Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 6, 2014 / 6 Iyar, 5774

What a non-minority won't dare say about racism, bigotry

By Alicia Colon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The banning of LA Clipper owner, Donald Sterling, from the NBA for life, for allegedly making racist remarks, calls for a long overdue debate about the meaning of racism.

I did not listen to the secret audio tape of Mr. Sterling so I can't comment on his remarks. However, the fact that he is a billionaire that pays millions of dollars for black players on his team disqualifies him as a racist.

Los Angeles Clippers guard J.J. Redick now says that owner Donald Sterling was hesitant to sign him last summer because he's white. Sterling may be a bigot but there is a big distinction between racism and bigotry-aka-prejudice. What the race baiters do not want to admit is that true racism in this country is almost non existent but bigotry will take many generations to be eliminated.

An email is floating around with comments allegedly from an unnamed Canadian: "Only in America ...could people claim that the government still discriminates against black Americans when they have a black President, a black Attorney General and roughly 20% of the federal workforce is black while only 10% of the population is black, 40+% of all federal entitlements goes to black Americans - 3X the rate that go to whites, 5X the rate that go to Hispanics!"

Don't know who said it but it rings true.

RECEIVE LIBERTY LOVING COLUMNISTS IN YOUR INBOX … FOR FREE!

Alicia's and many, many more. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.

In fact, I would venture to say that since Obama was elected, bigotry has ironically become a real problem but let's called it by its real name; it is not endemic factual racism no matter how often MSNBC and other MSM outlets toss out that allegation of conservatives- it is prejudice.

Genuine racist supremacists do not want anything to do socially with minorities. Sterling had a mixed race mistress who turned out to be as sleazy as he is supposed to be. Many may quibble with my relating white supremacists with racists but that is the original definition of racism. Racists believe that blacks are inferior and in some cases, sub-human. John Wilkes Booth was a racist and that is why he assassinated Abraham Lincoln.

The Democrat Party that founded the KKK after the Civil War was a political party of white supremacist racists. When that description became a politically liability, it went underground and by the 1960's had morphed into a civil rights champion by distorting history. This was accomplished by swelling the ranks of academia with radical PC proponents to dumb down education and our own history.

I married into a family from the Deep South over forty years ago and was shocked to discover that the 'n' word was routinely used to describe any black person by some of my in-laws. When it was learned that celebrity Chef Paula Deen was once heard using that word, her world collapsed and she was castigated as a racist. Roger Clinton, Bill's brother, on the other hand, has been recorded on tape using that word and I'm willing to bet the former president used it before becoming Arkansas Governor. LBJ is another president that's been caught on tape using the n word but only certain individuals get their lives turned upside down for improper speech.

Consider what happened to Nevadan rancher Cliven Bundy whose conservative pundits shamefully ran away from him after the New York Times took his interview words out of context to portray him as a racist. His words in context were anachronistic but hardly damning. He used the words 'colored' and 'negro' but the NAACP hasn't bothered to remove the word colored from the organization's title nor has the United Negro Fund. I suggest that those interested in the truth go to YouTube and watch the unedited speech.

Bigotry is just as vile as racism but in many cases it springs from a different source. People are prejudiced by what they witness in persons of different ethnicity. Unless they are true racists, their bigotry can be eliminated by familiarizing themselves with the subjects who present a positive impact not a negative one. It was believed by reformers that by busing school children into areas that had formerly been segregated, the children would get to know and accept one another. Instead, more hostility was generated by the inconvenience and uprooting of students from their former schools.



Until radical Islamists waged war on this nation, there was no such thing as Islamaphobia. Can you blame anyone now from looking at Muslims or Middle Easterners with suspicion considering the vile rhetoric from Imams exhorting violence against America? New York taxi drivers would once drive passengers anywhere in the city until they were being robbed or killed once they arrived in Harlem or other mean streets. Is it racism to pass a black man wishing to go uptown at night or is it being street smart?

I recall my teacher in high school reminding us that when we are in public wearing our school uniforms that we are representing the school and we should always behave responsibly. So too, those most responsible for generating bigotry are those committing hate crimes for in the eyes of their victims, they see only the predator's race. For bigotry to end, communities need to monitor their own members instead of blaming all crime incidents as racially motivated.

Since Obama was elected president, we have seen an uptick in crimes by persons of color. Why? Because race has been used as a shield to protect the president from any criticism and we have an attorney general who ignores black on white crimes. The Democrat Party has lost its collective mind in pursuing the agenda created by Bill Clinton's words, "I feel your pain." The latest? State Senator John Hoffman (D-Mn) has his bill approved to change the name, 'Asian' carp to 'invasive carp', even though the fish originated in Asia. Hoffman argued that referring to the fish as 'Asian' was hurtful to some people. I am not joking.

Soon this country will become as idiotic in our PC inanities as our allies across the pond. Some 185 of the estimated 1,700 Subway stores in Great Britain and Ireland have eliminated ham and bacon from their menus in response to requests from Muslim consumers. I don't recall any food chain removing said food because of complaints from Jewish consumers who share the same dietary restrictions. This bowing to pressure from special interest groups has increased since 2008. Is it because our president seems to bow to foreign leaders all the time? Last month, he bowed to a Japanese robot. I am not kidding.

When will we remove the blinders from our eyes and see things without the spin from Kool-aid drinking anchors who have lost any journalistic integrity they ever had. Let us all agree that Donald Sterling may be a bigoted fool but he is not a racist.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Previously:


04/28/14 The Wise Latina? I Think Not
04/08/14 The incredible hypocrisy of 21st Century feminism
03/31/14 Obama's 'children' on a rampage


Up

© 2014, Alicia Colon

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast