Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 22, 2005 / 15 Sivan, 5765

There's only one reason why we should remain in Iraq

By Ed Koch


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The tide of public feeling against the war in Iraq is rising as casualties increase. On June 16, The New York Times reported, "In a recent Gallup poll, 6 in 10 Americans who responded said the United States should withdraw all or some of its troops from Iraq." In May of this year, 80 soldiers have been killed and 551 injured. Since the first day of the war in March 2003, 1,719 military personnel have died and 12,896 have been injured.

Just as members of Congress did during the latter years of the Vietnam War, they are now forming small caucuses advocating different approaches to expedite the withdrawal of American troops from Iraq. The Judiciary Committee reported out a bill to the floor of the House of Representatives which includes an amendment proposed by Congressman Joe Crowley of Queens, New York, who is on the committee. While not fixing a withdrawal date, he requested that the Bush administration devise an exit strategy. An administration spokesperson responded with the now standard response that "the best way to honor the service and sacrifice of our men and women in uniform is to complete the mission."

Other congressmen have proposed that President Bush announce by the end of 2005 a plan for withdrawal from Iraq that would begin by October 1, 2006. Included in that group are Walter Jones (R-NC), Ron Paul (R-TX), Neil Abercrombie (D-HI), and former democratic presidential candidate, Dennis Kucinich (D-Ohio).

A generation ago, I was a congressman during the Vietnam War which I opposed. I introduced a resolution stating that whether members of congress were for or against that war, we acknowledge the war could not be won and that we should bring home our troops to reduce American casualties. That resolution was never voted on. Ultimately President Nixon ended the war in 1975 in a way that will forever be remembered as a defeat for the U.S. and a victory for North Vietnam. All will recall the images of the helicopters taking off from the embassy roof fleeing Saigon (now Ho Chi Minh City).

I believe the time has come for the U.S. to declare victory in Iraq and to exit honorably, having achieved our original goals. We have defeated Saddam Hussein on the battlefield, ending his ability to wage war against his neighbors or against the U.S., either by the use of conventional weapons or weapons of mass destruction.

We also have facilitated the establishment of an interim Iraqi government recognized by the United Nations. That reconstituted government recently held a hotly-contested, democratically-conducted election which produced an independent government that has the power to direct U.S. forces to leave. Instead, it asked the U.S. to stay and use its military personnel against the insurrection and terrorism.

The vast majority of U.N. member states continue to refuse to dedicate troops to assist the new Iraqi government and the U.S. in their efforts to defeat the insurgents and terrorists. The troops raised by the democratically elected Iraqi government currently number 165,000, while the insurgents and terrorists are thought to number between 12,000 and 20,000. When Saddam Hussein was in power, his army numbered over one million.

Foreign soldiers and terrorists, many from Saudi Arabia, have used the Syrian border as an entry point into Iraq. Present military efforts to stop them, using the combined forces of the Iraqi and American military units, have been described by U.S. forces as successful to date. However, American military observers have noted that while the Iraqi and American forces are able to take and hold areas at the Syrian border and elsewhere in Iraq, when they leave to quell the violence in other cities, insufficient forces remain to maintain control of the recently-pacified areas.

Donate to JWR


The United Nations has authorized American military personnel to remain in Iraq until August 2005, with the expectation that such authorization will be extended. However, the U.N. has not authorized or directed member states to assist the U.S. and Great Britain with military personnel in Iraq itself. This is unacceptable. We should have the assistance of other U.N. members like Germany, France, et. al.

Having accomplished our original goals, we should advise the U.N. and Iraq that we will begin withdrawing our troops in August 2005 and will be out of the country by the end of this year. We should also advise the U.N. that we are prepared to stay in Iraq, provided the Security Council creates a U.N. security force comprised of troops on a proportionate basis from every member of the U.N. Security Council to support the Iraqi Army with boots on the ground beginning in August 2005. It should further direct that U.N. member states will proportionately provide the Iraqi government with monies needed to rebuild the country.

In addition, Iraq's neighbors should also be required to provide troops and funds, whether or not they are members of the Security Council. The New York Times reported on June 19 that "The leading countries of origin (of the foreign fighters) are Saudi Arabia, Syria, Egypt, Jordan and Sudan." Those countries have a stake in a peaceful resolution of the conflict over rebuilding Iraq and supporting its newly elected government.

The American people have been willing to bear their share of blood and money to fight international terrorism in Iraq and elsewhere. Our casualties to date establish our bona fides. However, the American public is not willing to continue that ongoing battle and suffer ever mounting casualties without the aid of those who have also received the benefit of our actions. I support the war in Iraq and the larger war against the Jihadists who use terrorism around the world to achieve their goals. But I do not believe that we should remain in Iraq unless others who have a responsibility to do so step up and contribute their fair share to the war effort.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Edward I. Koch, the former mayor of New York, can be heard on Bloomberg Radio (WBBR 1130 AM) every Sunday from 9-10 am . Comment by clicking here.

Archives


© 2005, Ed Koch

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles