Education

Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Having a family motto will provide direction to your kin

By Susan Swann




So what is a family motto? Does anyone actually have one? How will having one help me?


JewishWorldReview.com | A family motto is a slogan or guiding principle that can help coalesce your family around a shared understanding of what's important to you. Family mottos are typically short and memorable so that the whole family can easily recall them. They don't have to be original or unique, and they work best when they provide a vision that governs the direction your family wants to go.


HOW CAN A FAMILY MOTTO MAKE A DIFFERENCE?


A family motto can unify your family, focusing them around a mutual philosophy that can foster good choices in both adults and children. For example, a family motto might be something such as, "We're the Jensens. We never give up," or "We're the Cohens. What we give is more important than what we get." The idea is that your family motto sends a signal to your children regarding what your family is all about.


EVERY DAY WHEN FAMILY MEMBERS LEFT THE HOUSE, THEY SAW THE MOTTO


My brother Brent and his wife Marcia had their family motto stenciled on the door leading from their kitchen into the garage. Every day when family members left the house to go to school or work or out to run errands, they came face to face with the family motto: "Return with Honor."


This motto expressed what was most important in their home, which was to leave the house every day and do the very best you could and taking care not to compromise your personal integrity or the integrity of your family. The concept of honor for their family also implied faith and trust in the Divine as well as keeping commitments. Everyone knew what was expected of them and they followed through. The children are now grown with children of their own. They still remember how important it is to "return with honor."


A FAMILY MOTTO FINDS A FAMILY


When my children were small, we didn't really have a family motto that guided our actions. After I was divorced, we didn't have a family motto, at least not until several years later. We didn't find our family motto, so much as our family motto found us. It was my son Alex who first came up with it. It went something like this: "We're the Swanns. We work together as a team. Teamwork doesn't seem work."


The idea was that we supported each other and watched over each other and when we pulled together as a group, life worked better. My two children both have children of their own now, but we all meet together Sunday nights, across three different states, via Google Hangouts. We take turns sharing what's new and important in our lives, and we offer support where needed. It's the best hour of my week.


SIX STEPS TO CREATING A FAMILY MOTTO


What if your family doesn't have a motto? Or what if you have one that isn't working so well anymore? It's never too late to come up with a family motto that defines who you are and what you believe as a family. Here are some ideas on how to get started.


1. As parents, come up with a list of inspirational quotes or slogans as a starting point


Find several ideas that might express who you want to be as a family and then clarify what some of your most important goals are. What do you want your family to look like 5 years from now?


2. Gather the troops and set aside time to develop your family motto


The best way to get buy-in for your family motto is to make sure that everyone has a hand in developing it and that most of the family agrees with it. If you have teens who find the idea of a family motto less than optimal, let them know that the most successful companies have mission statements, or mottos, and the most successful families often do as well.


3. Make the time spent developing your family motto fun


Be ready with food and comfy throw pillows, colored pencils and paper, or even a white board. Make the process creative. Ask your children to suggest ads or slogans or even song titles they like as possibilities. The song title "Let it go," from the movie "Frozen," for example, would actually make an excellent family motto.


4. Come up with a list of words that best describe your family


Be patient with humorous offerings, and keep your focus. Think about how you differ from other families. This might be an interesting exercise, so keep an open mind. You may discover ways that your family could improve in the eyes of your children.


STIMULATION AND INSPIRATION

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes "must-reading". Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


5. Draft 3 or 4 mottos and then narrow them down to one


It might take more than one family meeting to get this done. Be patient with the process.


6. Once you've settled on a motto, make copies


Give every family member a copy, or stencil your family motto on the door of your children's bedrooms. Just make sure the motto is both visible and repeatable. Refer to it often.


WOULD YOU PLEASE TELL ME WHICH WAY I OUGHT TO GO FROM HERE?


Lewis Carroll asked and answered that question in his book, "Alice in Wonderland." The answer is: "That depends a great deal on where you want to get to." Know where you want to get to as a family. Have a destination in mind and create a family motto that provides direction. You may be surprised by what a difference it makes.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.









© 2014, FamilyShare

Quantcast