Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Remember this: We all forget things

By Susan Reimer




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I constantly forget where I put my keys and my glasses. And I bet you do, too.

I can't remember what groceries I need unless I write them down, and I tend to forget by the time I find a pen and a piece of paper. I can't remember where I was going when I decided to get up out of my chair.

I can't remember whether I sent that email or only thought about sending that email. I can't remember my passwords, so I write them down. Thank heaven for speed-dial because I can't remember telephone numbers anymore.

I can't remember book titles or the names of plants. I can't remember whether I told that story before, although I am pretty sure I did.

I can't remember how to do something on my computer, my Blackberry or my iPod unless I just did it 10 times in a row 10 minutes ago.

I can't remember your first name or where I met you.

All of this forgetting would just be annoying if it weren't terrifying.

As we baby boomers enter our 60s and 70s, we are hearing — though we can't remember where we heard it — that an awful lot of us — we can't remember what percentage exactly, but a lot of us — are going to get Alzheimer's and we are pretty sure we have all the symptoms.

Those of us who have Alzheimer's or some other kind of dementia in our families are more terrified than the rest because we have heard — on the news or somewhere, we can't remember — that it can be hereditary.

And — most alarming — some of us have an early exit strategy should our minds begin to slip. We are stockpiling pills or making pacts with friends or doctors, says Margaret Morganroth Gullette, who studies the social ramifications of aging at the Women's Studies Research Center at Brandeis University.

"This epidemic of anxiety around memory loss is so strong that many older adults seek help for the kind of day-to-day forgetfulness that once was considered normal," Gullette wrote in The New York Times this week. Her essay, "Our Irrational Fear of Forgetting," immediately shot into the Top 10 most-emailed stories, as if to prove her point.

"Thirty years ago and more, I believe, there was less fear of cognitive loss," said Gullette, speaking via email while traveling abroad.

"My father-in-law, a college professor, used to say to us youngsters, 'I've forgotten more than you'll ever know.' It was a boast, not an admission of memory loss."

The market has all sorts of products to rejuvenate the brain and forestall dementia, from herbal medicines to puzzle books. But then someone important — I forget who — said all that does is make you good at doing puzzles. It won't prevent Alzheimer's.

Gullette, the author of the book "Agewise: Fighting the New Ageism in America," believes that the companion fear for those of us of a certain age is that our memory missteps will be used to drive us out of the workforce.

"Employers are looking so hard for reasons to let workers go at midlife," she said. "Middle-ageism includes a huge component of disrespect for the mental ability of workers in the information age."

Our children — let alone our bosses — have no patience with our lapses or our repetitive story-telling, and they aren't shy about expressing their exasperation. But their attitude only serves to makes it more likely that we, tense and embarrassed, will become more confused.

And if we women are not worrying about our own memory loss, we are worrying about our husbands and their soft-headedness. The only thing more frightening than losing your own memory would be to watch someone you love lose his.

"If women worry more than men about memory loss and Alzheimer's — and I have no data about this — it would be because we live longer and are poorer than men in later life, and we would have no one to take care of us. These would be reasonable fears, and my women friends and I mention them," said Gullette, who cared for her own mother as her memory failed.

My friend Nan used to say that our memory lapses were the result of the multitasking chaos of raising children, that there was room for only so many oranges in the bag and at some point an orange or two falls out.

When the children grow up and leave us, she promised, there would be room in the bag for all those oranges again.

It hasn't happened exactly that way, of course. But I do remember her explanation — as clearly as if she had said it just yesterday.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Susan Reimer is a columnist for The Baltimore Sun. Comment by clicking here.


Previously:

‘Superjobs’ leaving us super-stressed

On entitlements, younger generation has its say

Missing the good old days of the Cold War

Friends can be risky business for teens

In Social Security reports, a story of women's priorities

One soon-to-be grandmother's advice about sweating the small stuff

In my family's universe, I am not a star

Is America ready for a new ‘life stage’?

Paying for good behavior is worth every penny

He's on vacation, but she needs a break

Conan says what we wish we could

Body image issues get a new meaning

A spreadsheet for happiness? Thanks, but I'll take the wine



© 2011, The Baltimore Sun. Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles