Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 28, 2010 / 16 Tamuz 5770

A Trifecta of Progressive Corruption

By Arnold Ahlert




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Once again it is Sunday, and once again I am trying to decide what the most important topic is I can address for a column that will appear tomorrow. I've already made two starts, but something is missing, and I think I've finally figured out what it is: there is so much progressive corruption occurring at the same time that focusing one subject becomes next to impossible. So here's my "trifecta," because none of these stories can be ignored:

The Gulf oil spill is no longer about federal incompetence. There's an over-arching theme emerging here which is impossible to ignore: government incompetence has become government corruption. Oil is still gushing, and the Jones Act is still in effect. It is no longer possible to believe that preventing as many non-American ships from assisting in the cleanup is anything other than the Obama administration protecting maritime unions--at the gut-wrenching expense of everyone else. George W. Bush waived the Jones Act in order to facilitate the cleanup following Hurricane Katrina, three days after that disaster occurred. We're now seventy days into this much bigger disaster and the president is still sitting on his hands.

How much of this catastrophe could have been mitigated by a rational response from the government? How much agony could still be prevented? As long the same in-the-tank mainstream media which excoriated Bush for his "uncaring attitude" and his "racism" with respect to Katrina keeps giving the Golfer-in-Chief a pass, we'll never really know.

What we do know however, is this: by "sheer coincidence," our Democratically-controlled Congress has decided it's time to put cap-and-trade at the top of their agenda. This job-killing energy bill--which won't do a single thing to combat Democrats' much-touted concern with climate change--is yet another federal grab for control over yet another huge slab of private enterprise. Like everything progressives do, government control is their core ambition. Everything else is political window-dressing for the hopey-changey dim bulbs for whom personal freedom and personal responsibility are "so yesterday."

The stunning revelations surrounding the resignation of U.S. Justice Department attorney, J. Christian Adams. Mr. Adams resigned due to the Justice Department's decision to drop the voter intimidation case against the New Black Panthers. During the 2008 presidential election, armed members of that organization were videotaped harassing voters in Philadelphia. DOJ attorneys obtained an "entry of default" against the defendants--meaning the Panthers refused to show up in court to defend themselves. Despite this, the Justice Department inexplicably dismissed the case.

In a column for the Washington Times, Mr. Adams characterized this case as "the simplest and most obvious violation of federal law I saw in my Justice Department career. Because of the corrupt nature of the dismissal, statements falsely characterizing the case and, most of all, indefensible orders for the career attorneys not to comply with lawful subpoenas investigating the dismissal, this month I resigned my position as a Department of Justice (DOJ) attorney."

Read that last sentence again. What Mr. Adams is referring to is an investigation by the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, which issued subpoenas to attorneys involved in the case. Incredibly, Eric Holder's Justice Department ordered those attorneys to ignore legally-issued subpoenas.

In what Constitutional universe is such behavior even remotely acceptable?

But it actually gets worse. According to Adams, "(S)ome of my co-workers argued that the law should not be used against black wrongdoers because of the long history of slavery and segregation. Less charitable individuals called it 'payback time.' Incredibly, after the case was dismissed, instructions were given that no more cases against racial minorities like the Black Panther case would be brought by the Voting Section."

Is this the progressive version of "equal protection under the law?" It's time Mr. Holder himself was subpoenaed to testify. If he refuses, he should be fired. If there's even the slightest indication that Mr. Holder was taking his marching orders from the president, then impeachment proceedings should be initiated against Barack Obama.

I do not make such a recommendation lightly. As we learned during the Clinton years, impeachment proceedings are drawn out, politically-charged affairs. Yet despite all the media/liberal obfuscation surrounding that saga, the former president was fined $90,000 for perjury and forfeited his law license. Liberals were enraged because it was "all about sex." If there is a case here, it's all about a double-standard regarding "the rule of law." Is that serious enough for progressives?

A Cape Cod School Board's decision to make condoms available to elementary school children--without parental knowledge. How corrupt are the people involved? School Committee Chairman Peter Grosso: "I think it's a great policy to begin with. I can't believe the reaction it's getting." Grosso also said he would not approve a plan which limits the condom give-away to grades 7-12. "Not at all," he said. (The policy would) "have to go lower than that, because we all know kids are sexually active before high school."

One wonders if Grosso and liberals like him ever "connect the dots." If kids as young as eleven or twelve are sexually active, it's precisely because of the liberal excess which produced the hyper-sexualized, garbage of a popular culture most Americans now endure. And rather than attempt to re-institute anything resembling moral structure in the lives of children, these people choose to pile on even more soul-destroying corruption.

Without parental knowledge.

That last point is key. Those who would purposefully undermine the parent-child relationship in pursuit of a political ideology should be called exactly what they are: despicable human beings. These are the very same people who would howl in protest if anything resembling conservative values were inflicted on their children without their knowledge. Imagine telling their children that abortion is flat out wrong, or that man-made global warming is a complete fraud. But they can tell your kid where the nearest abortion clinic is, or make them watch "An Inconvenient Truth" even though the movie was discredited by a British court. And now, they can give your kids condoms.

Juan Martinez, spokesman for Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick: "The governor has spoken to the superintendent and expressed his belief that they should revise the policy to make it consistent with practices in other communities. While he knows it is a local decision, the governor is very concerned about Provincetown's program. It is simply not age appropriate to have a program in place for such young children, not to mention not having parents of such young children involved."

Ya think?

The kicker? Make the policy "consistent with practices in other communities." Translation: the moral corruption of giving condoms to students without parental knowledge has been firmly established. Let's haggle over the age limit.

The common thread here? The bankruptcy of progressive ideology. It is an ideology dedicated to the destruction of America using ever-expanding government to enforce its mandates. Only progressives would exploit an ecological disaster to promote an energy agenda, establish a racially-tinged, "two-tier" system of justice as "payback," or attempt to sexually "educate" grade school kids behind their parents' backs. There is nothing here that even minimally represents the interests of most Americans--something progressives have made increasingly clear is an irrelevant consideration. It's their way of the highway.

Let's put as many of them on the road as we can in November.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Arnold Ahlert's column, by clicking here.



Previously:


06/23/10:
Plug the Darn Hole --- In Our Border
06/21/10: Our Empty-Suit-in-Chief
06/16/10: Betraying Our Children
06/14/10: Who Gets the Benefit of the Doubt?
06/07/10: Politically Correct Warfare
06/01/10: Bill Maher's ‘Black’ President
05/25/10: A Mosque At Ground Zero
05/23/10: Libs Stand Tall --- For Mexico
05/19/10: The 'Unintended Consequences' of Liberalism
05/17/10: 'Los' Suns: Stuck on Stupido
05/12/10: Union Audacity: Yes We Will!
05/10/10: Greeks, Leaks and and Double-Speak
05/05/10: Twelve Million Illegals --- or Thirty?
05/02/10: Republicans: Playing Not to Lose Doesn't Cut It
04/28/10: Arizona: Progressivism's Waterloo?
04/26/10: Son of Amnesty
04/22/10: Mortgages and Moral Meltdowns
04/20/10: Bashing Christians — Or Gays?
04/15/10: Personal Integri-‘tea’
04/12/10: Fools, Tools and Ghouls
04/08/10: (Tea) Party On
04/05/10: The Triumph of Mediocrity
04/02/10: Two For the Road
03/29/10: The Innate Immorality of Liberalism
03/24/10: The Art of War
03/22/10: I Want My Country Back
03/18/10: A Perpetual Process
03/17/10: American Exhibitionists
03/15/10: A Light Bulb Moment of Clarity
03/10/10: Little Things Mean A Lot
02/03/10: Budgetary Fork in the Road
02/01/10: Liberal Economic Illiteracy
01/27/10: ‘Roe-ing and Wade-ing’ Back to Reason
01/25/10: Arrogance When Up, Denial When Down
01/20/10: Connecting the Educational Dots
01/19/10: The Next Tea Party?
01/15/10: The Myth That Keeps on Giving
01/13/10: Airport Security Begins Away From the Airport
01/11/10: Secrets and Lies
01/08/10: Embracing Bigotry — or Rejecting Bullying?
01/06/10: Hanging by an Ideological Thread
01/04/10: Our ‘Wonderama’ Bureaucracy
12/30/09: A Day Off
12/28/09: Dangerous Myths
12/25/09: I, Me, Mine
12/23/09: A Very Harry Christmas
12/21/09: My Opinon
12/18/09: The Party of Repeal
12/15/09: Privileged Exemption
11/30/09: ‘Settled’ Science and Unsettled Children
11/30/09: American Sharia Law
11/23/09:The Trial (Travesty) of the Century
11/04/09: American Vampires and Their Political Enablers
11/01/09: ‘Opting Out’ of Insanity?
10/28/09: Cell Phones Cause Brain Cancer. Brain Required
10/26/09: Communism: Nazism With Better PR
10/21/09: Just Asking
10/16/09: Cost Projections vs. Actual Costs, or Hope and Change vs. Reality
10/14/09: News you can use …
10/07/09: Incremental Insidiousness
10/05/09: MIA: Common Sense and Common Decency
09/30/09: Iran: Bad Options and Unpreparedness
09/21/09: Crying Racism: the Last Refuge of Scoundrels
09/11/09: 9/11 Cannot Be Sanitized
09/08/09: ‘Truthers’ and Consequences
09/01/09: A ‘Paper Trail’ Challenge for the Mainstream Media
08/31/09: Drowning in Amorality
08/26/09: The Republican Recovery Program

© 2010, Arnold Ahlert

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles