\ Tom Purcell

Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 12, 2005 / 5 Sivan, 5765

Summer Lost

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It's only June and summer is lost.

At least for most kids these days, whose structured summer activities are making them as stressed out as their parents.

Childhood was better when I grew up in the Pittsburgh suburbs in the 1960's and 1970's. Adults were always present — most moms were home — and so long as they knew where we were going, we were free to roam.

We'd go on bike hikes deep into the hills, visiting the game preserve to feed the buffalo and other animals. Or we'd find the steepest hill and race to the bottom.

Some days we'd play baseball from dawn until dinner. Or we'd go down to the creek and build a dam out of rocks, then catch frogs, crayfish and minnows.

One of my favorite activities was building shacks and forts. With all the new houses going up nearby, we were able to scarf some scrap wood and use our imagination to design and build our own little dream homes.

Or we'd dabble in a little mischief. It was a primitive hunting instinct that led us to whip rotten pears at moving cars, and we knew the consequences if we got caught (though I never did).

The only real rules for kids then were, 1) that we were given lots of trust until we did something that caused our parents to question it, 2) that we be home for dinner. I still hear my father's booming voice ricocheting off the hills, "Tom, dinner! Tom, dinner!" Some families used bells or horns to call their kids home.

And summer dinners were grand. The Big Guy would grill up chicken or pork chops, while my sisters and I brought the salad, vegetables and potato salad out from the kitchen. My mother made sun tea most days and after several hours exploring the woods it always hit the spot.

After dinner, we'd listen to Bob Prince announce the Pirates' games — "You can kiss it goodbye!" he'd say when "Wilver" Stargell smacked one into the upper decks. And after cleaning up, we'd head on up to the woods. We'd play the games we invented until darkness settled over the hills.

But such free-roaming playfulness is gone for kids — gone now that their parents have stolen summer.

Today, kids' summer schedules are planned out in more detail than a corporate CEO's. Kids are required to improve their aptitude for reading, math and computers. If they do play sports, they play carefully designed games intended to improve motor skills.

"Too many parents are building resumes for their kids rather than allowing them to play freely," says Carleton Kendrick, a Harvard-educated psychotherapist and co-author of Take Out Your Nose Ring, Honey, We're Going to Grandma's. "But a child's work IS play."


BUY THE BOOK
Does this book sound intriguing?

Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).

For the last 20 years, he's seen kids growing ever more stressed as the carefree laughter of backyards and swimming holes have been replaced with goal-oriented, adult-managed activities.

"Too many parents believe that unstructured, unsupervised time is the equivalent of wasted time, and a reflection of poor parenting, but they got it backwards."

Kendrick points to recent scientific research that shows self-initiated, unstructured creative play is the single most important activity that young children can engage in to develop at all developmental levels, including neurological and cognitive growth.

"Kids whose lives are so tightly structured and scheduled are not learning how to feel comfortable on their own, alone with their imagination, free to pursue their natural curiosities and sense of wonder," he says. "They're losing their ability to become resourceful, self-reliant and resilient."

Donate to JWR


I couldn't agree more.

Because while kids today use the few spare moments they do have to stoke their adrenaline by playing video games inside air-conditioned basements, we knew what real adrenaline really was.

Until you have an irate driver, whose car you just pelted with rotten pears, chase you into a dark creek aqueduct under the neighborhood, you have no idea what adrenaline really is, let alone resourcefulness, self-reliance and resilience.

As I said, summers were better when I was a kid.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2005, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles