Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 30, 2011 / 28 Sivan, 5771

The coolest car movies ever made

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | No man forgets his first love.

My first love was considerably older, and cost me $25. My father paid the bill in an effort to make a man of me.

It was a 1949 Olds coupe. What did you think I was talking about? Get your mind out of the gutter.

I loved that car, even though the floorboard beneath the passenger seat was rusted through and you could see the road passing by. It was sort of a reverse convertible.

The love affair didn't last that long. My parents took the car away from me when a friend of theirs witnessed 13 of my high school friends climbing out of the Olds at a red light. But the memories have lasted a lifetime.

I was thinking about my first car while I was watching the animated film "Cars 2," a sequel to the 2006 hit "Cars." While the first film was set locally in Radiator Springs, the sequel takes Mater the tow truck and race car driver Lightning McQueen around the world as the best friends get involved in an international spy caper. Michael Caine voices a British agent named Finn McMissle. Once again, Larry the Cable Guy is Mater, and Owen Wilson is McQueen.

The first film made about $462 million at the worldwide box office (and probably an equal amount in merchandising revenue), and the new one, which opened Friday, is expected to make considerably more than the original.

Both movies were inspired by John Lasseter's love affair with cars.

Lasseter, the head genius at Pixar Animation and the director of both films, was the son of a parts manager at a Chevrolet dealership. He has confessed that he has loved cars his whole life.

So, he had an idea about a car movie that likely will generate a couple of billion dollars in revenue. My ideas rarely generate a couple of dollars in revenue.

But his idea is about to generate a column on car movies.

Hollywood and the automobile have been a hot couple since the silent era, and the love affair obviously is only getting stronger with age. Earlier this summer, "Fast Five," the fourth sequel in the "Fast and Furious" film franchise, grossed more than $200 million in this country alone.

Let's take a look at some of the coolest car movies ever made. If I missed your favorite, let me know. Some of the choices are based on great car chases, while others have been included for no better reason than the movie had a cool car in it.

One disclaimer: I had a bad experience with a Beetle once, so there are no love bugs on this list.

1. "American Graffiti" — The whole town is cruising, and a showdown is brewing between John Milner in his '32 Ford, and Bob Falfa and his '55 Chevy. And let us not forget that beautiful white T-Bird driven by the mysterious blonde (Suzanne Summers), and Opie's (Ron Howard) '58 Chevy.

2. "Bullitt" — Steve McQueen flew through the streets of San Francisco in his '68 Mustang GT.

3. "The French Connection" — Do you pick your toes in Poughkeepsie? Gene Hackman commandeers a Pontiac LeMans and chases a train through Brooklyn. Arguably the greatest car chase ever filmed.

4. "The Italian Job" (1969 and 2003) — Mini Coopers rule!

5. "Gone in 60 Seconds" (1974 and 2000) — Steal a car. Steal another car. Steal another car. Steal another car.

6. "Smokey and the Bandit" — The ultimate love triangle — Sally Field comes between Burt Reynolds and his car.

7. "Back to the Future" — Drive a DeLorean; enter a time warp.

8. "Ronin" — Best use of a BMW outside of Number 10.

9. "The Fast and the Furious" — Street racing turned out to be more popular than some people imagined.

10. "The Transporter" — Jason Statham played the strong, silent type at the wheel.

11. "Goldfinger" — Cars have been an important element in all James Bond films, but we had to shine the bright lights on 007's Aston Martin.

12. "Vanishing Point" — Denver to San Francisco in 15 hours isn't easy ... unless you're driving a Dodge Challenger.

13. "Mad Max" — Futuristic police cars with Mad Mel Gibson behind the wheel.

14. "Le Mans" — Steve McQueen in a race car. Enough said.

15. "Grand Prix" — Won a couple of Oscars, but not for acting, writing or directing. That's a clue.

16. "The Blues Brothers" — A 1974 Dodge Monaco on a mission from God.

17. "Ferris Bueller's Day Off" — Take your friend's dad's Ferrari GT 250 out for a joy ride. What could possibly go wrong?

18. "Cobra" — Sly Stallone behind the wheel of a 1950 Mercury Monterey. Sunglasses are optional.

19. "Risky Business" — Tom Cruise takes a Porsche for a swim.

20. "The Dark Knight" — The Batmobile.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

Our favorite teacher movies
Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles