Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 5, 2012/ 15 Sivan, 5772

Americans have a right to be bloated

By Dan K. Thomasson




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I'll drink to that! But if I'm in New York City it won't be out of a cup that exceeds 16 ounces if what I'm drinking is a sugary substance that will add to the nation's obesity dilemma. Mayor Michael Bloomberg says that is a mortal sin and he wants to prohibit the sale of these superdrinks.

That of course raises questions about how far a democratic government can go to protect the health and welfare of its citizens without encroaching on the freedom we cherish even to do foolish things that harm only ourselves.

The U.S. Supreme Court says we have an individual right to bear arms so why can't we order a 24-ounce soda? What's the difference between the right to blow out our brains and not our bellies?

No one will dispute that we do a lot of things to excess, including eating and drinking too much.

Has it strained our hearts, cost us millions in health care, shortened our lives and made us just plain look bad? Certainly it has.

But isn't it our choice to resemble the Pillsbury Doughboy if we want to? That seems to me to be indisputable.

And by the way, who is going to police the distribution of oversized drinks - a whole new set of bureaucrats and law enforcement agents called the BGC (Big Gulp Cops)? To my way of thinking, Bloomberg has just created another expensive problem for his taxpayers. What if this silliness spreads to other major cities? I can foresee a revolt from every movie theater, convenience store, fast food restaurant and ballpark in America. Then we're talking real bucks and much mayhem, with straws the major weapons.

It isn't far-fetched to imagine the high court slurping in anticipation of this one, a case that is bound to happen. A major consumer group already has taken full-page advertisements depicting Bloomberg as a "nanny" all frocked out in a light blue number. They're making it clear he hasn't heard the last of this. While the temptation is to treat this whole brouhaha as one of the least serious threats to our way of life in this world of turmoil, it would be wrong to do so.

The good mayor's move is a dangerous example of stepping all over our liberties in direct contravention of that big document hammered out by a group of guys who never heard of soda pop.

Maybe that's a good thing. They might have decided to enshrine the privilege of gluttony in the Bill of Rights despite warnings from Ben Franklin and others that it could only lead to the ruination of our waistlines. Besides have you ever seen one of their dinner menus?

This all started when the courts said states could order drivers to buckle their seat belts, thus depriving them of the right to lay maimed or worse in the middle of twisted metal. The fact is that most citizens were doing that anyway, making those laws less a target of diehards who saw it as another case of over protectionism by Big Brother. But telling people they can't buy a soft drink of more than 16 ounces strikes me as something else altogether. It's one of those "butt out, buddy" orders that in the old days would have produced a fistfight on the floor of Congress.

I heard Michelle Obama on television the other morning conceding that all she could do to promote less obesity and better health was use her jawbone and her own example of feeding her children the healthiest food she could.

The First Lady's trumpeting of a more nutritious diet has jostled the sensibilities of those who resent being told anything. But she was correct when asked if she could do more, she made it clear that in this free society the answer is no.

I've never had a 32-ounce drink, well not of soda pop anyway, but lots have and that's their prerogative.

What's to stop them from buying two 16s and combining them into a left-over bigger cup? "Nanny" Bloomberg has his heart or maybe his stomach in the right place, but where our own is, is our business.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


06/01/12: Quota system would dilute school's quality

05/27/12: Even now, Memorial Day means summer camp

05/18/12: Is there a public right to know too much?

05/09/12: American exceptionalism --- exceptional generosity

05/04/12: The Edwards trial is a sorry affair

05/02/12: Common sense needs to be taught . . . to school administrators

04/30/12: We must deal with college student debt rate

04/10/12: At least Ryan has a deficit-cutting plan

04/05/12: Celebrate one-year rent-a-teams?

03/12/12: A kinder, gentler day when fists settled disputes

03/05/12: Do conservatives want a victory or a statement?

02/27/12: Hillary vs. Jeb?

02/17/12: Why wait for the until GOP nominating convention?

02/17/12: Prez is not a god, just a cause of O.G. D.: Obama Governmental Dysfunction

02/13/12: Minor tardiness doesn't warrant court action

02/08/12: College rankings aren't always reliable

02/01/12: Millionaire Fans Watching Millionaire Players

01/30/12: Kiriakou case may plug leaks, stifle democracy

01/09/12: Feds need to find if Brit hackers targeted 9/11 families

12/23/11: NIH flu-strain decision endangers us all

12/09/11: U.S. Postal Service may be beyond saving

11/30/11: Do-gooder gets deserved earful

11/24/11: Lawmakers should pledge to think on their own

11/22/11: Iowa: Vital to GOP now, irrelevant later

11/16/11: Pentagon's ‘senior mentor’ service takes hit

11/14/11: With Congress, expect more intransigence

11/08/11: Paterno's illustrious career faces tarnished end

10/31/11: The FBI is burned by its Boston informants

10/18//11: President Inexperienced again picked style and enthusiasm over caution. He must pay

10/10/11: Prosecutors routinely abuse plea bargaining

10/04/11: In Christie,shades of William Howard Taft

09/27/11: One word for Obama's prospects --- ‘bleak’

09/26/11: Obama quickly running out of time

09/23/11: Big-time college football is now all about the money

09/22/11: A trip to the dentist cleans out your wallet

09/06/11: College rankings a useless exercise

08/31/11: Thankful a mother isn't alive to see this hungry mess

08/30/11: ‘Supercommittee’ should meet in secret

08/22/11: Is college still worth it? Some majors are

08/15/11: Pray for miracle from debt committee

08/09/11: S&P mixes credit ratings with politics

08/08/11: Politics again takes precedence over common sense

08/04/11: In modern society, a distinct pattern of senselessness

07/29/11: A debt solution: Throw the rascals out, all of them

07/21/11: Campaign finance reform --- you're kidding, right!?

07/08/11: Casey Anthony jury did its job

07/05/11: Nailing a prominent figure or institution should come at a heavy risk — and an even greater price if proven a hoax





© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles