Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

On Nutrition: Hay is for horses

By Barbara Quinn



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Neighbor David delivered some of his fresh-cut hay for the horses last week. Grown right here in our valley. Some of it is green and leafy alfalfa. The rest is a mixture of oats, wheat and barley. And it's even organic, he told us with a smile.

Impressive. Our horses are now nourished with locally grown multi-grain whole-grain organic hay.

Do Cal and Peppy care? Cal will eat pretty much anything sometimes to his detriment. (Horses can get very sick if they overeat.)

Peppy is a more "delicate" eater. She nibbles on her hay and just naturally stops eating when she is no longer hungry.

Whatever our eating style, horses (and humans) can benefit from a variety of grains in our diets, say experts.

"Whole grains" for example, contain all the essential parts and naturally occurring nutrients of the entire grain seed, according to the definition by the Whole Grains Council. Thus, a "whole" grain includes the three main parts of a grain seed - the fiber-rich bran, the nutrient-rich germ and the energy-rich endosperm.

"Multi-grain" refers to "more-than-one" grain. And these mixtures provide an array of nutrients that exceed those from just one grain. For example, alfalfa (for horses) and quinoa (for humans) is higher in protein than other grains such as oats or rice. When we eat a mixture of whole grain foods, we help assure a better balance of nutrients in our diet.

Horses (and humans) need high quality "forage," say experts. This is the roughage that makes our tummies feel full and feeds the good bacteria in our intestines. Horses who don't get enough high fiber bulk in their diets will continue to seek food to fill them up, say equine experts. And it appears to be true for we humans as well.

Of course we humans don't need 20 pounds of hay every day like a 1,200-pound horse. But for our best health, we need about 25 grams of fiber - what horse experts call "gut fill" - from whole grains and other plant-based foods.

And just as mixtures of various hays provide the best overall nutrition for horses, mixtures of fibers from various whole grains are better for us than those that are isolated and provided in a supplement, say experts from the recent Whole Grains Summit 2012 conference.

Cal and Peppy seem to like their mixed hay diet of alfalfa, oats, wheat and barley. Makes me wonder if I need to mix up the grains in my diet a bit as well. Thank you, David!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Barbara Quinn is a registered dietitian and certified diabetes educator at the Community Hospital of the Monterey Peninsula.



Previously:


Questions about nitrites and nitrates

Confusing concepts
Nutrition nursery rhymes
Understanding sweeteners
Ups and downs of birthdays
Genetically modified foods
Fun with potatoes
Sugar questions
Yeast infection diet
Questions from readers
Beware of the hCG diet
Diets that work
Pregnancy advice from mom
Terminology review
Thoughts for the New Year
Reasons to have a cup of tea
What's new for 2012
Applications for healthy living
Clarifying organic terminology
Facts about type 1 diabetes
Myths and facts about diabetes
Food Still Better Than Supplements
Celiac questions


© 2011, The Monterey County Herald Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles