Yiddishe Kups

Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Cooing costs. 'Baby talk' is fun but here's why it's not worth it

By Amy Peterson




Know new parents? Have grandkids? Read this


JewishWorldReview.com | Babies love the singsong rhythm of baby talk, also called caregiver speech. It's natural to talk to babies in musical calming tones, and they respond well to it, as a Psychology Today article points out. As children grow up, however, caregiver speech should give way to real talk. If you're looking for a new way to talk to your growing children, use your regular voice. Not convinced? Read on for 5 benefits.

1. Vocabulary will increase. Child development experts recommend talking to your baby as you go about your day, teaching them about their surroundings in a natural way. That's hard to do if you can only use baby talk. Once your children are toddlers, they soak up language and can learn new words every day. Increase the likelihood of this happening by giving them words to hear. When my daughter uses a word like "actually" correctly, it makes me smile.

2. They will learn how to express their needs. I firmly believe that because my children were spoken to in a regular voice most of the time, they learned how to talk and express needs. I also used baby sign language when they were small. Of course, toddlers will be toddlers, and kids will be kids, so there have been plenty of tantrums in my house, but empowering children with language empowers them to ask for things they need, like water, food and hugs.

3. Speech might develop more quickly. Talking to your children in a normal voice and about everyday things might help their speech develop more quickly. Children develop at their own pace, so don't expect your 2 year-old to rattle off complete sentences, although she might. Having children who speak makes communicating easier. You will still have to decipher words, and that can be a challenge.


STIMULATION AND INSPIRATION

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes "must-reading". Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.



4. You will stay calm as you discipline. For me, the biggest benefit of talking to my kids like adults is that I interact with them better when things aren't going well. I find my children are able to reason better when I speak to them in this way. When my daughter doesn't want her shoes on, we can discuss which ones she wants to wear and why. Somehow having the tool of language makes parenting easier. Now, it doesn't work every time, because 3 year-olds are still learning, but generally we both stay calm as we talk and reason together.

5. No embarrassing home videos of your baby voice. This one is mostly in jest, but there's something to be said for not having to hear your own baby voice. It might be a rite of passage for parents to have their voices cooing and ga-gaing in the background of a home video, but I don't know any adult who doesn't cringe when they hear their baby voice. If you talk to your kids like a normal person, there's little chance of a permanent record of you saying things like "Who's a precious wittle lamby kins?"

If you love talking to your babies in a baby voice, keep it up. Their sweet little minds will soak it up as they begin to process language and feel comforted by familiar tones. But as your baby begins to crawl, walk and try to talk, consider speaking to him more like a grown up.

You can always coo to your pet or your plants.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Amy M. Peterson currently lives in Oregon with her husband and four children.









© 2014, FamilyShare

Quantcast