Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 5, 2014 / 5 Iyar, 5774

Rue the day when kids are brought to work

By Reg Henry




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | An influential memory of my childhood was visiting my old dad — a newspaperman, the term before journalism became gentrified — at his office. This was a crowded den of tobacco smoke, clattering typewriters and pneumatic tubes shooting copy to the printers.

It was there that I met my dad's friend Dusty Rhodes, who was called Dusty because in that era it was the compulsory moniker for everybody named Rhodes. His real name was possibly Clarence or George and he probably wore a green eyeshade, because that also was traditional.

To an impressionable young fellow introduced to such a grimy and seedy habitat of colorful characters, the thought inevitably came: "Gee, I'd like to work here. Who wouldn't?" Thus did I eventually become one of the first recorded victims of the concept behind Take Your Child to Work Day, although that didn't yet exist and I visited just briefly.

These memories are prompted by the recent celebration of the official day, which also is known as Take Our Daughters and Sons to Work Day. Other variants exist, such as Take (or Bring) Your Kids to Work Day. As yet, a Park Your Offspring at Work Day is not current, although that might be the most honest.

The day itself began a few years ago as an exclusive activity for daughters on the theory — which I won't dispute — that girls aren't encouraged to consider careers.

But because proper distinctions are increasingly impossible to make in America, a misplaced cry of unfairness went up and boys were added to make the day gender-generic, obscuring its original purpose.

So on the designated Thursday, the girls and boys came in and my employer welcomed them — as it should. While formal activities were minimal, a tour was put on, and for the rest of the time the kids traipsed around in varying degrees of boredom just like regular employees.

The trouble is that newspaper offices are not what they were. They are still dusty, but the romance has gone and it is rare for anybody to be named Dusty. Yes, weird characters still exist — but enough about management.

Still, something unprecedented happened the other day. In my small department, we are older and our children have fled the nest, so we had none to bring in. But a political candidate came for an interview and with him came his campaign manager who brought his 9-year-old son.

That was fine — he was well behaved. But the poor kid was subjected to a discussion of arcane political doings guaranteed to anesthetize anybody. It is a fair bet that kid is not following his father into campaign managing or us into journalism. Instead, he'll join the Foreign Legion or else drive in demolition derbies.

Some of our young visitors had a better experience. I asked a colleague how his two daughters got on and he said they enjoyed the tour and later had fun playing with their iPods. For this they stayed out of school.

Actually, some visiting kids came from schools that were still on vacation, but the thought that others had missed school irritated my inner curmudgeon. "Kids today!" I inwardly ranted. "Back in the day (the Paleolithic Era), we didn't take whole days off school to goof off at our dad's or mom's work! What's next? Take Your Kid's Teacher to Work Day With Your Kid?"

But then I was asked to take a little girl and her mother (one of our reporters) for a tour because they had missed the regular one. Of course, I did, and, of course, the little girl charmed me and banished all bad thoughts.



Not all bad thoughts. If we are going to feature the kids, I think we need to entertain the adults — which is why I propose a Bring Your Mistress to Work Day. Those ladies don't get enough respect and one can't very well bring them home (for the record, I do not have a mistress — for some reason, my wife refuses to process their applications).

I know, I know, women will then demand an equal-time Bring Your Lover to Work Day, and all sorts of cheesy characters will be strutting around the office with open-neck shirts and too much jewelry. Gross!

Indeed gross, but then so is subjecting young children to endless meetings and talk of obscure issues. No, this society needs fewer designated days and more kids going with their mom or dad to work on informal, unscheduled visits — as I once fatefully did. Every dog has his day, but kids need to stay in school.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Reg Henry is a columnist at the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.



Previously:

Weather generates a torrent of talk
Don't nod off --- this is the Winter Olympics

Save us all by shunning your urge to selfie

Let us now commemorate anniversary fatigue

New diet juices juicer sales but is hard to swallow

His philosophy on bar fights? Kant win(s)

Andy Warhol's grave exceeds 15 minutes of fame

All the right stuff? Not when downsizing

It's hard to get behind law on saggy pants

What makes U.S. so unhappy anyway?

Talking points? Raise your voice in protest

Yahoo! I don't have to telecommute

A sequestration only a Sasquatch could love

A quote! My kingdom for a good quote!

Super Bowl leaves dark stain on U.S. image

A confession to sin of shopping omission

Undecided voters are clearly in the wrong

These words can be irritating? Really?

A father's message is something to laugh at

Dear Friends: Facebook is, like, so lame

High Tide: the detergent drug dealers dig

It's funny how scary side effects can be

Must we meet so much? It's transparent

Why America needs a proper curmudgeon

A new grandfather's coming-of-age story

America still shows the power of the individual



© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles