Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 13, 2012/ 23 Sivan, 5772

America suffers from a national civility disorder

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Would you believe me if I told you that 82 percent of Americans believe the media are more interested in controversy than facts and that 62 percent find the media’s tone “uncivil”?

Yes, I’m sure you would.

Also, two-thirds of Americans are tuning out political advertising, and 54 percent are tuning out election coverage.

Nearly seven in 10 Americans “have lost hope that our political parties can discuss matters civilly.”

Only 17 percent of Americans have not experienced uncivil behavior in their own lives, with our most frequent encounters occurring while driving (60 percent) and shopping (49 percent).

Some 34 percent of us experience uncivil behavior at work, and 28 percent of us have to deal with it in our immediate neighborhood.

And what do we do about it? We wait for Apple to come out with an iDrone so we can take our revenge. No, wait, that’s not part of the new study I am unveiling today.

Weber Shandwick and Powell Tate, in partnership with KRC Research, will soon release its survey, “Civility in America 2012,” and I have been allowed an early look.

And just in case you were planning on feeling good today, don’t bother. A majority of Americans say incivility will get worse in America. Why?

Politicians bear the brunt of the blame (63 percent), government officials (57 percent), the economy (57 percent), America’s youth (55 percent), media (50 percent), celebrities (42 percent), corporate America (42 percent), Internet/social media (38 percent), sports figures (29 percent), cellphones/smartphones (23 percent), and Twitter (21 percent).

Wait. Twitter is the least uncivil aspect of American life? SMDH.

But what is uncivil behavior? To me, uncivil behavior is anything you do that I don’t like, including clipping your fingernails in public. (C’mon, get a room.) The study, based on an online survey of 1,000 U.S. adults, says civility is “polite and respectful conduct and expression.”

Like there’s a lot of that going on. “We are suffering from a national civility disorder that is leading us down an unhelpful and unhealthy political path,” says Pam Jenkins, president of Powell Tate.

Asked to rate groups, media outlets and individuals from most to least rude, the public came up with these uncivil/civil ratings:

Political campaigns … 76/18

Government … 69/25

Pop culture … 65/24

American public … 63/32

Media … 62/31

Schools … 62/30

Professional sports … 60/32

Occupy Wall Street movement … 58/25

Republicans in Congress … 56/33

Democrats in Congress … 51/38

Tea party movement … 47/34

Social networks … 44/41

Mitt Romney … 39/48

Twitter … 37/24

Fox News … 35/53

President Obama … 33/59

MSNBC … 31/49

Workplace … 31/54

CNN … 31/53

New York Times … 29/44

NBC News … 24/61

ABC News … 23/63

CBS News … 23/62

USA Today … 22/54

PBS … 16/67

Friends and family … 15/80

Rudeness is becoming the new normal. One year ago, 33 percent of Americans accepted incivility “as an inherent part of the political process.” But this year, that figure has risen to 40 percent. That’s an increase of more than 21 percent in just one year.

“Thus, the shock value of contentious and uncivil discourse may be wearing off,” the survey concludes.

Some 44 percent of Americans say they ended a friendship or other relationship because of rudeness; 39 percent said they defriended or blocked someone online; 23 percent said they quit their job; and 13 percent said they moved their residence.

“To maintain our democratic and open society, we must find common ground,” says Jack Leslie, chairman of Weber Shandwick.

(Here is a link to a graphic, and here is one to the whole study.)

I have crunched my own numbers. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the resident population of the United States is 313,715,956.

If I subtract those who are uncivil and then subtract the very young and the very old who cannot be blamed, plus people who pretend to be civil to our face but stab us in the back, that leaves just two people in the entire United States who are actually civil: you and me.

And I’m not that sure about you. Creep.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate