Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 22, 2007 / 6 Tamuz, 5767

Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!

By Barry Koltnow


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I am in the middle of Walter Isaacson's new Albert Einstein biography, and I believe that reading the book is starting to have an effect on me.

I am feeling especially smart this morning.

One might assume that I should feel especially dumb this morning when comparing my own cerebral shortcomings with such a genius. But I am not smart enough to feel dumb.

However, I am smart enough to figure out what's wrong with Hollywood.

I'm not talking about the Hollywood that makes movies. Those are responsible people, for the most part, who work hard for their money. No, I am referring to the Hollywood that is all about celebrity.

In the wake of everything that has happened recently with Britney Spears, Paris Hilton, Lindsay Lohan and Nicole Richie, is there anyone left on the planet who doesn't think that something is terribly wrong with this Hollywood?

A dangerous cult of celebrity has been created in our society, and it must be destroyed before someone important gets hurt.

OK, that may sound a little dramatic, but I told you that I'm not very smart normally. I'm just having a smart day.

In this state of heightened awareness, I can see clearly that the youth-oriented culture that engulfs us has gone amok. Something must be done immediately, and I know just who must do it.

Baby boomers need to seize control of the culture

I'm not even sure why we gave it up in the first place. Don't we outnumber these slackers?

What happened is that we voluntarily ceded control because we bought into the hype that we invented. We were so busy trying to get rich off this younger generation that we started to believe our own slogans. Youth need not be served.

The truth is that the younger generation desperately needs our leadership and guidance.

Without our help, they will continue to worship people like Paris Hilton. They will continue to wear baseball caps crooked. They will continue to turn up their sound systems at red lights to a decibel level that would embarrass Blue Cheer.

It's like Einstein is in the room, isn't it?

The first thing boomers need to do is wrest control of the celebrity-based media from the slackers we put in charge. We own these newspapers and magazines. We own the companies that fill nightly television with entertainment news programs that feed the celebrity machine.

Since we already own these companies, we need to issue an order to stop firing boomers and start sending slackers packing. OK, I know the bottom-line accountants are going to weigh in on this one. They're going to explain that boomers are too costly in salaries and benefits.

Did you think that a person channeling Albert Einstein didn't think of that?

For every boomer you were going to fire, get rid of two slackers. That should take care of the budget, and fewer families will be devastated. The slackers will be fine. They're young and healthy, and a new McDonald's opens every day.

Once we have filled all the important editor slots with boomers, a new emphasis can be placed on significant people. A person will not be considered a celebrity until he or she actually accomplishes something.

No longer will the size of your trust fund qualify you for automatic membership in the exclusive celebrity club. To whom you are romantically linked will not mean anything, unless you and your significant other are both successful in your respective fields. And scrapes with the law will not guarantee you anything. The crime has to fit the celebrity status.

We will create a new standard of beauty, and age will not be a factor.

The media is very important in any society because communication is very important in any society. But the media can't do this alone.

You baby boomers must take action, and it will take a herculean effort. But there are enough of you to get the job done.

What can you do? It's all about purchasing power.

You need to go the movie theaters more often. Until adult-oriented movies with plots start making $200 million on a regular basis, boomers will have no power at the box office.

You need to buy more DVDs, CDs, clothes, cell phones and iPods. The companies that make these products are going to favor the consumers who are making most of the purchases.

I know this all sounds a little intimidating. You're probably thinking that you don't have the kind of disposable income to make all these purchases. Well, think again. It's your money your kids are spending. Don't give them any. Spend it on yourself. And the older ones who have their own money won't be much of a threat after you've fired them.

This is a clear call to arms: "Crush the youth culture and save the world."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2007, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles