Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 30, 2008 / 27 Sivan 5768

How to fill a lecture hall, and how to empty it

By Paul Johnson


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I recently gave a lecture, on quite a solemn subject, the connection between freedom and the ownership of property, to about 200 people, and was gratified — and surprised — at how well it was received. I think it was because I followed my own maxim, and spoke for only 25 minutes, leaving the rest of the hour for questions. It is a fact of life that any discourse, on any subject, whatever the occasion and whatever the status of the speaker, will always please if it is five minutes shorter than people expect. That is one reason why Lincoln's Gettysburg address became so famous.


Of course what made it so unusual was that in the Victorian period orations of all kinds were expected to be long. Gladstone, on one of his Midlothian campaigns, was told by a working man that no sermon could properly be less than an hour in length, as it took at least that time to explain any important theological point. He bore this in mind, and not long afterwards, when addressing the Cabinet on the subject of his proposed Home Rule bill, his exposition lasted a full three hours, and was listened to 'in perfect silence'. Of course, holding forth in the Cabinet Room required no great verbal force. But Gladstone often spoke for well over an hour in public, to audiences of 10,000 or more. How did he make himself heard? How did his vocal chords stand it? In the Middle Ages, Muslim clergy, sermonising to vast congregations in the open, were accompanied by a tall, barrel-chested figure with a powerful voice, who repeated fortissimo each phrase as uttered. This man was known as a Loud Speaker. The phrase has persisted into the electronic age. Odd to think that the diabolically amplified caterwauling issuing from pop festivals, which keeps awake decent people within a ten-mile radius, should have its verbal origins in ancient Islam.


Before microphones came along, public speakers had to take lessons in projecting their voices. In France, the voice coaches employed at the Salle Garnier, the big opera house in Paris, also took on pupils from the Chambre de Députés. Clémenceau had lessons. So did Poincaré. When I lived in Paris, Edouard Herriot was sometimes pointed out to me as the last politician who had taken trouble to 'speak properly'. Successful speakers were referred to as 'un ténor'. In England the last public figure to benefit from speech training was Oswald Mosley, as those who heard him speak in Trafalgar Square will remember. Mosley also used the formal and vigorous repertoire of oratorical gestures, which were still employed up to the second world war, and which were also taught. Natural speakers like Lloyd George and Aneurin Bevan did not need elocution training because they inherited the Celtic hywl and body movements of the Welsh tradition.


I have been reading about the famous address which Thomas Carlyle gave to the students of Edinburgh University, on 2 April 1866, after they elected him their rector. He was already 70, and had not spoken in public since his series on Heroes in 1840. He tried to wriggle out of giving a lecture but they would not have it. Worrying about it made him ill, and his wife Jane worried still more — it is believed to have hastened her death, which occurred the same year. In the end Carlyle decided against a written text, and just before getting to his feet he threw away his notes too, and spoke extemporarily. This was an amazing thing for someone of his age and nervous temperament, for there must have been thousands present, and delivery cannot have taken less than an hour. But when he sat down the mighty audience rose to their feet and cheered, and the organisers were able immediately to send to Jane Carlyle, cowering in London and waiting anxiously for the outcome, a cable which read 'A perfect triumph'. The students followed Carlyle back to his lodgings and stood outside huzzahing until he told them to go, as he wanted to sleep. There is a superb drawing of Carlyle speaking at this event, done on the spot by one of those skilled instant-action artists in which Victorian journalism abounded. It shows the great man radiating wisdom and benevolence.


There ought to be an anthology of notable rectorial addresses. It would certainly include the notorious speech Lord Birkenhead made in November 1923 when he was installed as rector of Glasgow University. I say notorious because his subject was 'Idealism in International Politics', but his message was one of realism. The League of Nations, he said, would fail, along with all other idealistic schemes not rooted in historical experience. And he reminded his young audience that the world was still rich in 'glittering prizes' which would go to those who had 'sharp swords' and the will to secure them. Right-thinking people, especially the clergy, were deeply shocked by what they called Birkenhead's cynicism. But the students loved it. And why not? The world is a horrible place — then, and still more now — and why should not the young be encouraged to seek such glittering prizes as are still on offer?


