Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 27, 2014 / 27 Iyar, 5774

How about bring back the draft to include women?

By Alicia Colon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Last January 2013, then Defense Secretary, Leon Panetta, ordered the Joint Chiefs of Staff to study the feasibility of opening all military jobs to women by 2016. This would include more than 200,000 jobs that make up the core of the ground-level combat force in the Army and the Marine Corps. Opponents of women in combat argue, rightly in my opinion, that the military's physical standards must not be compromised to expand access because our military's fighting effectiveness is at stake. Hauling 50 pounds of equipment while walking 20 miles is a standard that must not be demoted as it exemplifies routine combat challenges.

Meanwhile, Sage Santangelo, at 5'3", is fighting to become an infantry officer in the Marine Corps. At a petite 5'3'', Santangelo may not look like a combat fighter but the female second lieutenant has never let that hold her back from pursuing her dream of becoming an infantry officer in the Marine Corps so she said in an ABC News interview. I say-"So what?" I wish I was a foot taller so I'd be at my correct weight but that's not going to happen.

I have no objection to women being in combat as long as they are as strong and tough as Gwendoline Christie who plays Brienne of Tarth in The Game of Thrones. I had no objection to any women becoming an NYPD cop or FDNY firefighter as long as they had the stamina and physical strength required of men. What happened, however, thanks to political correctness and multicultural influence, ended up having cops that looked like the Munchkins in the Wizard of Oz; while women who failed the FDNY test were encouraged by Gloria Steinem to protest the testing results. She even suggested that women who couldn't carry victims on their backs be allowed to drag them down the stairs. Unbelievable!

The rank and file servicemen are not that crazy about the idea of women serving with them in combat. They cite studies that suggest they would imperil unit effectiveness, good order and discipline. Not to mention how distracting they would be in a mission that required strict focus and depending on comrades to watch their backs.

I was watching a movie that took place during the Irish rebellion and one IRA recruit was ordered to kill an informer by his superior. He reluctantly did kill him but I really don't think I or many other women have that killer instinct. As much as Steinem and the other hard core feminists think we're just the same as men, I disagree. We are so much more. There's a reason men are born with testosterone and we are born with estrogen. Our hormones are different for a reason and make us who we are. As distasteful as it is for some militant feminists, women's bodies were designed to bear and nurture children which does not mean we are weak. Au contraire, mon ami. Motherhood is the toughest, most underrated job in the world. We shouldn't have to prove our toughness by donning armor and slaying dragons-that's the job for men.

This push to have women in combat is based on an ideological premise of equality; it is not based on merit or common sense. Feminizing the military is a huge mistake that will endanger the lives of soldiers who are already in combat situations and that ignores the physical restraints of women. We are not as physically strong as men. We are not as muscular. That is a given. We may have stamina but what good will that do; carrying tons of hardware in a situation that requires agility and speed? I would also mention our menstrual cycles but that would raise the hackles of those with permanent 'sexist alarm' antennae.

How about bring back the draft to include women? Ha. Like that's going to happen.



So what's behind this maddening push for women in combat? The military is under the command of a Democrat and there hasn't been a good Democrat commander in charge since Harry Truman. I doubt seriously if Truman were alive today he'd still be a member of his party. Zell Miller wrote that the party left him and it probably left many other patriotic Americans. Bill Clinton wrote that he 'loathed the military' and his immediate military cuts as soon as he was in office led to Black Hawk Down in Somalia. Obama is continuing this contempt for the military and the cuts for veteran benefits and his disdain and lack of respect for the military is palpable. If only military veterans who've served this nation deserved half the attention this president gives illegals, oops, I mean the undocumented. Will the current VA scandal create a real problem for his presidency? Doubtful.

The fact is there is evidence that the Benghazi scandal may expose acts of treason but that won't stop his nonstop costly fundraising trips on Air Force One. The only way the Benghazi hearings led by Trey Gowdy will attract the public's attention is if he calls a Kardashian to testify.

Surveys show that the majority of military and the veterans vote Republican and those serving overseas do not even have their votes tallied. The push for women in combat is just another way to diminish one of the greatest, most powerful military forces on this planet but that may be the whole point anyway, right?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Previously:


05/20/14 RNC, you don't know jack
05/13/14 Jimmy Carter Threw the Iranian People Under the Bus: Obama's Doing the Same
05/06/14 What a non-minority won't dare say about racism, bigotry
04/28/14 The Wise Latina? I Think Not
04/08/14 The incredible hypocrisy of 21st Century feminism
03/31/14 Obama's 'children' on a rampage


Up

© 2014, Alicia Colon

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast