Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 23, 2014 / 23 Iyar, 5774

Give me some sugar, Honey

By Celia Rivenbark

Celia Rivenbark




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) I don't normally get around to reading my scientific journals until much later in the week…OK, never, but I did happen to read about new findings that low blood sugar can make husbands and wives behave aggressively toward one another.

According to the study which was published in a journal I can't even pronounce so I will simply call "The Journal of the Most Obvious Stuff in the Universe" it finds that when women are hungry, they are more likely to stick voodoo pins into a doll representing their husbands.

Naturally, when I read that, I thought they were speaking metaphorically. But, no! Turns out the science community actually gave 107 married couples voodoo dolls and 51 pins each with instructions to stick a pin in the doll representing their spouse whenever they felt a, ha-ha, stab of hostility toward them.

It should be noted that some participants didn't use a single pin, even when blood sugar levels were low. These were, I'm guessing, Southern Baptist wives who think putting pins in voodoo dolls seems like it might be kinda Satanic, a sin on a scale of "definitely worse than dancing" but "not quite as bad as watching "Naked and Afraid" even though it is on the Discovery Channel which is quasi-educational."

Scarier to me were the few participants who used all 51 pins when their blood sugar dipped and, I'm guessing here, offered to buy pins off the others so they could "finish what I've started."

As part of a longstanding and deeply held conviction about this column, I do not want to bore you with facts. But you should know that if you don't eat when you need to, your glucose levels will crash and this can lead to diminished self-control, which can lead to anger and a marked uptick in hateful behavior.

I believe we can all agree that the "take away" from this study that probably cost many thousands of dollars is, if you're hungry, you should probably eat something. Thank you science!

Of course there was more to the study than voodoo dolls. At the end of three weeks, participants were told they were going to play a game that let you torment your spouse via headphone noises (dentist's drill, nails on chalkboard, anything by the Black Eyed Peas…) based on how angry you were feeling toward them. Again, low blood sugar had spouses turning the volume on high. (Don't worry; they weren't really hooked up.)

This led scientists to decide that, and I am not making this up: "Food curbs aggression and this could be useful in prisons, psychiatric hospitals or schools." Since all three of those institutions are, apparently, equal.

Next time a fight breaks out in Cell Block 3 or ninth-grade gym class, just slingshot in some yeast rolls and all will be well.

Stay tuned next week when the science community discovers that wives hate it when their husbands drink milk directly from the carton.


Archives .

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


© 2014, The Sun News Distributed by Knight Ridder/Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles