Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 21, 2005 / 14 Sivan, 5765

Zarqawi blues

By Jay D. Homnick


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | A physicist in Chicago for a convention ran into Albert Einstein walking the streets lost in thought, wearing a sweater with frayed elbows. After greeting him, he suggested that perhaps it was beneath the great scientist's dignity to be seen in such a threadbare sweater.

"Don't worry," answered Einstein. "Nobody knows me around here."

Some years later the same physicist was visiting at Princeton University, where Einstein held a chair in physics. Sure enough, he ran into the great man again, pacing thoughtful laps around the campus, wearing that very same sweater, now much the worse for wear. Once again, he upbraided Einstein for allowing himself to be seen in such shabby attire.

"Don't worry," said Einstein. "Everybody knows me around here."

Those of us who are birds of a right-wing feather tend to protect our nest against marauders by leaping to defend the President's Iraq policy at every turn. We are fearful that if we let our guard down for a moment, swarms of Liberal vultures will be pecking at our babies. But just for today, let's speak among ourselves, where everybody knows each other. Nobody here but us Republicans. Now is our time to vent. And let me just say this: how in the world is this guy Zarqawi still at large?

Let's go back and review a bit of history. In the run-up to the Iraq war, a key moment was then-Secretary of State Colin Powell's presentation to the United Nations. Besides for the WMD projections, which have since been discredited, he made the key point that Al Qaida had an important man in Iraq, namely Zarqawi. In fact, when anti-war provocateurs try to hammer home the point that there was no established link between Saddam Hussein and Osama Bin-Laden, they are deliberately being disingenuous and circumnavigating this point. There was an active Al Qaida contingent operating from inside Iraq; certainly no serious person can dispute that now.

The problem for honest folks is the exact opposite one. Certainly Al Qaida was busy in Iraq under Hussein's regime, in the person of Zarqawi. The problem is: how on G-d's green earth is this same murderer still doing business at the same old stand more than three years later, with a seemingly endless flow of men and arms, despite the fact that we have been smothering that country with our military for all this time? Powell is gone but Zarqawi is thriving. Isn't this an embarrassing failure for us as a nation and our armed forces as an institution?

Those who relish heckling the Administration point to Osama Bin Laden's evasion of our dragnet as a sign of our ineptitude. That criticism is less than convincing when one considers that he could be anywhere in the world.

Furthermore, it seems fairly clear that he no longer enjoys full command of a worldwide network. His most recent contributions to the titanic clash between civilizations have been in the field of political advertisement, with his last-minute video blitz for Kerry succeeding only in making the red states see red. The result: the blue states were blue and Bin Laden fired his cinematographer.

Donate to JWR


By depriving Bin Laden of Afghanistan as a functional base of operations, and cutting off many of his banking tentacles, we have succeeded in shrinking his power and prestige. He is still a prize fugitive, and no self-respecting Post Office should be without his picture, but our pursuit is more in the nature of a criminal manhunt than a military operation. But here is the crowning irony: right now Zarqawi has become the face of the new Al Qaida.

Here is the synopsis. WMD fears were overblown. The primary national-security basis (not to diminish the humanitarian and the democracy-building motives) for invading Iraq was Zarqawi. He has not shrunk from the confrontation. No slinking off into hiding for him. He is right there right now, still fighting back. And quite successfully. He has men, he has good tactical planning, and hardly a day goes by without one of his attacks drawing real blood. If the war was about him, then this much must be conceded: this war has never been won.

What exactly is the answer? We can't sit here and design precise military strategies for isolating a single individual's headquarters in an occupied country. But someone had better do it, and do it soon. This situation is intolerable; quite frankly, it's humiliating. The longer this guy can not only survive but actively lead a punishing insurgency, the greater a hero he becomes in the Islamic world. If we are not ruthless they will see us as toothless; that in turn can cause untold bloodshed.

The time is now. Whatever it takes.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Jay D. Homnick is the author of many books and essays on Jewish political and religious affairs. Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2005, Jay D. Homnick

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles