Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 26, 2014 / 26 Iyar, 5774

Two potential GOP candidates Democrats should know

By Jack Kelly




JewishWorldReview.com | Liberals don't like black conservatives, but maybe G0D does.

"Ben Carson is warming to the idea of running for president," Fred Barnes of the Weekly Standard wrote after interviewing the famous neurosurgeon.

He'd prefer not to be a candidate himself, Dr. Carson says. But "if I felt called by G0D to officially enter the world of politics, I would certainly not hesitate to do so," he wrote in his book "One Nation," published this week.

Could G0D be calling him through the responses of the audiences to whom he speaks, Dr. Carson wonders.

"Every place I go, it's unbelievable," he told Mr. Barnes. One lady "kept clinging to my hand and said, 'You have to run. You have to run.' So many people tell me that, so I think I'm starting to hear something."

America is lurching into crisis because "G0D, with the big 'G' is being replaced by government with the little 'g,'" former Rep. Allen West, R-Fla, warned in a stemwinder at the Floyd County Republican dinner in Rome, Ga., May 15.

Asked if he would run for president, Mr. West responded:

"It says in Proverbs Ch. 3, verses 5-6: Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.

"I will always be a servant to this great nation, and any way that G0D believes I can serve America, I will. We will see what he has in store for me, because I think he maybe is getting me ready for something else."

Liberals tend to snark when evangelicals talk this way. They shouldn't. If they earnestly seek his counsel, G0D will show them how they are to serve, Dr. Carson and Mr. West sincerely believe.

Evangelicals have from time to time confused something they'd like to do with what G0D wants them to do. And if G0D wants Ben Carson, or Allen West, or both, to run for president, that doesn't mean he expects either to win.

On the other hand, that may be precisely what G0D has in mind.

Either would be a good president, and a good candidate, which is different.

Character is critically important in a president, not so much in candidates.



A man of sterling character, Mitt Romney was a terrible candidate. Bill Clinton was a terrific candidate, but "character" isn't a word we often associate with him.

A pioneering pediatric neurosurgeon who's saved many lives, Dr. Carson has devoted much of his earnings and spare time to giving poor children the skills they need to follow him out of the ghetto onto the path of success.

In Iraq in 2003, Lt. Col. West deliberately sacrificed his career to protect his men.

It's been many a year since we've had men of such character in the White House.

Mr. West served just a single term in Congress. Dr. Carson has never held public office. But politics isn't rocket science, or brain surgery.

His life experience permits Dr. Carson to speak on health care and education reform with authority no career politician can match.

Ditto for Col. West on national security.

Career politicians talk the talk, but few walk the walk. Hillary Clinton's admirers struggle to name a single accomplishment of hers after 20 years of public life.

More doers than talkers, Ben Carson and Allen West are also gifted orators.

Dr. Carson outlines problems and offers solutions with clarity and simplicity, without the anger so prevalent in much of right-wing rhetoric these days.

"As a doctor rather than a politician, I care about what works, not whether someone has an R or a D after his or her name," he says. "We have to come together to solve our problems."

Mr. West's rhetoric tends to be more fiery. But at the Floyd County GOP dinner i—where Dave Weigel of the liberal webzine Slate noted, nervously, dozens of blacks were in attendance — he kept his focus on issues and principles and avoided specific attacks on the president.

In Floyd County, "we look at issues; not race, color, or party any more," the Rev. Harvey Palmer, an Obama voter, told Mr. Weigel.

More than 30 percent of blacks are conservative, but two-thirds of them vote as black liberals do. Dr. Carson and Mr. West offer the best hope of breaking up the monolithic black vote.

And if either were paired with, say, New Mexico Gov. Susannah Martinez or Sens. Marco Rubio of Florida or Ted Cruz of Texas, against a Democratic ticket headed by an old white woman, it would be fun to watch liberal heads explode.

ARCHIVES

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Jack Kelly, a former Marine and Green Beret, was a deputy assistant secretary of the Air Force in the Reagan administration.

© 2014, Jack Kelly

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast