Yiddishe Kups

Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Not just Mom: Keeping your own identity

By Amy Peterson


CREDIT: Shutterstock



Have you forgotten you have a name other than "Mom?" If you can't remember what your hobbies are or what it's like to go to the bathroom by yourself, it's time to reclaim your identity


JewishWorldReview.com | Go any place where children congregate, and you hear "Mom" being called from every direction. It's great to be a mother, but behind every wonderful mother is a woman with her own identity. If you're feeling like that woman has been lost, these 8 ideas will help you find yourself again, leaving you with more emotional energy to devote to your family.


1. Schedule alone time. All moms are busy. If you want to have time to yourself, you'll have to schedule it into your life. My friend sets aside time for naps, for a bowl of gourmet popcorn and internet surfing. I wake up early to exercise by myself, enjoying morning outdoor runs most of all. Find some time each day or week to be by yourself, even if it’s just a few minutes.


2. Listen to the positive voice in your head. Don't let stretch marks, dirty kids or unfolded laundry get you down. Keep positive by reminding yourself of the things you are good at, like keeping in touch with friends or home decorating. Accept compliments from others and help your spouse know how to love and support you.


3. Choose kid-free hobbies. If your pastimes include stacking blocks, reading board books and pureeing baby food, you need some new hobbies. My self-esteem improves when I do things that challenge me and help me develop my talents. I like to sew, make jewelry and work on home-improvement projects. Although I can do these things with my children, choosing to do them alone or with friends allows me to feel independent. Find a hobby that's just for you.


4. Have friends who use your first name. I don't mind at all when my kids call me by my first name, because it is rarely used. Hearing my own name reminds me I'm more than "Mom." When I introduce myself at school meetings or church activities, I'm glad to be just "Amy." Your name is an important part of your identity. Try to be with people who know you as someone other than “Mom.”


5. Keep your own style. You don't have to lose your sense of style when you become a mother. If you like designer jeans, wear them on nights out or days you won't be helping to make mud pies. I have a daughter who is old enough to borrow my clothes. I share some, but not all. Having personal style will give you confidence and strengthen your identity as an individual.


6. Learn new things. It takes smarts to be a good parent, but at times the daily drudge of housework makes me feel more like a maid and less like a mother. Continuing to learn new things is my solution for this problem. I am working on learning Spanish and to play the ukulele. If you don't have time for lessons, try cooking a new recipe, making something for your home or doing your hair a new way. Saying "I did it!" builds confidence in adults as well as kids.


7. Accept compliments. When people compliment you on the things you do well, or even on your well-behaved children, accept their praise gracefully. You are capable of doing great things. Recognize that in yourself, and be happy when others recognize it in you.


8. Live with confidence. It's normal to feel lost at times. I have often felt like my identity gets muted as I help my children develop their personalities and talents. Feeling confident in my abilities as a wife, mother and woman helps me to feel more connected to my own personal worth. I am fortunate to have a good support system in my husband and friends, but I have to love and believe in myself. You are a woman with her own ideas, ambitions and identity. Don't let your role as mother take over every aspect of your life. Your family will be stronger as you take time to develop yourself.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Amy M. Peterson currently lives in Oregon with her husband and four children.









© 2014, FamilyShare

Quantcast