Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 25, 2012 / 5 Tammuz, 5772

Take a vacation: It's your duty

By Ann McFeatters




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | A recent study concluded Americans have not been taking their vacation time. If that is true, they are making a big mistake.

I recently logged in a few hours of beach time and found that not once did I ponder whom Mitt Romney would choose as his running mate. I gave only cursory thought to Greece's economic meltdown. And I didn't even care (much) how obvious it is that Vladimir Putin and Barack Obama can't stand each other.

Folks, we need our vacations so that when we have to confront such crucial issues we will be able to care. Also, there are enough Americans without jobs to risk putting writers of trashy beach novels out of work.

But my real break-through thought on vacation was how absolutely ridiculous our political process looks when you're more than 10 feet away from it.

There was Obama handing out favors right and left (mostly left where his base is) to women voters, to Latino voters, to gays and lesbians. And the summer has just begun! Maybe we'll see some help for foreclosed homeowners, the unemployed and pining environmentalists.

On the right, we have Romney pictured on the front page of The Wall Street Journal making a piecrust. Clearly, the three-hundred-million-dollar man will do anything to get elected.

On the other hand, he won't say anything to get elected. He is so spooked about making a gaffe, he's basically stopped talking about anything except how incompetent he thinks Obama is. He also won't say exactly what he would do to fix the economy, if it can even be fixed in the short term.

Romney declined to answer newsman Bob Schieffer's question about whether he would repeal Obama's move to permit children of immigrants in the United States illegally to avoid deportation. Schieffer asked three times, but Romney steadfastly chuckled.

He did say Obama is pandering to Hispanic voters.

But would Romney repeal Obama's order? Answer: "It would be overtaken by events, if you will, by virtue of my putting in place a long-term solution, with legislation which creates law that relates to these individuals such that they know what their setting is going to be, not just for the term of a president but on a permanent basis." Ah.

We have another debt ceiling crisis upcoming, a huge tax increase, major across-the-board military spending cuts and all-heck breaking loose over health care. We have no idea whether Europe will fall over the economic cliff, how long Syria's bloody civil war will last, whether climate change will continue causing ever-more extreme havoc.

To cope with this stress, we need to take all the vacation time coming to us. Enough brown-nosing. Enough martyrdom. It's for sure Europe will shut down in August without any guilt.

Consulting firm Right Management issued a survey that seven out of 10 working Americans don't take all their allotted vacation time. They're too anxious about job security (although it seems every other employer is cutting staff and forcing the remaining employees to do two or three jobs).

The consultants said giving the company back vacation time leads to "resentment, health problems, unnecessary turnover, absenteeism and safety claims." Wow. That sounds un-American.

Maybe if more people took their vacations, even if only to hang out in their own back yards, employers would have to hire a few more employees.

But at least workers would return to their duties in the fall ready to weigh seriously the pros and cons of the exceedingly bland Rob Portman against the stunningly boring Tim Pawlenty in the riveting veep stakes.

If we don't care about stuff like this, what is to become of us? It has to matter whether Romney can bake a pie or that Obama and his wife are committed to teaching children to like cauliflower.

See you at the beach. It's your duty.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:


06/19/12: Dems: 'Do something'
04/30/12: Will Mitt Romney finally let a hair down?
04/23/12: Warning: Nasty presidential race ahead
04/02/12: We need to talk about aging
03/26/12: A Clinton-Bush matchup in 2016?
03/19/12: Autumn presidential debate topics lining up nicely
03/12/12: Unpacking presidential campaign myths
03/05/12: Time for Romney's vision, not goofiness, gaffes
01/13/12: Romney makes life difficult with many flubs
11/24/11: Obama has most to fear from Huntsman
10/04/11: Romney looks like ‘The One’
09/28/11: At last some good news on energy
09/21/11: Time to make pols squirm
08/29/11: America still shows the power of the individual
08/17/11: Like us, Lady Liberty in disrepair, but still strong




© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles