? If not, adjust the time you put him or her to bed, be more active during the day or eliminate naps. Address other problems like nightmares and toilet needs and adjust as necessary.

Teaching your children to fall asleep on their own from the time they are young will help with sleeping issues.


2. Eating

As my friends and I discuss our children and tales from the parenting front, we often swap stories about kids stuck at the dinner table, engaged in a battle of wills over the last 8 peas on the plate. I've learned to pick my battles, and frozen peas is not one of them.

Generally, kids eat when they are hungry. If you offer healthy food at regular intervals, they will eat. Children with stomach problems like acid reflux or food allergies will need special consideration, of course.

If children don't eat a lot of food when it's offered, they might not be hungry. For example, I have a nephew that eats very little, but is perfectly healthy.

Toddlers, especially, are often not hungry for full meals, but love to graze and snack.

Figure out what works for your children and family, but don't spend time battling over bites. If food is not available at all hours of the day, children will learn to eat when it is offered.

Note that when children are growing, they are often extremely hungry. I offer my children extra healthful snacks during these times.


STIMULATION AND INSPIRATION

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes "must-reading". Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


Don't take it personally if your child rejects the meal you just spend hours preparing. Encourage them to use their manners and try new things. I find offering new foods several times makes them more familiar, and my children know if they don't like something after trying a few bites, they are always welcome to a plain slice of whole wheat bread. Dinner table drama rarely occurs.


3. Using the bathroom

This category can be the most frustrating for parents, especially if bathroom messes are a daily occurrence. Some children are stubborn and use toilet training as a means for exerting control.

Other children are too distracted by life to make it to the bathroom on time or have fears about using the toilet. Still others are not physically ready to control their bodies in this manner. Adding stress to potty-training by being overly anxious usually makes matters worse.

When my daughter was potty-training, we went on a day trip. She didn't like public bathrooms and held her bladder for over 8 hours. I was concerned for her health and spent several minutes in the bathroom pleading with her to go. Finally, I realized I could not force her to release her bladder and I put a diaper on her, instead.

Solving this problem can be easy, if you are willing to be easy-going. Consider my favorite potty-training method when your child is learning, which encourages a laid back, patient approach. Then, expect your child to have occasional accidents for the next several years, until muscles are fully developed.

Take your child to the bathroom at regular intervals with the understanding that the child must try to go, and seek a doctor's help if needed for more serious cases. A friend of mine once joked that she kept her kids in diapers until they were begging to get out of them, which was usually the first day of kindergarten.

This parenting approach might seem a bit lazy at first glance, but really, it's empowering. Letting go of the need to control every aspect of your child's life will allow him or her to flourish. I know this method works when my children ask to take a rest when they are tired, try new foods without too much fuss, and use the bathroom independently, knowing that if they have an accident, I will try to be understanding and helpful. Not forcing these issues makes family life much more enjoyable.

Try it!

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Amy M. Peterson currently lives in Oregon with her husband and four children.









© 2014, FamilyShare

Quantcast