Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Six truths about summer --- it's no picnic

By Gina Barreca




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) It's time to tell the truth: Summer isn't for sissies, but we forget that every year. Here's what you need to remember:

1. Nobody looks at middle-age people at the beach, with "middle-age" being defined as being too old for work-study and too young for cremation. If you are between those ages, don't worry about what anybody will think about your bathing suit, your tan lines or whether your hair gets messed up. They're not looking. The only thing messed up in our culture is the idea that we're under a spotlight just because we're sitting in the sun.

OK, all right, so there is one group looking at middle-age women at the beach: other middle-age women, all of whom are nudging the poor soul sitting next to them and asking "Do I look like her? The one over there with the bad tan line? Do I look like her from the back?" As I've said before, we should stop doing that. It would make everybody's life better.

2. You will sit outside to eat in a moment of cheerful insouciance and you will be eaten alive by insects like a character actor in a bad horror movie. You will have sprayed yourself liberally with Off, Deet, Deep Woods Deet, and Get Off of ME Already and you will still appear to the buzzing creatures of twilight exactly like a prime filet they roll out in fancy steak joints. You will need calamine lotion, anti-itch creams, anti-infections creams (for where you charmingly scratched yourself until you bled) and those little pink antihistamine pills that will knock you unconscious until October. But by October the bugs will be gone, so it'll be OK.

3. Nobody looks good in white pants. Forget it. Don't look at models: Professional models are as genetically modified as a Monsanto sugar beet. White pants on regular people simply become a convenient blank space upon which nature will write in grass stains, ketchup, mustard, red wine, salsa and oil from fried things you shouldn't have been eating in the first place. Nature writes dirtier than "Fifty Shades of Gray," which is also a good description of what your white pants will look like after two washings. For clarification: Off-white, ivory, pearl and light beige all count as "white."

4. Playing with an outdoorsy accessory called a "fire pit" in your backyard, on your patio or on your deck (which is, we pray, not made of wood — do we need to explain why?) does not make you One With The Elements or even one of the hirsute extras from "Game of Thrones." Not even if you're a guy. It makes you, at best, somebody who found a good use for twigs. Fire pits will not any more effectively prevent you from being eaten alive by insects (see item No. 2) than anything you can spray on yourself. But it will cause you to burst into flames like Johnny The Human Torch if you do spray anything incendiary in its vicinity, which includes very cheap "coolers" that spritz when you open the top.

Also, who was the genius deciding we all need to start lighting fires on hot summer nights? A guy with a lot of faux-copper basins to sell, maybe? I'm just asking. If he tells us to start burning old truck tires in our driveways as next year's new summer tradition, can we exercise some critical thinking before we all say "What a terrific idea! The kids will love it!"?

5. You will sweat. Even if you use stuff clinically proven to seal every pore in your armpit like grout, you will perspire to the extent that you will need to throw some of your shirts into the fire pit. They'll burn prettily next to the white pants.

6. Despite all this, you will have some great times this summer. There will be fresh fruit on locally made ice cream, homemade lemonade, buttery corn on the cob, sweet ice tea, cotton candy at state fairs and burgers from the grill. And this is precisely why it's good that we're all going to stop looking at each other at the beach (see item No. 1).

Comment by clicking here.

Gina Barreca is a columnist for The Hartford Courant.


Previously:


Anthony Weiner --- we've seen enough of you
When women shop, expectations usually out of stock

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.






© 2013, The Hartford Courant Distributed by MCT Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles