Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 25, 2007 / 9 Tamuz, 5767

Clear and present danger, fresh from grandma's oven

By Mitch Albom


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Soldiers face the worst kind of dangers. Gunfire. Explosives. Missiles. Bombs. But who knew their biggest worry might be a chocolate chip cookie?


That's the ridiculous message being sent to a group called the Maine Troop Greeters, which provides applause, hugs, smiles — along with cookies, cakes and fudge — for troops coming back from war through the Bangor International Airport.


Not anymore.


Too dangerous, the greeters were told.


"We have people who bake things at home, and that is very hard to regulate," the airport's assistant director, Tony Caruso, told the Bangor Daily news last week.


And so a food tradition that has been going on for years — the group was formed in 1991 and, according to reports, has welcomed nearly half a million troops since 2003 — must come to an end.


Because you never know what Granny might be putting in that fudge.


And you wonder why this country is so screwed up.


For the love of profits?
Near as I can tell, no soldier ever went down due to the macadamia nut cookies served by the Maine Troop Greeters. There was no lawsuit from a GI writhing in pain in some hospital bed, moaning, "It was the cake, it was the cake!"


Quite the contrary. According to everything you read — and I have been to the Bangor airport and can attest to the friendliness of the people there — these volunteers are doing the very thing that so many of us don't do, and the very thing our troops need the most: putting their cookies where their mouths are.


Instead of telling each other, "Of course, I support the troops" (even if you don't support the war), these folks in Maine are showing it. After a long stint in Iraq or Afghanistan, the sight of your countrymen clapping as you walk through the gate, offering hugs, yelling thanks and, yes, providing you some good old-fashioned American sweets is precisely what soldiers need, and precisely the kind of thing more of us should be doing for them.


Just ask anyone who came home from Vietnam. That greeting — or lack of greeting — stayed with many soldiers as long as the memories of the war.


But the Bangor airport management, apparently, isn't interested in that. It has rules to follow. Or else, as some reports have suggested, it is caving in to complaints from the airport vendors, who see their food business being usurped by the free doughnuts or fudge.


Wouldn't that be typical? Let's not have any acts of kindness if they cut into somebody's profit.


A risk we all can take?
As a veteran of many airports, I, personally, would be more worried about some of the food I buy from the vendors than I would be eating home-baked cookies from a caring volunteer.


I also wonder when everything became so dangerous. Caruso told the New York Times, "When certain foods are not properly handled, there's potential for food borne illness, and that's something we want to try to avoid."


I don't know. Seems to me we all grew up taking cookies from our neighbors, digging into each others' brown bag school lunches, chomping on Halloween treats, grabbing refreshments from open plates at PTA meetings or church gatherings or office get-togethers. I'm yet to know anyone who croaked from that.


But I do know a malaise when I see one. And there is a malaise over this war, and people are at each other's throat, and about the only thing everyone can agree on is that those who serve and fight and suffer should be embraced for their sacrifice.


So if a group of volunteers wants to do that, we could bend the rules, tell the vendors to care less about their profits, and live with the risk that a peanut-butter brownie poses, couldn't we?


I mean, I've heard of dumb bureaucracy before, but this takes the cake. And the cookie.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"For One More Day"  

"For One More Day" is the story of a mother and a son, and a relationship that covers a lifetime and beyond. It explores the question: What would you do if you could spend one more day with a lost loved one? Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2007, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles