Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 19, 2014 / 19 Iyar, 5774

Twitter gets a hero

By Kathryn Lopez




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "Dad loves #scifi because it's such a great way to explore the things that matter most."

"Themes of #hope, #courage, good conquering evil -- why dad loves #comics."

These are some of the tweets involving some well-known Hollywood names and faces on Twitter lately. In a forum not always known for bringing people together, a young woman has succeeded in a great adventure of celebrating life, even as her beloved father's comes to an end.

Superheroes were the trending theme, and the most powerful of them all is a man named Stratford Caldecott. Since his Marvel comic-collecting boyhood, he's had a lifelong fascination with action heroes. His family was disappointed they never got to take him to see the latest Captain America movie, "Winter Soldier," not yet released in England.

"He is in so much pain in his lower back that sitting for any length of time is now impossible," his wife, Leonie, tells me. Leonie shares: "So my lovely journalist daughter said, 'Why don't I ask Marvel if we could borrow an advance copy of the movie ... and while I'm at it, why don't I ask if some of the actors could send a selfie to cheer him up, too?'"

Sophie Caldecott aimed high. Knowing what a superhero fan her dad is and how it would both cheer him up and also bring people together -- and hoping to encourage men to go see a doctor (had her father found out about his cancer sooner, he might be with us longer). "We're also going to tweet the 'Avengers' actors and see if they will take a picture of themselves holding a sign saying 'Captain America/Thor/Iron Man/(insert name of character here) for Strat!'"

And with a daughter's love for her father and a little creativity, the hashtag #CapForStrat was born. Actors who have recently played superheroes and villains caught wind of it and got in on the action, starting with the Hulk himself, Mark Ruffalo. Captain America (actor Chris Evans), Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson) and many more have joined in, including fans.



"We had no idea it would gather speed in this way," Leonie says. "Strat has been overwhelmed by it all; he has been smiling for the first time in weeks. But he wants to make sure that it's more about getting men to be aware of the early symptoms of prostate cancer, rather than about him. He is in the situation he is in now because he was diagnosed too late."

"The kindness of those who responded, starting with Mark Ruffalo," she reflects, "has in a strange way made our family feel our situation has a broader meaning and purpose, which is strangely comforting. It is true that love overcomes all: Sophie's love for her dad has called out a much wider love and concern even from total strangers, which in turn is giving us all courage."

"Dad is about to face the biggest challenge of his life," Sophie wrote in launching the campaign. "Death is the greatest, most frightening adventure of them all. He is one of the good guys, worthy of superhero status himself. As Agent Coulson would say, it's time to call for back up -- let's give him the send off he deserves."

Sophie has been corralling the super support for her dad as she cares for her own first child, pointing to the cycle of life and love we can lose sight of as we live from day to day, paycheck to paycheck, deadline to deadline.

Writing earlier about her father's illness, she shared:

"After the initial fear and shock, life returned more or less to normal. Today, sometimes I forget that he has cancer, and the only sign that something is attacking the heart of our family is the increased closeness and honesty between us all. The overt affection and support for one another that has always been there is now a constant priority. There is no need for wishing we had done things differently. We are soaking each other up, drinking in smiles and jokes and mundane moments as we always have, pushing against the same darkness that threatens us all."

Politics and bars on Friday nights will always have their share of team rivalries and shouting matches. But if we can remember there are superheroes showing others how to live and die and serve who often don't make the evening news or silver screen, we might find ourselves challenged to be captains of compassion -- even if it means simply supporting those who make sure the dying man feels like a king with a tweet or a check and a vote for religious liberty and the good it is for society -- before our time has passed.

Or, as Sophie put it in a tweet: "Best thing about #CapForStrat? Sharing love & solidarity with total strangers. We're all one family after all, & the stories we tell matter."

Archives

© 2013, Newspaper Enterprise Assn.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast