Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 13, 2014 / 13 Iyar, 5774

Jimmy Carter Threw the Iranian People Under the Bus: Obama's Doing the Same

By Alicia Colon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Until 2007, I knew very little about Iran except that it was once Persia and that the Muslim leaders had held American citizens hostage in our embassy in 1979.

I was at the New York Sun when I kept getting a call from a mysterious man who insisted on meeting me in person. He told me he was referred by a writer who writes for the New York Times and that he wanted to give me an important story. I checked out the writer who confirmed that she felt the Sun would be a better fit-in other words- this was not something the Times would be interested in but she thought it was worth exploring.

It turns out the gentleman was an Iranian dissident and he wanted me to know what was going on in Iran because no one in the media wanted to publicize it. I do not consider myself then or now an investigative reporter in the international theater and I tried to enlist others more experienced on my paper to handle this but got nowhere. I did manage to meet with him and found his information not only interesting but very relevant to our national security. I ended up writing a column ("The Persian Renaissance") that drew enormous reaction from Iranians both here in America and throughout the world. I also had a heavy helping of hate mail. I wrote;


"There are, in fact, two Irans, and the lesser known one to most Americans is undergoing a renaissance that the ruling Iranian mullahs fear the most. If the Persians are awakened to their identity as children of Cyrus the Great, who wrote mankind's first charter of human rights, these oppressive regimes will topple domino-style. Besides Iran, the Persian heritage is embedded in Iraq and Afghanistan, and were it to be rekindled, a revolution unheard of in scope could occur."


My new friend and former Muslim, whom I will call Babak Iran, told me that Korans are being burned in Iran, and that there is a strong movement toward the philosophy of Zoroastrianism. The difference between 2007 and now is that we have different administrations.

I knew that President Bush read the New York Sun and he also had a cabinet that was experienced and competent. My friend told me that the Iranian people weren't asking for military support but they wanted support that would enable the resistance movement to communicate and organize. I asked him what we should do if Iran developed the nuclear capability.

"That would be a different story," he answered. "Do what needs to be done."

What the Bush administration probably did was connect with the Israelis to develop Stuxnet, a computer virus that halted Iran's progress by infecting the nuclear program setting it back years. It was an ingenious plan and yet liberals still think Pres. Bush stupid.

They still consider President Obama brilliant but when it comes to the Middle East, his policy has been incoherent and just plain dumb or is it something else? Egypt, Syria, and Libya have exploded while militant jihadists in Al Qaeda that Obama said was "decimated" have grown in power (as Romney asserted in debate) and one really has to wonder why.

Iran was one of our allies in World War II and after the war; it was America that delivered aid to the starving nation. Wheat deliveries had a symbol on them showing the Iranian flag (the Derafshe Kaviani) and the American flag. That symbol has been resurrected for this new movement which is gathering an enormous amount of support from around the world. It calls for an alliance between the American people and the Iranian people not their government. They want to be free and it will be necessary for us to show them that we are behind them unlike what happened in 2009 and the failure of the Obama administration.

RECEIVE LIBERTY LOVING COLUMNISTS IN YOUR INBOX … FOR FREE!

Alicia's and many, many more. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.

Babak Iran has signed on and affiliated with icaucus.org to promote what may be an historic and bloodless revolution. I urge everyone to go to the only website about Iran www.iransara.info that has not been taken over by the Mullahs. Please read the icaucus.org/iran statement.

Barack Hussein Obama was elected by a nation still reeling from the attacks by jihadists on 9/11 in spite of the fact that he had a past life in Islam. He lived in Indonesia with a Muslim stepfather and has been photographed wearing Islamic garbs. His chief adviser, Valerie Jarret, whom many claim is the brains behind Obama, was born in Iran and while her connection to Islam is relatively unknown, her close ties to the left wing communist party in Chicago is not. It is Jarrett who supposedly convinced Obama to demand Egypt's Mubarak, a foe of the Brotherhood, to leave office and he has continued making statements that refer to the Mullahs as leaders of Iran.

This has outraged Babak Iran:


"Alicia, Islamic Tazi Mullahs want nothing more than the destruction of Iranian culture. To call the mullahs leaders of Iran is an insult to Iranians and their culture. The term Islamic and republic are not compatible -- for Islam gets its authority from Allah and Sharia law and the republic from the people. To say "Iranian election" like the western media does is an intellectual crime against the Iranian people. The prerequisite of an election is the freedom for people to choose their candidates and not a handful of fascistic Mullahs. Any negotiations with Tazi Mullahs occupying Iran, is an attempt to further defraud the great people of Iran -and the people know it. Obama, should have directed his message to the people rather than legitimizing the Mullahs by calling them leaders."


I had a recent meeting with Babak Iran and learned of the exciting new movement that may require the American people once and for all to demand that our government do the right thing. America needs to undo the damage that President Jimmy Carter did to Iran by ushering in the Ayatollah Khomeini and the Mullahs and removing the Persian Shah of Iran. Obama has been pussy-footing around the Mullahs trying to rein in their nuclear ambitions and is just as deluded about Islam as Carter.

There is a YouTube video "Bikers of America unite with the citizens of Iran" that will enlighten readers to the movement. In Israel, supporters of the movement have taken the flag to the Wailing Wall to show their solidarity. They can be shown wearing the Derafsh Kaviani symbols on t-shirts.

In 2009, we watched as the so-called green movement morphed into a slaughter of the innocent Iranians trying in vain to take back their country. The Obama administration did nothing to help secure their freedom although it leaped into Libya and sucked its thumb while threatening the Syrian government with movable red lines.



It is no secret that this administration has a sympathetic alliance with the Muslim community. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton's long time aide, Huma Abedin, is a Muslim with alleged familial connection to the Muslim Brotherhood. Rep. Michele Bachman was castigated by both sides of the aisle for suggesting that Hillary's aide had ties to that group. This was before the Middle East blew up in Hillary's face. No one has apologized to Bachman nor does she expect them to. Andrew McCarthy wrote in Front Page:


"We have an obvious national security problem, and it goes way beyond Huma Abedin. We not only have several people with significant Islamist ties being consulted by our government on foreign and domestic policy, including counterterrorism policy. We are simultaneously seeing American policy shift dramatically in a direction that favors the Muslim Brotherhood, an avowed, incorrigible enemy of America and the West. Yet, we can't even get one percent of our elected federal representatives to raise an eyebrow?"


The Mullahs have a very large lobbying force in Washington. Because of this, Congress sits on its hands while this administration only gives lip service to Israel's interests and survival as well as turning a blind eye to Islamic persecution of Christians. It is time for Americans to do what we didn't do in 2009. Neda, the beautiful 16 year-old killed in the democratic protest was supposed to be the face of a new revolution for freedom. It failed because we did not have her back. The Iranian people are not asking for money. They are simply asking us to show that we too want them to be free. That may be as simply as writing our representatives and reminding them that in November, many of them that have surrendered our country are up for reelection.

Let's not let Obama and Congress throw them under the bus again.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Previously:


05/06/14 What a non-minority won't dare say about racism, bigotry
04/28/14 The Wise Latina? I Think Not
04/08/14 The incredible hypocrisy of 21st Century feminism
03/31/14 Obama's 'children' on a rampage


Up

© 2014, Alicia Colon

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast