Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Blocked eventhough not a spammer; Documents icon disappeared from Windows Vista PC Desktop; more

By Steve Alexander






JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) QUESTION: I periodically send an email to my several hundred small-business customers. But as my customer mailing list has grown, I've found that my outgoing emails have been blocked for 24 hours by either AT&T or Yahoo for "abuse." I've wasted hours trying to resolve this with AT&T and Yahoo to no avail. I broke my distribution list into smaller groupings, but I'm still getting blocked. I've been told to use Gmail or some other email service, but I hate to change my email address. Any suggestions?

—Dave Sledge, Denham Springs, La.

ANSWER: AT&T uses Yahoo for its branded email. And Yahoo's email system is notorious for monitoring the number of identical emails a user sends, then automatically blocking the users that appear to be spammers (people who send huge volumes of junk or malicious email). This blocking, while temporary, is intended to encourage spammers to use another email system. I'm not sure that changing email providers would help you much, because most big email system operators react the same way Yahoo does.

The best solution is to avoid sending hundreds of identical emails in a short space of time. You could vary the content of your customer emails, so that they don't appear to be identical spam messages. Or you could send your identical emails in batches of 10, spaced over several days, which might keep you below the threshold email volume that causes Yahoo to label you a spammer.

Q: I've been using Microsoft Outlook on my 2010 MacBook Pro with the OS X version 10.6.8 operating system. But in March I started getting an error message when I tried to open Outlook. I still have the CD to reinstall Outlook. But is there an easy fix for this?

—Michele Monlux, Modesto, Calif.

A: The fix is of medium difficulty. The Office for Mac software that includes the Outlook email program can behave this way if it's been moved to a new storage location on the hard drive or if there are duplicate copies of Office on the drive. Microsoft explains how to fix it at http://www.tinyurl.com/86fjbfe. Another possibility is that the "user account" software for Office for Mac has become corrupted. If so, you'll need to create a new user account. To do that, see Microsoft's explanation at hhttp://tinyurl.com/begtkls.

Q: The Documents icon disappeared from my Windows Vista PC Desktop. How can I restore it?

—Lon Cross, St. Louis Park, Minn.

A: Click the "Start" button and select "Documents" from the menu. Then use the "Restore Down" button at the top right of the screen to make the Documents folder cover only part of your screen, so that the Desktop screen is visible beneath it. Use your mouse to drag the Documents folder icon to the Desktop. The folder won't move, but the action will create a shortcut to the Documents folder on your Desktop.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:



How to get info removed from Google
Which TV system for digital age?
The mystery of the disappearing email; reader didn't follow directions
Readers react to discount phone furor
Turning back your PC's clock from Windows 8 to Windows 7; de-hijacking your browser
T-Mobile customer was counting on discounted phone
Making files play nice with Media Player; Syncing online and local Outlook
Cellphone won't stream live sports anymore; Hotmail v. Outlook
Getting video calling to work on Facebook; Adobe Digital Editions e-reader
Wilderness Internet is costly, slow; Windows Vista Service Pack 2 problems
She can't send e-mail but still receives it; laptop loses wifi connection when asleep
Push to talk aboard ship; retrieve deleted text messages from an iPhone, when on and off
Using email to send iPad text messages; photo recovery program for camera card that has become corrupt
How to avoid getting more spam e-mail
How to solve PC problems from afar; import old e-mails into the Thunderbird e-mail program
Apple iPad ready to travel
How to add software to a diskless PC
Connecting a new PC to an older printer



© 2013,Star Tribune (Minneapolis) Distributed by MCT Information Services

Quantcast