Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 8, 2012/ 18 Sivan, 5772

Spineless officials choose to ignore Obama fraud

By Diana West




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Earlier this spring, President Obama's attorney Alexandra Hill went to court in New Jersey over a challenge to her client's eligibility to appear on the 2012 presidential primary ballot.

New Jersey citizens, represented by attorney Mario Apuzzo, made two claims: that Barack Obama has not proved he meets the conditions for presidential eligibility (namely, that he is a "natural born citizen"), and that the proof Obama released attesting to his bona fides (an Internet image of his long-form birth certificate) is fraudulent.

Hill's argument? A presidential candidate has no obligation under New Jersey state law to prove his eligibility, period.

Administrative Law Judge Jeff Masin agreed with Hill and ruled in Obama's favor. He further asserted that, absent such an obligation, the Internet image of Obama's birth certificate -- the same image that Sheriff Joe Arpaio's Cold Case Posse investigators believe to be a forgery -- is "legally irrelevant."

The upshot for New Jersey? As the president's attorney put it, "you could have Mickey Mouse" on the presidential ballot so long as he received the requisite 1,000 petition signatures.

While such exercises may more closely resemble a tax cheat's search for loopholes than a court ensuring the rectitude of a presidential primary, our elites consider it all a big yawn, something to endure until those awful people (denigrated as "birthers") go away. This is the dirtiest secret of the great, non-reported Obama eligibility saga: The integrity of our leaders and our Constitution doesn't matter to those citizens who are actually responsible for upholding it.

On the contrary, there is an unchecked rush to abdicate responsibility -- a manifestation of "the death of the grown-up," as I titled my first book. The following questions, asked last week by the three judges who heard the New Jersey case on appeal, typify the official attitude:

"Why is it incumbent on New Jersey to resolve this issue?"

Subtext: Voters, schmoters.

"What statute of New Jersey says he (Obama) has to prove his eligibility?"

Subtext: Please make it someone else's problem.

"Why won't Congress and (the Electoral College) protect the integrity of the election?"

Subtext: It's not our problem.

"Why don't we accept at face value that they made that determination (after the 2008 election)?"

Subtext: It's no one's problem anymore. Can we go home yet?

"Do you agree that we need not reach the issue of natural born citizen?"

Subtext: We don't want to walk that scary plank, whatever we do.

Surprise, surprise, the appeals court upheld President Obama's eligibility. The judges, along with Obama's counsel, agreed that any eligibility questions should be kicked upstairs to Congress and the Electoral College -- and after the November 2012 election.

That'll be the day. Of course, the best way to settle the matter would be for Congress to investigate immediately: Is President Obama eligible to run for re-election? What's up with that funky online ID of his? No junior high school would hire a P.E. teacher on the strength of that.

That'll be the day, too. Congress has shirked its responsibility since 2008, when the U.S. Senate affirmed Sen. John McCain's eligibility to become president but not then-Sen. Barack Obama's.

Why not?

As I've previously noted, some media outlets that subscribe to this column have informed me they won't run anything I write on the eligibility subject.

No doubt other writers are similarly censored -- sometimes even after publication. For example, on March 5, 2012, Floyd and Mary Beth Brown's syndicated column, "Sheriff Joe Exposes Forgery of Obama's Selective Service Registration," appeared at Townhall.com. Then it was taken down. On March 24, 2012, John Mariotti published a piece at Forbes.com called "Is There an Impostor in the White House?" That was taken down, too. As World Net Daily noted, Geraldo Rivera's May 24, 2012, WABC radio interview with "birther Lord Christopher Monckton" is still listed in the WABC archive, but the audio file of the show is no longer there.

Why isn't it?

Leaving all these questions hanging is unhealthy. And it's not enough to promise to do better in the future, as former Republican Rep. Pete Hoekstra of Michigan, now running a Senate primary campaign, recently suggested. Advocating a department to check presidential credentials next time around, Hoekstra said: "I hate to say it, but I think the debate is over. We lost the debate in 2008 when our presidential nominee said, 'I ain't talking about it.' ... I'd love to ... say that I'm going to fight it, we're going to beat it and we're going to win it. I think it wasn't fought and we lost it."

It wasn't fought and we lost it. What a great motto for the shirkers of responsibility today, and the subjects of tyranny tomorrow.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


BUY DIANA'S LATEST BOOK ...
at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.) by clicking HERE.

Comment by clicking here.


Archives


Up


© 2009, Diana West