Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 24, 2011 / 22 Sivan, 5771

Our favorite teacher movies

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Mary Lou Adams was the teacher against whom all other teachers were judged.

She was an excellent 5th grade teacher on the academic side, but what distinguished her in the eyes of the boys and girls in her class was that she played in our daily kickball games. And she not only played, but she was an awesome kicker of the ball. With her mighty left foot, she could kick the ball clear over the fence around the playground of Union Avenue School in Margate, N.J.

I'm not sure, but I think we were her first class after college, so who knows how long she continued to kick the ball with her classes. I'm sure some school administrator eventually admonished her for crossing the line between student and teacher.

But I loved fifth grade, and I was always disappointed, particularly in college, when my professors refused to play kickball with the rest of the class.

It is hard not to think of favorite teachers after watching the new Cameron Diaz comedy "Bad Teacher," which opens this week. The movie, which also stars Justin Timberlake and Jason Segel, is a rip-off of "Bad Santa," only with a car wash in which Diaz does her best impression of Paris Hilton in a burger commercial.

The movie will be gone from our memories long before we forget the teachers who made an impression on us, good and bad. More important, it reminds us of all the teacher movies we've seen over the years. After all, this is an entertainment column. This is not the education beat. We love teachers, but we love teacher movies even more.

Here are some of our favorite teacher movies of all time, in no particular order, even though we will number them and many of you will not read this disclaimer and will chastise me later for ranking one teacher movie over the other.

1. NOT "Dead Poets Society" — Writers always put this at the top of their teacher movie lists because it is some idealized vision of what they hoped school would have been for them. Although the screenplay won an Oscar, the Peter Weir-directed film is about as subtle as a book of poetry to the back of the head. What it lacks in subtlety, it more than makes up for in inspirational moments.

2. "Dead Poets Society" (1989) — We just didn't want to make it first.

3. "Stand and Deliver" (1988) — Edward James Olmos is amazing in a story based on a real teacher in East L.A. who inspired his students to pass an advanced calculus test. Lou Diamond Phillips plays a punk with a heart of gold.

4. "Summer School" (1987) — Hey, we never said this was a list of the "best" teacher movies; it's a list of our favorites, and Mark Harmon was in fine pre-"NCIS" form as an unmotivated teacher forced to babysit a bunch of misfits during summer school, including two crazy "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" aficionados and one very young Courtney Thorne-Smith.

5. "The School of Rock" (2003) — Jack Black could have been up for "Teacher of the Year" honors, except that he wasn't a teacher. In fact, this could have been called "Bad Substitute Teacher." Very funny, and Jack Black crowd surfing into a parting of the Red Sea is a classic scene.

6. "Lean on Me" (1989) — Hey, it's our list, and if we want to include a movie about a principal, then you're going to have to accept it or stay after school for detention. Morgan Freeman plays "Crazy Joe" Clark, the real-life school principal who cleaned up a very bad high school in New Jersey.

7. "Dangerous Minds" (1995) — Honestly, nobody bought Michelle Pfeiffer as an ex-Marine, but it was accompanied by a really cool song, and an even better music video.

8. "To Sir, With Love" (1967) — They would have called him "Mr. Tibbs," but that was another movie. Sidney Poitier plays a new teacher thrown into a tough school. It was "Dangerous Minds," only done better ... and earlier.

9. "Kindergarten Cop" (1990) — Remember when everybody in California still loved Arnold Schwarzenegger? Back then, he was a movie star, and he went undercover as a kindergarten teacher from hell in this action comedy.

10. "Wonder Boys" (2000) — Michael Douglas was not greedy, and Tobey Maguire was not sporting web-shooters and a spider costume in this story of a college professor going through a mid-life crisis.

11. "Mr. Holland's Opus" (1995) — This was no boat accident, but Richard Dreyfuss stayed afloat as a music teacher who took the concept of tenure seriously.

12. "Goodbye, Mr. Chips" (1939) — Robert Donat is the beloved teacher in this granddaddy of beloved teacher movies.

13. "Fast Times at Ridgemont High" (1982) — A special salute to the greatest cinematic teacher ever — Mr. Hand.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles