Education

Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

4 compliments every woman wants to hear

By Brooke Walker




Because most women spend a large part of their day nurturing and validating others, the value of a sincere compliment becomes all the more meaningful. Here are four compliments every woman wants to hear


JewishWorldReview.com | Women are good. I firmly believe that.


It's easy to offer a passing "I like your hair" or "you look so cute." But I've found these four phrases cut a little bit deeper; they can provide a needed boost on a draining day, or a little lift to a sagging heart. These are four compliments every woman wants to hear:


1. "You are so good at what you do."


I don't care if you're a stay-at-home mom or a CEO, everyone wants to be noticed for their own contributions. Having someone tell you good job (even if you think they already know — especially if you think they already know) can be the encouragement you need to simply keep it up. Even the most confident, accomplished woman appreciates a passing thumbs up now and then — especially in response to a task or responsibility she puts a lot of heart into.


2. "Your husband is a great guy."


Women naturally possess an internal anxiety over their husband's success. For good or for bad, women view the way their husband is received as a direct reflection of their own choices and accomplishments.


My mind goes to a scene from the Disney movie "Saving Mr. Banks." The father figure is speaking at a community bazaar — after he's spent the afternoon drinking away his nerves. Pain, anxiety and anguish flash across his wife's face, as she watches him try to spit out the words. She nervously, almost frantically, bounces a baby on her hip as he fumbles and stumbles through his speech — eventually passing out at the podium.


I sometimes think women are internally trying to bounce their own nerves to sleep while they watch their husbands strive to succeed, provide and excel. The simple reassurance that "he's a good guy" can help to soothe an otherwise uncertain situation (and help to stop the bouncing).


STIMULATION AND INSPIRATION

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes "must-reading". Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


3. "That was just what I needed to hear."


It might not read as a direct compliment, but this phrase basically means "you're wise" and "I'm grateful you care." Women want to know that they were prompted to do or say something that made a difference.


The truth is, it takes courage to offer someone else advice. And those who love you the most put a lot of thought into saying just the right words. Let those well-meaning women know you hear and appreciate their perspective — doing so will give them the confidence they need to keep supporting you.


4. "You're so much like your mom."



I know what some of you are thinking: I don't want to be anything like my mom. I don't know your mom, so that just might be a valid statement. But regardless of the type of person your mother is (or is not), there is a sentimental strength that comes from being connected to someone who has gone before you.


The older we get, the more we appreciate the little traits, characteristics and features our own parents handed down. You could say the value of this compliment increases as we age.


As someone who occasionally finds herself on the receiving end of these compliments, let me tell you how good it feels. In fact, my husband hands out compliment number four quite often — and he knows what it means to me to hear him say it. I usually laugh at his on-point observation (because my mom and I both like to sing and dance our way around the kitchen). I mist over a bit at the implications (because my mom and I both make decisions with our heart, and worry about things like stray kittens on the side of the road).


But mostly I just feel grateful he notices. His words empower me to square up my shoulders and move forward with more confidence and enthusiasm — after all, that's what my mom would do.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.









© 2014, KSL

Quantcast