Education

Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

How to fake a clean home in 6 simple steps

By Elizabeth Reid




Often spring cleaning isn't an option and our homes don't look their best when visitors call. But there are six fast and simple steps to successfully fake a clean house


JewishWorldReview.com | Most of my friends and neighbors are convinced my home is always clean. I've tried to explain I am not the amazing homemaker people think I am, but very few believe me. However, the reason this falsehood continues is because I let it. My secret is that I know how to fake a clean home.

FIRST IMPRESSIONS ARE IMPORTANT

People's first impressions of my home begin before I ever open the front door. When people come to my house they stand on the porch, waiting for me to answer their knock. While there, they have ample opportunities to look around. Although they may not mean to do so, they notice whether the front porch is swept, if the cobwebs have been dusted from the porch light, and if the muddy handprints have been cleaned off the door. Before ever entering my home they have formed an impression about my house based entirely off my front porch. For this reason, I take five minutes every month to make sure my front porch is somewhat presentable.

HAVE A CLEAN SPACE NEAR THE ENTRYWAY

In my current home I am lucky to have an entry way that doesn't show much of the rest of my house. Because of this I make sure my first cleaning and straightening priority is that small area. This helps me in two ways. First, it helps those who never come more than a few steps into my home assume that, since the front room is clean, the other rooms are as well. Second, it helps me maintain my sanity levels when the rest of my home is chaotic. And finding small moments of peace is important if I want to tackle the rest of my house.

SEE HOW A GUEST SEES

Before living in our current home, we lived in a small condo. The front door opened right into our living room and kitchen. Directly across from the front door was the door to the master bedroom. One of the first things I realized after moving into that condo was if I wanted to maintain my cleanliness charade I needed to make sure the bedroom door was closed before opening the front door because, let's be honest, making the bed and picking up the floor was way down on the priority list. But keeping that mess out of sight was easy by merely closing the bedroom door. The other key thing I did was spend several minutes acting as a guest at my own home by standing at the front door facing into the condo. A lot of times it is easy, as the homeowner, to forget about our cluttered surroundings when we open our front door to others. By reversing positions, and looking into our homes like a guest, I was able to pinpoint small changes that could be made to help keep up my clean-charade. I quickly realized that, by standing a certain way when opening the door and blocking their view to the kitchen, guests could only see into my living room, thereby letting me breathe easier about the mound of dirty dishes on the kitchen counter. Keeping this in mind and closing our bedroom door before answering the front one meant I only had to worry about one room, the living room, instead of three.

HAVE A CLUTTER CUPBOARD

Now, there are many times when guests are welcome into my home farther than the front door. In those instances, I use my clutter cupboard. We all have that clutter: mail that hasn't been taken care of, various papers, drawings from kids, and random things we have yet to put away. My husband knows my clutter cupboard as the place where we keep our pots and pans. But I have found that, if I scoot the cooking paraphernalia around a bit, I can successfully fit my entire paper pile out of sight, in this cupboard. It's amazing how simply sweeping a few of those things away and into my clutter cupboard makes my kitchen look so much cleaner. Then, when my guests leave, I take my pile back out of the cupboard and strew it across the counter, just like it was before.

SPOT CLEAN

When I know guests are coming and I don't have time to mop the entire kitchen floor, vacuum the living room and tidy the bathroom, I focus on spot cleaning. Spending two minutes to sweep the kitchen removes most of the dirt on the floor. The other marks I spot clean. Instead of vacuuming I focus on picking up the larger pieces of lint and call it good. And simply washing the bathroom mirror and shining the sink faucets make my bathroom look a lot better. By choosing to be happy with a slightly cleaner home, instead of a perfectly clean one, I cut down on a lot of stress and work I don't have time for.


STIMULATION AND INSPIRATION

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes "must-reading". Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


ACT LIKE IT'S NORMAL

Now there are times when all my normal tricks don't work. Times when it's been weeks since I swept the front porch, my kids have strewn toys throughout every room, and the kitchen looks like a cooking bomb has exploded. During those days I still invite people in, smile, and ask if they've ever experienced days like I'm clearly experiencing. They always assure me they have and, when I teasingly ask if we can still be friends, they agree. My attitude of non-embarrassment over the condition of my home that day helps others view the chaos in its temporary light.

When I deal with the mess in a graceful manner, my visitors subconsciously take the same cue from me and do as well. But really, my true friends like me even if my house doesn't look clean.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Elizabeth Reid has bachelor degrees in economics and history. She has worked in retail, medical billing, catering, education and business fields. Her favorite occupation is that of wife and mother.









© 2014, FamilyShare

Quantcast