Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 7, 2013/ 29 Sivan, 5773

This summer features a lot of movies with surprise plot twists

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) What is the statute of limitations on "Planet of the Apes?"

It's been 45 years since Charlton Heston rode his horse down the beach on that strange planet and discovered that he actually was ... no, wait, I can't do it. I can't ruin it for someone who hasn't seen the movie.

If you believe that movies are forever, and that new generations continually discover old movies on their own, then there really never is a good time for a "spoiler alert."

They are the two laziest words in entertainment journalism. There is no good excuse for revealing important plot twists in reviews and feature stories under the protective umbrella of a "spoiler alert."



It is a privilege for journalists to get into early screenings of new movies, and it is a betrayal of that privilege to reveal plot twists to unsuspecting readers.

This summer movie season is young, but I am already noticing a growing trend toward surprise plot twists. I'm such a purist that I'm not even going to hint at which upcoming movies include a twist. You're welcome.

Of course, it's no secret that the first big movie of the summer — "Iron Man 3" — included a huge switcheroo with one of its main characters.

Although the movie has made $1 billion, I cannot assume that it has been seen by everyone who wants to see it, so I won't reveal anything.

But I want to apologize for deceiving you a couple of weeks ago in a story I wrote about "Iron Man 3." I misled you, but it was for a good cause. I did not think it fair to give away the plot twist just because I saw the movie before you. If an inconsiderate coworker or a dorky cousin gave it away, that's out of my control. I did my part — I kept the filmmakers' secret.

That doesn't mean that I lie in all my stories — it means that I only lie in stories about movies with plot twists. Of course, you won't know I'm lying until after you see the movie.

However, I can state for the record that I am not lying right now. I can't say the same thing for any other stories that might appear in today's newspaper.

If you haven't guessed, I enjoy a great plot twist. In fact, some of my favorite movies of all time were ones that fooled me. I love it when I don't see it coming. I hate nothing more than predictability in the movies.

As a favor to you, I will not discuss plot twists in movies you haven't seen yet. But let's have a little fun and look back on some of the best plot twists in movies. Once again, I will not reveal the actual twist. If you haven't seen all of these movies, and you love to be challenged in a darkened theater, do yourself a favor.

I should note that a plot twist should make sense when you watch the film a second time to make sure the twists and turns were honest and not contrived. A shock ending ("The Departed") is not necessarily a plot twist, and neither is the resolution of a mystery ("Citizen Kane").

Here are our 10 favorite plot twists:

1. "The Sixth Sense" (1999) — The kid sees dead people. In case you missed it the first time, the kid sees dead people.

2. "Planet of the Apes" (1968) — If you thought that astronauts landing on a planet run by apes is the big plot twist, you're in for a pleasant surprise.

3. "The Usual Suspects" (1995) — Kevin Spacey won an Oscar, and nothing is as it seems. Some critics were turned off by this plot twist, but it comes out of nowhere.

4. "Fight Club" (1999) — This film also has as many detractors as supporters, but you can't deny the surprise at the bottom of the Crackerjack box. Edward Norton and Brad Pitt star as guys who like to fight.

5. "The Game" (1997) — David Fincher directs and Michael Douglas stars in a movie that seems more like an amusement park ride.

6. "The Others" (2001) — A ghost story with Nicole Kidman, who plays a mother trying to protect her two children. But something is very wrong.

7. "No Way Out" (1987) — Kevin Costner and Sean Young in a sexy spy thriller with a twist out of left field. And this isn't even one of Costner's baseball movies.

8. "Primal Fear" (1996) — Edward Norton makes his second appearance on our list, but this was our first look at a bright new talent.

9. "Psycho" (1960) — Generations of Normans are still trying to live down this very special relationship between a boy and his mom.

10. "The Crying Game" (1992) — This plot twist had people asking the question, "Did I just see what I thought I saw?"

.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

Don't let this golden opportunity slip away
Blame the shark for summer-movie madness
Baby boomers still buy tickets
Biopics always have one scene too many
Sneaking into movies not as easy as in old days
Ben Affleck's life is still worth living
The black market for movie raves
The 10 worst movies of 2012
2012's most annoying celebrities
Lindsay Lohan needs to be ignored
Red Dawn' remake reflects China's box-office pull
Fall movie season ends with lessons learned
The 10 best Bond villains ever
Readers weigh in on confusing movies
10 most confusing movies of all time
Do you enjoy going out to the movies?
Sylvester Stallone, the Dalai Lama and me
Watch August movies at your own risk
Nothing new in the new Spider-Man movie
Grading the summer movies . . . so far
Readers are angry about TV network practices, too
TV networks have some explaining to do
The night Johnny Depp made me a star
Summer movies: the dark horses
Lindsay, Ashton, Kim --- are they kidding?
Readers pick their favorite baseball movies
Our 10 favorite baseball movies
The most over-hyped movies of 2012
The 10 worst best pictures ever
The greatest Oscar acceptance speech NEVER given
The worst biopics ... ever
20 celebrity questions that must be answered in 2012
The Golden Globes are meaningless
The 10 Most Annoying Celebrities of 2011
The funniest comedy teams
Fake celebrities ignite real controversy
Hollywood: Stop spoiling our movies
Mob expert reveals his favorite gangster flicks
Good riddance, Harry Potter
The coolest car movies ever made
Our favorite teacher movies
Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast