Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 12, 2014 / 12 Iyar, 5774

Notes on a scandal

By Kathryn Lopez




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | An exhausted Hillary Clinton crying on the New Hampshire primary trail; Bill Clinton's heart attack; Jimmy Carter equating religious persecution with certain church propositions. They're all reminders that politicians are people, too.

With the reappearance of Monica Lewinsky -- the White House intern at the center of President Bill Clinton's impeachment scandal -- on the national stage, one storyline is a review of who did not come to her aid back in the '90s. The "one free grope" pass that leading feminists gave President Clinton when faced with questions of abuse of power and sexual harassment was far from the feminist movement's best moment. But those weren't pretty days, and living through them once was enough. Recycling talking points and rhetoric from two decades ago does little good now -- unless you're a campaign strategist thinking it can help your candidate or hurt another. It also might miss the most important lessons of that shameful moment of contemporary history.

In her recent piece in Vanity Fair, Lewinsky writes about the impact that Tyler Clementi had on her life. Clementi was an 18-year-old Rutgers University freshman who killed himself after video of him kissing another man was made public. The death deeply affected Lewinsky's mother. Lewinsky realized her mother "was reliving 1998, when she wouldn't let me out of her sight. She was replaying those weeks when she stayed by my bed, night after night, because I, too, was suicidal. The shame, the scorn, and the fear that had been thrown at her daughter left her afraid that I would take my own life -- a fear that I would be literally humiliated to death."

Life does go on, though. Humiliation can strengthen us, stripping us of all pretension. Lewinsky writes that in the wake of Clementi's death, her "own suffering took on a different meaning. Perhaps by sharing my story, I reasoned, I might be able to help others in their darkest moments of humiliation."

Today, just about everything is a spectacle to comment on. People are expected to live their lives in public. Abortion is presented as a privacy issue, even as one activist recently posted a video of hers online. The very notions of public and personal lives are shifting dramatically.

But sometimes, now and again, we are reminded that behind the public persona or the online profile, people -- even the president and a former first lady who may become president, too -- are human. We remember that there is more to life than our mistakes, political platforms or campaign success.



Reading Lewinsky's Vanity Fair piece, we are reminded of the humiliation Hillary Clinton suffered, too. Even as political junkies devour the latest news story on the road to 2016, we are reminded that even power couples are dealing with the drama of life and the choices they've made. Mrs. Clinton, confiding to a friend, might have tried to cast her husband in the best possible light, even while furious at him. The first lady of the United States might have gone on TV doing her best stand-by-her-man routine, even while denying doing anything of the sort. None of that changes the fact she's a woman, a wife and a mother having to read about her family's ugly secrets in the newspaper, again and again.

When we fail to see the humanity in everyone, we've lost something of our souls. One is reminded of the Christmas Truce of 1914; even at war, sworn enemies,= on the battlefield can stop and realize that there is something more.

In his new book, "What Works," newspaper columnist Cal Thomas makes a suggestion: "Start introducing yourself to people of political persuasions different from yours." Think about common goals and results, he suggests. In the book, he lays out a whole host of contentious issues and opportunities for working together and opening lines of discussion that emphasize humanity over ideology. All these things are part of the recipe for success.

The next time you see your political enemy stumble, consider it an opportunity. Not to go in for the kill, not for false civility, but for brotherly love. It might just make our politics more merciful, and even, dare we hope, constructive. It may even be the chance that justice needs to soar.

Archives

© 2013, Newspaper Enterprise Assn.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast