Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 19, 2014 / 19 Iyar, 5774

There are worst tax agencies than the IRS

By Bruce Bialosky




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | As someone whose chosen profession is dealing with governmental tax agencies, I am almost always flummoxed by the realization of others that the people who work for those tax collection operations would be in favor of collecting more taxes. This was recently reinforced by an editorial in the Washington Times.

The Washington Times is one of the many daily publications I read, most of which are left of center because most are left of center. The Times gives me a little respite from the other Times (New York and Los Angeles) that reek of leftist sentiment and pro-Obama cheerleading. They published an editorial titled "Displays of Obama, Democratic support common at some IRS offices." One can easily picture the celebrations that occurred in IRS offices and other government offices on January 20, 2009, when the pictures of President Bush came down and the new President went up. They probably had government-funded beer bashes and picture-burning parties.

The fact is, as the Washington Times article points out, some employees at the IRS brazenly encouraged taxpayers to vote for Obama; no shock to those of us who work with these people. First, it is because of the nature of the people who tend to take these jobs. Though some people go to work at the IRS to get high level experience and then trade that in for a career in the private sector most are not that way. Most are unsophisticated college grads, who majored in sociology and humanities, and have no accounting background or clue that debits are at the window and credits are at the door. Many years into their jobs they may understand some tax laws, but basic understanding of accounting or how to read a general ledger is something that is just beyond their grasp, and their actions are mostly from rote. They no more have a head for it than I have for Gothic literature.

The current review of IRS activities centers around the IRS treatment of nonprofit entities being improperly reviewed and some even harassed. The focal point of that has become Lois Lerner who was Director of Exempt Organizations. The interesting realization here is this hack for the Democratic Party was appointed to her position in 2006 under President Bush. Of course, Bush would have never had her doing anything other than preparing Texas BBQ if he had any idea of what she was all about, but the very nature of the organization (IRS) allowed someone like Lerner to achieve her position under a Republican President.

The fact that her abuses became clear under a left-wing President may reside in three factors. The first, that the entities under question were principally formed in response to the activities of the new president. Second, the fact that she felt emboldened by the atmosphere created by the new Administration and its Attorney General. The third being direct approval by the same Administration. Point three has not been proven yet because sufficient evidence has not been released, and no one has been turned by a Justice Department that serves only this president and not our country.

There are worst tax agencies than the IRS. They have actually somewhat been tamed by Congressional hearings over the years that have cast a very negative light on the IRS for beating up on hapless taxpayers. Some states are pretty rough on taxpayers as they grub for money instead of living within their means. The worst offenders are states like New York and California that have complex tax codes of their own and believe that a taxpayer is subject to their taxing power if they made a visit to the state to see their dying Aunt Sally in her final days. Remember leftist will use any rational to extend taxation on to anyone.



The worst I have dealt with is the City of Los Angeles. First, it is very challenging to find personnel that speak clear and distinct English. I have expressed to supervisors that I believe that is an inherent right of my client to be able to understand the auditor that is assigned to us. Often the supervisor speaks less comprehensible English than the auditor. There is no appearance of the fact that any of the people here have any understanding of producing income or that anyone would ever appear at a Republican rally.

A perfect example of the mindset occurred recently. In addition to having a business in Los Angeles, my taxpayer owns three properties in neighboring community. The auditor discovered the three properties and asserted a tax against the taxpayer amounting to thousands of dollars. I told her that the properties were in a separately incorporated city and not subject to Los Angeles taxes. She stated some properties that are in the neighboring community are actually in Los Angeles. I asked how a property that is in one incorporated city could actually be in another incorporated city. I sent her a map of the neighboring community off their website which she said was not good enough. She said we had to submit power bills showing the properties were not covered by the Los Angeles city utility. We did and then she said that was not good enough. Finally, a supervisor relieved us of the tax when we produced a copy of a Thomas Brothers map showing the properties were in the neighboring community. Does anyone believe a Republican would ever do such a thing? This staff has an animus toward the successful that goes beyond doing their jobs.

Let me be clear, over the years I have worked collegially and professionally with many fine people at all levels of government working at tax agencies. I have also worked with some hacks, but I certainly do not want to paint a picture that all of them are partisan lackeys.

On the other hand, there is a reason why Northern Virginia has turned so Democratic in recent years as the areas has boomed with the growth of our federal government. The vast majority of people who derive their income from the government have a pro-government mindset. That is, as the old saying goes, "As plain as the nose on your face."

That is why quite often today it appears the citizens of this country are at war with their government.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Bruce Bialosky is the founder of the Republican Jewish Coalition of California and a former Presidential appointee.


Previously:


05/12/14 From Target to Benghazi
05/05/14 An American Solution to Income Inequality
04/28/14 Medicaid, the Next Obama Disaster
04/21/14 President Hope abandons it
04/14/14 The Great Divide in America
04/07/14 Banks Play Ball with Government to Hand Over Your Assets
03/24/14 To Frack or Not to Frack, That is the Question
03/17/14 Doing Right While Being So Wrong
03/10/14 Los Angeles: The Next Failed Government?
03/03/14 Dems, How Much Will You Take?
02/24/14 NCAA Juicing Basketball
02/17/14 Thank You President Obama for Freeing Me
02/10/14 What Jack Kennedy Wrought
02/03/14 Women Need To Have Equality
01/27/14 Our Smartest President?
01/20/14 And When I Die
01/13/14 Congressional Extortion
01/06/14 Why Obamacare Cannot Succeed
12/30/13 Why Judge Was Incorrect in NSA Case
12/09/13 The Real Reaction to Obamacare
12/09/13 How to Secure a Proper Iranian Agreement
12/03/13 Frontline/ProPublica's Misguided Attack on The Assisted Living Industry, Part 2
12/02/13 Frontline/ProPublica's Misguided Attack on The Assisted Living Industry, Part 1
11/25/13 Obamacare --- Big Business Gets Screwed Again
11/18/13 Shocking News: Dems Want New 'Revenues'
11/11/13 Do You Want A Nationalized Drug Industry?
11/04/13 Obamacare Schadenfreude
10/28/13 The Second Biggest Issue in America
10/21/13 The New Welfare State





© 2013, Bruce Bialosky

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast