Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Boost Your After-Tax Investment Returns

By Susan B. Garland


Money Wave from Bigstock




How to extend the life of your nest egg by carefully managing the tax bite on your portfolio


JewishWorldReview.com | For its Insider Tips From the Pros packages in the February 2014 and May 2014 issues, Kiplinger's spoke with dozens of experts in fields ranging from college aid to travel to glean insights they apply to their own financial lives and share with their own family and friends. Here we provide actionable advice to manage some of life's biggest ongoing expenses.

A smart plan to juggle saving for retirement and college

Tim Maurer, certified financial planner and a vice-president at the Financial Consulate in Hunt Valley, Md.

It's not easy. As parents, we overestimate the degree to which our efforts on our children's behalf determine their success. If we deliver the best education that money can buy for our children and fail to save enough for our future, our children could be hampered with a seemingly limitless financial "obligation" to support us in our retirement (See our Rethinking Retirement column: Close the Bank of Mom and Dad).

My wife and I have chosen to cap the cost that we're willing to bear to the equivalent of an in-state public university. If our children choose that path, they'll get a free ride. If our children choose to double the cost by going to an out-of-state public school--or triple the cost at an elite private school--they'll be on the hook for the balance.

We're saving in the Maryland College Investment 529 plan. As Maryland residents, we get a state tax deduction on our contributions. We chose a fund that becomes more conservative as students get closer to college age. But we aim to have only half of our college savings in the 529 plan. I plan to increase cash allocations outside the plan as college gets closer.

Maria Bruno, Vanguard retirement-planning specialist

Faced with this situation, you need to save more or invest more aggressively. But if you have, say, a six-year time horizon before college, you don't want to take too many risks with the college money. So then the strategy would be to save more.

You could reduce retirement contributions, but don't give up the company match. If you ratchet the amount down to pay for college, make sure that later you get back to saving 12% to 15% of salary, or even more.

APPLY FOR COLLEGE FINANCIAL AID --- AGAIN

Mark Kantrowitz, senior vice-president and publisher of Edvisors.com

I'd tell them to file the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) every year, even if you got nothing last year. The financial aid formula is complicated enough that even small changes can have a big impact on the amount and types of financial aid a student will receive. Examples of what can change: the number of children enrolled in college, the amount of the child's assets and the amount of your income.

SAVE HUNDREDS BY SHOPPING YOUR CAR INSURANCE

Robert Hunter, director of insurance for the Consumer Federation of America

People do not shop. When I was Texas insurance commissioner 20 years ago, I invited 25 people to our office with their auto insurance policies, and I gave each of them our buyer's guide and a phone. I asked them to make some calls and report back in one hour. The average savings was $125.

I suggest you get your state insurance department's auto insurance buyer's guide, find the example closest to your situation, and look at the premiums. Select the six lowest-priced insurers in your area. Then go to the Web site of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners and get the complaint ratio for the insurers. Drop the two with the highest ratios and get quotes from the remaining four.

GET THE LOWEST RATE ON A MORTGAGE

Guy Cecala, CEO and publisher of Inside Mortgage Finance

If you're buying a home, start with your real estate agent's referral to a lender known to get deals done reliably. Also call your bank or credit union, another local lender or mortgage broker, or an online lender, such as Quicken Loans or Loan Depot.

Apply with at least two lenders simultaneously. You'll find out what the lenders are offering, and you'll gain the leverage necessary to get them to bid against each other on the rate and points [interest that you prepay at closing; one point equals 1% of the loan amount]. That's especially true in the eleventh hour, when both lenders have incurred costs to assess your qualifications as a borrower and have presold the loan to investors in the secondary market. They'll lose money if you go away. This process isn't for the faint of heart, because once lenders know you're working with someone else (and they will as soon as the other lender pulls your credit report), they'll try to make you feel guilty.

FIND THE BEST DEALS ON TECH PRODUCTS

Louis Ramirez, senior features writer at Dealnews.com

You'd be amazed at how much money you can save by doing a Google search. When you're out shopping, get out your smart phone and compare prices. Find out whether the store you're visiting will match prices from other stores. And never buy accessories--a cable for your TV, a case for your phone, a memory card for your camera--in a brick-and-mortar store. Accessories are always cheaper online, at sites such as Amazon.com, Monoprice.com and Rakuten.com.

If you're not a tech fiend, buy last year's model to save money. A product will often fall in price when a new version comes out, and the differences are usually so subtle that you won't miss them. Early adopters can sell gadgets to Amazon.com or Gazelle.com to get some extra cash before a new product comes out. If you're going to pay full price for something, look for bundles to sweeten the deal. You may be able to get a video game or a gift card included when you buy a new Xbox One or PS4 gaming console.

Don't buy a new device directly from Apple--you'll pay full retail price. A lot of other retailers have deals on Apple products. Walmart sold the 16GB iPad Air at a $20 discount the minute it came out. But consider buying refurbished items from Apple. They come with a one-year warranty.



FREE SUBSCRIPTION TO INFLUENTIAL NEWSLETTER

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


SAVE ON YOUR SMART-PHONE PLAN

Maggie Reardon, author of CNET.com's "Ask Maggie" column

My husband and I have separate phone plans with unlimited data usage--his plan is with Verizon, and mine is with AT&T. When we looked at our budget, we saw that we were spending too much on phone plans. We're each paying more than $100 a month, and we realized that we use our phones mostly at home or at the office, where we have access to Wi-Fi and don't need to use our data plans. To save money, we're probably going to join Verizon's Share Everything plan. My husband gets a discount on Verizon plans through his company, and Verizon's network seems more reliable than AT&T's in the New York area, where we live. We'll each get unlimited talking and text messaging, and we plan to share 4 gigabytes of data. We expect to save about $30 a month on our phone bill.

CHECK UP ON YOUR CREDIT

Gerri Detweiler, director of consumer education for Credit.com

I get my credit reports from each of the three big agencies once a year free through AnnualCreditReport.com. I usually check all of my reports at the same time. The first time you check your credit reports, I highly recommend pulling all three because the agencies don't share information with each other, and you'll want to spot any problems right away. After that, it's fine to wait a year until your reports become free again and then check a different report every four months or so. I recently found a mistake on my TransUnion report, which I'm disputing.

John Ulzheimer, credit expert with CreditSesame.com

I wouldn't pay for one. There are more than 50 versions of the FICO score available from the three big credit bureaus. It's a crapshoot whether you'll get the exact score that your lender is going to use.

A lot of free scores consider the same information from your credit report as your FICO score does. I get free scores from CreditSesame.com, Credit.com and CreditKarma.com, which are all updated monthly. They're a great proxy for what's happening on my credit report.

How to manage a financial windfall

Sheryl Garrett, founder, the Garrett Planning Network

First, make sure money has been set aside to pay income taxes. Then pay off all consumer debt.

With the remainder, invest in your ability to earn money--for example, tuition and possibly time off to get an education. Once you have adequate cash reserves, invest the balance for retirement in low-cost, tax-efficient index funds and exchange-traded funds, and leave it alone. Investments in yourself and your retirement last a lifetime.

AVOID MARITAL MONEY FIGHTS

Sheryl Garrett, founder, the Garrett Planning Network

I'm personally a fan of having both individual and joint accounts: yours, mine and ours. I think that retaining some independence can be very healthy for most couples. Couples should maintain their own bank accounts and have paychecks automatically deposited into their respective personal accounts. Individual expenses, such as for hobbies or personal debts, could be paid from the individual accounts. They should also have a joint checking account for shared monthly household expenses, such as housing, groceries and utilities. Each person could contribute the same amount to the joint account or a different amount if there's a significant gap in earnings or obligations.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Susan B. Garland is Editor of Kiplinger's Retirement Report.



All contents copyright 2013 The Kiplinger Washington Editors, Inc. Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC

Quantcast