Speaking to students can be a risky business, and they are far more likely to make any objections to what you say plain and vocal than an audience, say, of rich businessmen, army officers, advertising types, politicians and bureaucrats, or the general public. I have lectured all over the world since the 1960s, on more occasions than I care to recall, and I must have given a talk to students in at least 50 universities, chiefly in the United States. I love American audiences. They are often ignorant, especially first-year students, but they listen hard, are appreciative, often enthusiastic, and ask intelligent and thoughtful questions. They are always anxious to learn. There is none of that cynicism and contempt for sincerity, so common over here, radiating from Oxford and Cambridge, where it is encouraged by embittered dons who believe they are insufficiently rewarded for their brains and academic status — as if the mere ability to pass exams and write turgid articles to specialist journals is the only true test of a person's worth. But I must not go on about this point. I am holding my fire for a great blast about Oxford, and the way it is run, or not run.


Panjandrums like Thackeray also got to enjoy lecturing to Americans, even if they had not read his books, or were not entirely sure why they were coming to hear him speak. He delighted to recall an incident in a Midwest hotel when, lounging in a deep armchair, he overheard two waiters talking. 'Say, do you know who we have staying here? The great Thacker!' 'You don't say so! And what does he do?' 'Damned if ah know.' Dickens loved Americans, too, once he got used to them as an unknown race. He said that, in a sleeping-car train, he once apologised for his ignorance, saying: 'You see, I am a stranger here.' The steward replied: 'Mister, in this country we are all strangers.'


The best lecturers I have ever heard were, in order, Kenneth Clark and C.S. Lewis. Clark I heard give two courses, one on the painter he called 'Rumbrunt', the other on 'Tintorette'. Both were perfection. Lewis was close to that, and could fill the hall at Magdalen to overflowing, the girls squatting at his feet and showing flashes of nylon-tops. A.J.P. Taylor could fill the same arena but he attracted mainly men, so that the dimension of potential pick-ups, which was such a feature of Lewis's performances, was lacking. By contrast, old Tolkein was a poor lecturer, dull and hard to hear, keeping his head down, nose to text. He was almost as bad as Jean-Paul Sartre, towards the end, the worst lecturer I ever heard, becoming almost inaudible, head sinking, and interminable so that the room gradually emptied. Hope that never happens to me.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


BUY THE BOOK

Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).

Eminent British historian and author Paul Johnson's latest book is "American Presidents Eminent Lives Boxed Set: George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Ulysses S. Grant". Comment by clicking here.



Previously:

06/23/08:Americans should count their blessings
05/20/08: Pajamas for Presidents
05/13/08: Literary woodlice boring needless holes in biographical bedposts
04/01/08: When markets come crashing down, send for the man with the big red nose
04/01/08: Quality for dinner. Pass the Fairy Liquid, Old Boy
03/25/08: In search of an American President with brains and guts
03/18/08: Technological warfare against mice won't work. Try cats
03/11/08: What is a genius? We use the word frequently but surely, to guard its meaning, we should bestow it seldom
03/03/08: Fiction as a crutch to get one through life
02/26/08: Impatience + Greed = Trouble
02/13/08: Shakespeare, Neo-Platonism and Princess Diana
02/07/08: Where Industry Has Failed Us
12/19/07: People who put their trust in human power delude themselves
12/12/07: What is aggression?
12/04/07: Pursuing success is not enough
11/07/07: Are famous writers accident-prone?
10/31/07: Courage needed to disarm Iran
09/20/07: Who Will Say ‘I Promise to Lay Off’?
07/24/07: Greed is safer than power-seeking
04/02/07: Benefactors must be hardheaded
03/07/07: American idealism and realpolitik
11/28/06: Space: Our ticket to survival
10/24/06: Envy is bad economics
10/11/06: Better to Borrow or Lend? Rethinking conventional wisdom
08/22/06: Don't practice legal terrorism
08/08/06: A summer rhapsody for a pedal-bike
08/03/06: Why is there no workable philosophy of music?
07/11/06: Historically speaking, energy crisis is America's opportunity
07/06/06: The misleading dimensions of persons and lives
06/06/06: First editions are not gold
05/23/06: A downright ugly man need never despair of attracting women, even pretty ones
04/25/06: Was Washington right about political parties?
04/12/06: Let's Have More Babies!
04/05/06: For the love of trains
03/29/06: Lincoln and the Compensation Culture
03/22/06: Bottle-beauties and the globalised blond beast
03/15/06: Europe's utopian hangover
03/08/06: Kindly write on only one side of the paper
02/28/06: Creators versus critics
02/21/06: The Rhino Principle

© 2006, Paul Johnson

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles