Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

The Upside of Down Stock Markets

By Kathy Kristof





In the event of a crash, how to take the opportunity to trigger big capital losses and restructure your portfolio at the same time


JewishWorldReview.com | Tax season reminds me just how much I love a good stock market crash. When my accountant recently informed me that I wouldn't have to pay taxes on nearly $50,000 in profits I netted last year from the sale of stocks (including three in the Practical Investing portfolio), it occurred to me that I should share my crash-oriented portfolio-restructuring and -rebalancing strategy.


> In a nutshell: I save big moves for times of crisis. That allows me to rejigger the mix of stocks, bonds and cash in my portfolio and to trigger losses at the same time. My method is not as meticulous as the regular rebalancing that most advisers encourage. But for those of us with taxable accounts who are willing to accept a little financial messiness, my strategy can work nicely.


You see, the greatest thing about capital losses is that they never expire. Tax rules allow you to use losses to offset gains, plus up to $3,000 in ordinary income, every year. When you have excess losses, you get to roll them forward to be used in future years. So when you have an opportunity to trigger big losses--far more than you'd be able to use in a year--and to rebalance or restructure your portfolio at the same time, you should jump at the chance. After all, that sort of opportunity doesn't come along every day. You really need a market crash like those that occurred in 2002 and 2008. Eventually, we'll have another bear market--and perhaps another crash--so it pays to be prepared.


The best way to explain it is with an example. Back in 2008, when the market was falling through the floor, I sold my main mutual fund holding, Vanguard Total Stock Market Index (symbol VTSAX). I had built up the holding over the previous ten years by making regular monthly contributions into a taxable account.


Why a taxable account? Mainly because of its flexibility. I have assets in tax-deferred retirement accounts, too. But because you have to pay income taxes on withdrawals from IRAs, 401(k) plans and the like (and generally penalties on withdrawals made before age 59 1/2 ), you shouldn't use the money in those kinds of accounts for emergencies or, say, to buy a car. I think everyone should have money in a taxable account for such needs.


My taxable account was worth more than $300,000 at one point, well over my cost of roughly $257,000. When the market dropped in late 2008, the account's value fell to $177,000. Selling triggered an $80,000 loss.


FREE SUBSCRIPTION TO INFLUENTIAL NEWSLETTER

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


MY STOCK-MARKET SWEEP
The moment the sale cleared, I started buying. I didn't want to repurchase shares in the same fund, and I couldn't if I wanted to preserve the tax losses. (Tax rules bar claiming a tax loss when you repurchase the same or "substantially identical" shares within a month of a sale.) My portfolio was loaded with big-company stocks, and I had wanted to shift money into smaller companies and real estate stocks for some time, but didn't want to trigger taxable gains. The market upheaval gave me the chance to make the move with positive tax consequences.


I like what this restructuring did for my portfolio, too. I put the proceeds into three exchange-traded stock index funds: Half went to Vanguard Mid-Cap ETF (VO), 25% to Vanguard Real Estate InvestmentTrust ETF (VNQ) and the rest to Vanguard Large Cap ETF (VV). While all stock indexes have been soaring since the bull market began in 2009, the mid-cap and REIT ETFs have performed extraordinarily well. Over the past five years through March 7, both funds have more than tripled in value (including reinvested dividends). I'll have to pay taxes on those gains eventually, of course, but not anytime soon.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Kathy Kristof is a Contributing Editor at Kiplinger's Personal Finance



All contents copyright 2013 The Kiplinger Washington Editors, Inc. Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC

Quantcast