Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 23, 2014 / 25 Sivan, 5774

Right wing dementia on Iraq in full swing

By Alicia Colon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | There are times that I have senior moments and forget certain names and events but after the recent Obama Iraq war implosion, I'm convinced most political pundits are suffering from them as well.

What is unusual is that this revision of history is being committed by conservatives who should know better. Recent commentary by Glenn Beck, George Will and Charles Krauthammer indicate that they have significant memory lapses about why we went to war in Iraq. They now suggest that it was a wrong decision whereas my complaint is that we took too long to invade and oust Saddam Hussein.

Beck recently said that the liberals were right about Iraq. He said, "In spite of the things I felt at the time when we went into war, liberals said, 'We shouldn't get involved, we shouldn't nation-build' and [that] there was no indication the people of Iraq had the will to be free."

George Will criticized Dick Cheney's memoir for not apologizing for Iraq: "Five hundred and sixty five pages and a simple apology would have been in order in some of them. Which is to say, the great fact of those eight years is we went to war—big war, costly war—under false pretenses."

Charles Krauthammer wrote in a column: "Our objectives in Iraq were twofold and always simple: Depose Saddam Hussein and replace his murderous regime with a self-sustaining, democratic government."

I would differ from these assessments because I remember all too well what happened on September 11, 2001 and the days following. We had been brutally attacked by an enemy who was likely to attack us again. The cry soon after that horrible day that killed nearly 3,000 innocent civilians was, "Never again; and get the bastards, no matter what." The idea of nation building and replacing the Iraqi government was a mere footnote not the main impetus for going to war. Whose idea was that anyway?

Let's look back at 1998 to where that nation building idea originated and remember what Bill Clinton said in a prime time address from the Oval office:


"The hard fact is that so long as Saddam remains in power, he threatens the well-being of his people, the peace of his region, the security of the world. The best way to end that threat once and for all is with a new Iraqi government-a government ready to live in peace with its neighbors, a government that respects the rights of its people…"


Let's also remember that the new Bush administration did not have the requisite transition time (thanks to the 2000 election recount) to bring in its own administration team and consequently some Clinton appointees remained in place; which is why George Tenet remained the Director of the CIA which might explain why we knew so little about Osama bin Laden.

At least one pundit, Norman Podhoretz remained steadfast in his Commentary column. After naming all the Democrats and global leaders who supported the Iraq war, he writes, "'Given' all this I would go so far as to say that not only was George W. Bush justified in ordering the invasion, but that if he had failed to do so, he would have deserved to be impeached for violating his oath to "preserve, protect, and defend" this country against any and all foreign enemies."

All the Monday morning quarterbacks who spout pure lies about the war often repeat that there were no weapons of mass destruction. According to them, the WMDs were a Bush lie to wage war for our Iraqi oil interests. They also claim that Saddam had no ties to Al Qaeda who were not in Iraq before 9/11. They forget that Saddam refused to allow weapons inspectors in to verify that the WMDs he had used to kill his own people had been destroyed. He had fired at U.S. aircraft and refused to comply with Bush to avoid the invasion. Had Bush not gone to the United Nations and spent valuable time justifying the war, Saddam would not have been able to transfer those weapons to Syria in convoys that even the New York Times noticed.

Former Iraqi general Georges Sada claimed that in late 2002, Saddam had ordered all of his stockpiles to be moved to Syria. In his book Saddam's Secrets: How an Iraqi General Defied and Survived Saddam Hussein, he revealed details: "They were moved by air and by ground, 56 sorties by jumbo, 747, and 27 were moved, after they were converted to cargo aircraft, they were moved to Syria. "

RECEIVE LIBERTY LOVING COLUMNISTS IN YOUR INBOX … FOR FREE!

Alicia's and many, many more. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.

Has anyone in the media asked where Syrian leader Assad acquired the WMDs he used to attack the rebels? In the latest Iraqi crisis, U.K. Telegraph reports that the ISIS Islamist rebels have taken over a chemical weapons stockpile in Iraq. WMDs in Iraq? Really? Still the 'missing WMDs' remain a late night comedy routine for liberals comics.

As for Saddam's connection to al Qaeda A former Guantanamo detainee "was identified as an Iraqi intelligence officer who relocated to Afghanistan (AF) in 1998 where he served as a senior Taliban Intelligence Directorate officer in Mazar-E-Sharif," according to a recently leaked assessment written by American intelligence analysts. The former detainee, an Iraqi named Jawad Jabber Sadkhan, "admittedly forged official documents and reportedly provided liaison between the governments of Afghanistan and Iraq." Al Iraqi was a major in Saddam Hussein's military before relocating to Afghanistan, where he became one of Osama bin Laden's top lieutenants in the 1990s. Al Iraqi led al Qaeda's elite Arab 055 Brigade, which fought alongside the Taliban in Afghanistan.

Abu Musab al-Zarqawi, formerly the director of an al Qaeda training base in Afghanistan, fled to Iraq after being injured as the Taliban fell. He received medical care and convalesced for two months in Baghdad. He then opened a terrorist training camp in northern Iraq and arranged the October 2002 assassination of U.S. diplomat Lawrence Foley in Amman, Jordan.

Naturally it was Democrat and former CIA Director George Tenet who went on 60 Minutes in 2007 to declare: "We could never verify that there was any Iraqi authority, direction and control, complicity with al-Qaeda for 9/11 or any operational act against America, period."

There are so many more al Qaeda connections with Iraq available for anyone really interested in learning the facts. The above two references were found in the Weekly Standard article by Stephen Hayes and on the website discoverthenetworks.org.

While it has been documented that al Qaeda was in Iraq before 9/11, it was no longer in Iraq by the time Obama took office. It should also be noted that the leader of the ISIS rebels now attacking Iraq, Abu Bakr al Baghdad, the new Osama bin Laden, was released from Gitmo by Obama in 2009. President Obama has been adamant about closing Gitmo to keep his promise to anti-war groups like Code Pink who helped elect him. He has released five more dangerous terrorists in exchange for an army deserter and plans to release several more. Obviously he and so many others have forgotten 9/11.

I have not. I replaced my profile picture on Facebook with the photo of the man falling from the Twin Towers on that day and will keep it there until we have a president who will never forget.

In his memoir, Decision Points, George W. Bush writes: "For as long as I held office, I could never forget what happened to America that day. I would pour my heart and soul into protecting the country, whatever it took."

Amen

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Previously:


06/15/14 Totally Unworthy Liberal Icons
06/09/14 When Metrosexuals Rule the Nation
06/02/14 Are There Common Threads Among Mass Murderers?
05/27/14 How about bring back the draft to include women?
05/20/14 RNC, you don't know jack
05/13/14 Jimmy Carter Threw the Iranian People Under the Bus: Obama's Doing the Same
05/06/14 What a non-minority won't dare say about racism, bigotry
04/28/14 The Wise Latina? I Think Not
04/08/14 The incredible hypocrisy of 21st Century feminism
03/31/14 Obama's 'children' on a rampage


Up

© 2014, Alicia Colon

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast