Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 15, 2012/ 25 Sivan, 5772

A father's message is something to laugh at

By Reg Henry




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | An unusual thing occurred in my life the other day: In a fit of extravagance, I bought a new car.

My old car lasted 14 years and went almost 110,000 miles. Bits of it had started to fall off. The dealer doubted I could drive it up the hill to trade it in.

Maybe it was about time for a change. To justify the expense to myself, I look upon my new car as an advance Father's Day present. Who needs a tie or deodorant when he has eau de new car for after-shave?

And I thought of my father, and not only because Father's Day is next Sunday. Dad taught me to drive and much else besides.

Dad was a large man -- in fact, he was overweight before obesity became popular -- but for much of his life he drove small English cars.

The car he owned when I was growing up was an Austin A-30, an auto so small that it could have infiltrated a Shriners miniature car parade. It was so small that a lad could take a date to the drive-in theater and she would be perfectly safe from romantic encounter unless he put his legs out the window. The car was a motorized English roller skate.

Funny how the eccentricities of the father can take root in a son. I am a tall fellow and I drove small cars for years, too.

But what would Dad have thought of my new car, which is quite big by his old -- and my recent -- standards? There's no saying now. The old man passed on 14 years ago. A smoker for years who liked a drink and a sandwich, he died of lung cancer in the end. Maybe he was asking for trouble, but he was 96 at the time.

So when I call him the old man, that is not just an affectionate flourish, although there's plenty of that, too. Jim Henry was 46 when I was born. He had gone to World War II as a correspondent with the Reuters news agency.

The stories he told of being attacked at sea by Japanese suicide planes and landing with the Marines on distant Pacific atolls was one reason that I wanted to become a journalist. It sounded exciting.

Unfortunately, the old man never told me about the endless meetings in the journalism business, but then I fear it's no different in the corporate world, with less opportunity for scratching and laughing.

As the very image of an English gentleman, colonial variety, the old man wasn't much for scratching but, oh, he liked laughing. He was a fountain of jokes and merry quips.

With his large appetite for life and its many humorous stories, no pun or play on words was too lame for him. He was like the guy who walked into the French restaurant and asked the waiter if he had frogs' legs. "Oui, monsieur. This is a French restaurant after all," the waiter sniffed. "Very good," the guy said, "jump over the bar and get me a cheese sandwich."

With such a father as a role model, I could not help being impressed. Why, to this day, everything I do, both in my writings and my conversation, essentially boils down to urging people to jump over the bar for a cheese sandwich -- metaphorically speaking, of course.

My father left me only a little money after 96 years on this Earth. That did not matter. He did not bequeath me his abundant charm that could make a room light up. That didn't much matter to me and my creative grouchiness. And he did not leave me his remarkable attractiveness to women. (OK, that mattered a lot, but I smiled bravely through my tears.)

But in the fullness of time, I became a father myself and learned that Dad left me a greater legacy in the form of this wisdom:

Whatever success in life a man might have, nothing is more important than telling cheesy stories to sons or daughters, teaching them to throw a ball, drive a car, tell jokes, battle adversity, do good, be kind, laugh, be brave, love life, love country and, as far as the spirit so inclines, honor all creation and its Creator. And be always there for them, on rough roads or smooth.

There are families that for various reasons never had fathers, and some manage quite well, even magnificently. But if you have a good father, the same as if you have a good mother, the chances of a good life go up and up.

Happy Father's Day, Dad. You should see my new car. I took it for a spin and found myself driving down memory lane.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.



Previously:


Dear Friends: Facebook is, like, so lame

High Tide: the detergent drug dealers dig

It's funny how scary side effects can be

Must we meet so much? It's transparent

Why America needs a proper curmudgeon

A new grandfather's coming-of-age story

America still shows the power of the individual



© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles